Customer Reviews for

The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Average Rating 3.5
( 732 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(108)

1 Star

(116)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

This Diet Works

This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose ...
This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose of each cycle.

posted by BeachreaderCF on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

69 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

problems with viewing on nookcolor

downloaded on my nook book and there are many pages that cannot be read because printing is too light. Needs attention.

posted by 6809510 on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    This Diet Works

    This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose of each cycle.

    84 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I have completed 4 full days of this diet and have lost 6.2 pounds. The first couple of days took getting used to because I am a sugarholic, but I don't feel hungry at all. Don't think of it as a diet, but just a healthy way of eating.
    Can't wait to see where I am at the end of the 17 days.

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Not really a diet

    To call this a diet book is sort of misleading. The doctor is really selling you the lifestyle changes most of us aren't willing to make or have convinced ourselves we can't make. The idea that you can do anything for 17 days is very motivating. Immediate weight loss even better. For a middle aged lifetime weight struggler on the diabetic edge (a person who has done all the right things a million times) who just lost the war in the flood of busy stressed out life, this is not such a bad way to steer back toward the right course. What the doctor isn't selling is a complicated miracle dependent on high priced and questionable medications or supplements. Hooray!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    It's WORKING!

    I am starting the second phase (day 22) and have lost 8lbs. In that time, I did cheat at a baby shower and with a few jellybeans, thanks to the Easter Bunny so I could have lost more. After the first 7 days I really began to enjoy the diet and was thrilled everytime I stepped on the scale. Every diet it hard at the beginning, but I feel like this is really teaching me to eat healthier. I know after I complete all the phases I will keep eating healthy because I know it can taste good! My favorite part of this diet is that we get to eat fruit.

    I'm finding the Nook version a bit tough b/c I'm reading it on an iTouch. It takes forever for me to scan back through the lists of foods but I was happy when I found the recipe chapter (around Day 11). I'm recommending this diet to friends because I've never been able to stay on a diet until now. It is so easy, though I think what makes it easy is that I don't like a lot of choices. I'd rather just have 3-4 yummy recipes and rotate through those.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Quick weight loss after many other diets failed.

    Have this on my nook since April, 2011. Have lost 22 lbs. and that's with a week off for vacation. Other diets left me hungry, but this was satisfying and really shed the weight quickly. Everyone is different, but several of my friends have lost weight including my husband with a loss of 30 lbs.!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    17 Day diet

    This has been the most helpful diet book ever. I have lost 22lbs and have kept it off.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book...really helped me a lot...I lost 15 lbs in the first

    This book...really helped me a lot...I lost 15 lbs in the first 30 days and it wasnt very hard at all.
    i have a very large appetite and never been successful on diets before but this one is different...i also bought 17 day ultimate guide+ 100 delicious recipes to keep me on track...Highly reccommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    This is a decent healthy diet diet

    I just started this diet and I am hungry BUT, I am a person who ate alot of carbs and sugary foods. It is like withdrawls somewhat. this diet is extremely healthy and no you cannot dehydrate on it if you do actually drink the water that is recommended. I work all day in a kitchen, I sweat, I drink coffee and I have not had issue one with dehydration. It is expensive to buy so many fresh vegetables and I have many allergies and will not restrict my proteins to just chicken, turkey and eggs (fish is out for me) I added lean beef to the first part and only a few times. I do feel some things are not defined well like the mention of "low carb" items. What exactly is low carb in his definition and the menu plans show a snack after dinner but fruit is not to be consumed after 2:00pm, that was a bit confusing to me. But all in all this is a decent healthy diet and I have lost 2 pounds within the last 4 days but again I am a carb/sugar addict so that is to be expected when those items are cut out. This is a good price on Nook but it is difficult to read so I do pull it up on my PC to see some areas of the book. This is similar to South Beach BUT not at all like it as it does not restrict all carbs at first like South Beach does. I'm pleased with th epurchase of this book thus far.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    You need A Scale

    The diet is good for people that can weigh themselves everyday or every other day. I started this diet while I was traveling and I didn't notice much of a difference in my appearance except that I did sleep better and I felt energized. But I couldn't weigh myself, so I'm thinking about trying again. This time I would start it while I'm home so I can't notice a NUMBER difference.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Very good

    Help me to balance my diet and lose weight

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    It Works! If you do it!!!

    This was by far the best "diet" book I have read. Dr. Moreno lays it on the line, he speaks in layman's terms. The new way to eat and combine your foods really works. Day 7 of the diet and I am down 13lbs!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    looking forward to another 17 days...

    8lbs after 17days... It's not as much as the author boasted for weight lost... but I'm sticking with it... thats 3lbs a week! I like being able to eat fruit and yogurt, its helping me stick with!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    I purchased this book on my nook. I thought the healthy eating w

    I purchased this book on my nook. I thought the healthy eating was definitely a livestyle change of picking right from wrong rather than a "diet". For me personally, the guidelines fit right into my daily routine as i was almost on the right track. All I had to cut out was basically the carbs. I was rarely hungry while on this because I many of the food items are unlimited portions. I always resorted to steamed veggies if I had any urges.

    During the time I was following the meal plan, I felt great, I felt thin even after just starting, I never felt bloated and felt very confident. I did also do a lot more exercise than the book asks for.  And I did not lose as much weight as the book promises you, however, I did loose 10 pounds and still made me feel great. 

    The thing I didn't like about the book was that a lot of it seemed to be common sense or things that I'm sure all of us have heard before.  I felt like the book could have been half the size and the main focus just been on the guidelines of what to eat and what to avoid. The book also give recipes and meal plans to follow, but I think I only used about 2 of the given recipes and made up my own to fit the guidelines of the book. That was the fun part for me. I love to cook and I was able to play around with the allotted food and make my own meals up as i go. I would recommend this book because I think it helps you get in the right mind set, helps you cleanse yourself and start fresh, and also lets you be in control while making the good choices you should.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A guideline that has helped me!

    It is laid out well, easy to read. The material is useful. In 5 weeks, reading and using the diet guidelines, I' ve lost 17 pounds. My body still misses the carbohydrates and sugar though. However, the results have been slow, but steady, and worth it. It is easy to keep bags of vegetables, frozen or fresh, available. I haven't had to change any daily routines, except more green tea than coffee. I already had and have a very active exercise schedule.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7