Customer Reviews for

The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Average Rating 3.5
( 732 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(108)

1 Star

(116)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

This Diet Works

This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose ...
This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose of each cycle.

posted by BeachreaderCF on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

69 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

problems with viewing on nookcolor

downloaded on my nook book and there are many pages that cannot be read because printing is too light. Needs attention.

posted by 6809510 on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Very happy with 17 day diet

    Very happy with this purchase.. I have tryed every diet there is as has my husband. So far this is the only one that has worked. Just ending first 17 days. Ready to start on next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Amazing weight loss!

    I am 43 and had kids later in life. My metabolism just hit a wall. No matter how much i cut back or dieted i was always hungry and ended up gaining it back. In the first week of this new way of eating i lost a staggering ten ppunds. I am never hungrt. The protien carries you through the day well. I realize how much carbs were a feel good food for me..not nurltrition. With healthy carbs and higher protien i am satisfied and finally loosing weight. I am not even a big meat eater but i am learning to be creative! This is not a diet but a new way of eating for life and once you hot your goal you will have some freedoms back only it will be for a limited number of days. Totally doable for real life eating. I would highly recommend!,

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I like this book.

    I found Dr. Mike's book simple and full of variety and ideas. It reminded me of information I already knew and hadn't used enough in my weight-loss and dietary plan and brought into light a few things I didn't know. It's working and helping me change my life and body. He has a way of optimizing this easy plan that reminds me of my work with "Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self", a book that maximized my life in the way I think and experience it both at home and at work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Good info

    Interesting read - got to try it out!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Are you ready for results?

    This diet is amazing! I had twins and had been hoping to get my remaining 10-15#s off eventually, but nothing seemed to be working. I'd been watching my diet and exercising 30 minutes per day for a few months with little to show for it. This diet, if followed correctly will give you results. I dropped the weight plus an additional 10#s over a course of 2 months. At 35, I am back to the weight I was in high school. Most importantly, I have been able to keep it off. I watch the scale and when I am trending up after a weekend or more of indulging, I refocus, stick with the plan, and my weight comes back around within a few days. I started this diet when it first was discussed on all of the talk shows 5 months ago, and I have been able to maintain since. I will say, if you do not care for salads, fruit, chicken or fish, this is probably not the best diet for you. Like any diet, it takes getting used to, but the scale showing you results is such a motivator.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    works for me :)

    lost 10 lbs in my first 10 days. I'm not completely faithful and I haven't excersized the recommended amount. I'm now on to my second cycle.

    Bottom line, it teaches you how to eat healthy. Rather your loosing an enormous amount of weight or not, that's what it comes down to-- eating correctly.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    You will lose weight.. It is amazing!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Whoooooooooa. :)

    This diet helped me sooo much as a teen...i had an end of the year ceremony...a graduation (but not prom or anything)... and i was NOT in good shape. Those girls who just lived their lives andhad an amazing body...yeah...i disliked some of them. Everyone was so thin! And i waas like...hey guys i like chips. :P They did too...they ate lots...but never gained weight. I didnt want to wear a cardigan like i always did...so i looked for diets in 5 minutes, found this, and decided to start. I had to admit it took me sometime to look away from those "carbs" but with my deadline...I didnt have the time. I had to oeder a dress online. And with the size risk...I HAD to shed something, because i ordered a smaller size in my blinding confidence. But wooooooow... This turned out amazing. I saw abs...i was lean...i was healthier in so many ways, it even helped my track and field performance! :) The results made me so ecstatic...i kept going. If you do this properly...even if you morph this to fit your lifestyle.........you will smile. Im so serious. It works. Oh and let me share the ending...............the dress didnt fit. It was too big in the end. And THATS how this diet...pretty much changed my life....you know...no biggie. Stick to it. It works! :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Very easy to follow!!

    Great diet and easy to follow. The menu is very easy ad practical for someone on a budget! I found myself to have gained more energy and feeling great throughout my first 17 days. In the first 17 days I lost 10 pounds exactly. I am now on the 2nd phase and so far so good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Good resourse

    I started out using this book, and then loosely used its guidelines to keep loosing weight after the second cycle. So far I've lost 48lbs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Diet journal

    I'm an organizer by nature and I like instruction and order in all aspects of my life, what I would really like to see is a 17 day diet journal just like all the other popular diets have out there. Quick references, inspirational notes, a place to track weight, inches, goals, etc. It would make me love and stick to the diet all the more. I do think this diet is great and highly suggest this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    I learned so much! Oh and it worked

    This book has broken years of habits that I didn't even realize where detrimental to my health. I recommend this book not only because it worked for me, but because it is full of so much helpful information.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Great book!

    Easy to read and easy to follow. I'm on day 10 and 6 pounds lighter. I feel better and much healthier.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Great diet plan

    This really works. I've lost 30 lbs and have kept it off over an 8 month period. This is the longest time for maintaining. What I like is that you can eat carbs 3 times a week, after you reach your goal, and still not gain. If you do, just go back to the first cycle and you're good to go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Great boo

    Great book my husband lost 30 pounds

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    I enjoyed reading this book, which seems to be working. I highly recommend this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Amazing

    I had amazing results...for someone who weighs 155 I lost 5 lbs the first week... its a great diet however its hard to keep up with. Also keep in mind that I also worked out while on this diet. I didn't follow their workout plan...however it was inciteful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Minniemouse@yhaoo.com

    My name is destiny jolly add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11