Customer Reviews for

172 Hours on the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

172 Hours on the Moon was one book that immediately caught my ey

172 Hours on the Moon was one book that immediately caught my eye when I came across it, and I was THRILLED when I had an opportunity to read it in advance of the release date.

I haven't read very many horror/thriller books before, so I didn't think this one would be ...
172 Hours on the Moon was one book that immediately caught my eye when I came across it, and I was THRILLED when I had an opportunity to read it in advance of the release date.

I haven't read very many horror/thriller books before, so I didn't think this one would be able to scare me. I didn't understand how a book could keep you up at night, burrowed under your blankets for safety, while frantically turning the pages... until I read 172 Hours on the Moon.

Reasons to Read:

1.Well-translated novel:

172 Hours on the Moon was first published in 2008 in Norway; when I found this out, I was a little bit worried that the writing would be awkward or the translating sloppy. But once I started reading the book, I completely forgot it had ever been translated at one point. It's very well done, and I was thoroughly impressed with the translator, who did an excellent job at keeping the atmosphere of the book while putting it in another language- a VERY difficult thing to do. Don't let the fact that this is translated stop you from picking it up.

2.Suspenseful, creepy read:

The first thing 172 Hours on the Moon does in the prologue is get the creepy factor going. I started reading this book at night - terrible idea. And the next day I read it while I was home alone - another bad idea. Although there's a gradual build up to the actual events on the moon by giving some background information, the creepiness starts well before the crew's trip into space. And it just doesn't stop! From the very first chapter to the last one, this book is riddled with some scary stuff. But I want to point out that it's all a very subtle kind of scary; it's disturbing, and delightfully creepy but it also isn't the most terrifying thing I've ever read. So if you're hesitant about scary books, I'd still suggest giving this one a try. Also, I couldn't look at the cover while reading (the eyeball one), it just freaked me out too much.

3.Very unique premise:

Okay, just stick with me here: three teenagers get the chance to go on a trip to the moon. It's a bit silly, and the reasoning behind it isn't solid but then I also realized that vampires in highschools aren't exactly logical or reasonable either. So forgive it that kind of silly idea, because this book has a really great premise going for it. It takes place in space, which is terrifying. Space is so out there and there are so many things we don't understand about it that it makes the perfect setting for this book. And I loved the three different characters introduced, as well as the explanation given for the scary things happening to them. It was pretty disturbing actually, especially the ending. By the way, I think this book has a great ending- one of the best I've read.

I can't accurately convey my love for this book in one little review, but I'll say that I think this is going to be one of the most underrated books of the year. It isn't being talked about very much but it's SO good! Plus, I can say that this one gave me nightmares - a couple nights after finishing it, the evil "things" (I won't say what it is, I don't want to spoil!) showed up in my dreams except I was being awesome and fighting back so it wasn't super scary. But still, I think the fact that they showed up at all says something about the quality of this book and it's ability to stick with you. I can easily say this is one of my new favourite books, and one of the best of 2012.

ARC received from HBG Canada for review.

posted by EverAfterEsther on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Honesty, i wsh i could give 0 stars. This book is horrible. It takes forever to get going. Nothing is explained. The character developement is mediocre, nothing a second grader couldnt easily achieve. I had to forced myself to finish this. NOT WORTH THE MONEY

posted by 7839195 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    172 Hours on the Moon was one book that immediately caught my ey

    172 Hours on the Moon was one book that immediately caught my eye when I came across it, and I was THRILLED when I had an opportunity to read it in advance of the release date.

    I haven't read very many horror/thriller books before, so I didn't think this one would be able to scare me. I didn't understand how a book could keep you up at night, burrowed under your blankets for safety, while frantically turning the pages... until I read 172 Hours on the Moon.

    Reasons to Read:

    1.Well-translated novel:

    172 Hours on the Moon was first published in 2008 in Norway; when I found this out, I was a little bit worried that the writing would be awkward or the translating sloppy. But once I started reading the book, I completely forgot it had ever been translated at one point. It's very well done, and I was thoroughly impressed with the translator, who did an excellent job at keeping the atmosphere of the book while putting it in another language- a VERY difficult thing to do. Don't let the fact that this is translated stop you from picking it up.

    2.Suspenseful, creepy read:

    The first thing 172 Hours on the Moon does in the prologue is get the creepy factor going. I started reading this book at night - terrible idea. And the next day I read it while I was home alone - another bad idea. Although there's a gradual build up to the actual events on the moon by giving some background information, the creepiness starts well before the crew's trip into space. And it just doesn't stop! From the very first chapter to the last one, this book is riddled with some scary stuff. But I want to point out that it's all a very subtle kind of scary; it's disturbing, and delightfully creepy but it also isn't the most terrifying thing I've ever read. So if you're hesitant about scary books, I'd still suggest giving this one a try. Also, I couldn't look at the cover while reading (the eyeball one), it just freaked me out too much.

    3.Very unique premise:

    Okay, just stick with me here: three teenagers get the chance to go on a trip to the moon. It's a bit silly, and the reasoning behind it isn't solid but then I also realized that vampires in highschools aren't exactly logical or reasonable either. So forgive it that kind of silly idea, because this book has a really great premise going for it. It takes place in space, which is terrifying. Space is so out there and there are so many things we don't understand about it that it makes the perfect setting for this book. And I loved the three different characters introduced, as well as the explanation given for the scary things happening to them. It was pretty disturbing actually, especially the ending. By the way, I think this book has a great ending- one of the best I've read.

    I can't accurately convey my love for this book in one little review, but I'll say that I think this is going to be one of the most underrated books of the year. It isn't being talked about very much but it's SO good! Plus, I can say that this one gave me nightmares - a couple nights after finishing it, the evil "things" (I won't say what it is, I don't want to spoil!) showed up in my dreams except I was being awesome and fighting back so it wasn't super scary. But still, I think the fact that they showed up at all says something about the quality of this book and it's ability to stick with you. I can easily say this is one of my new favourite books, and one of the best of 2012.

    ARC received from HBG Canada for review.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Anonimois

    Pads and meanwhile gets thickets and brambles in pelt forcing blood out of matted fur. Runs on in pain to 173 res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Really good book

    Great for people who like sci-fi and adventure. The ending was definetely not what you would expect. It took me by surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Wow

    I immensely enjoyed this book. It was a quick read, probably because I couldn't put it down. Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    A must read!

    A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    :)

    Really great book. Actually got scared. Big twist in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Good.

    This book is one of th greastest books i have ever read in my hole entire life. It was a very well fast paced book an you could tell exactly what was going on at all ties i loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    This book rocked my socs than scared them, so they ran away

    T6his is not an uplifting novEl.
    It is a book about three teens that go Q to the moon, two of which find true love, and lose it within hours dUe to disagreeable locals. The theme song to this novel could have been "another one bites the dust- by queen" the villain reminded of a doctor as it J clinical, precise, and gave off the vibe that you were a goner. This book was awesome. I dont want to spoil it but it really ought to be read. 5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    GOOD BOOK

    This is an amazing book with a great plot and an extremely good twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Good good

    Well i loved it and everything but i hated the ending:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Finally, a psychological horror thriller for young adults!

    When I first started reading this, I was skeptical. Some of the story seems to be told too fast and things seem to be skipped. But when i finished, I was extremely satisfied. The ending was extremely well thought out, and had me re-reading parts of the book which I then viewed much differently. There is a lot of foreshadowing and the book ties together really well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    I LOVED this book! It had such an interesting idea that I had to

    I LOVED this book! It had such an interesting idea that I had to keep reading! The story is about 3 teenagers Mia, Midori and Antonie who have the opportunity to go to the moon. My favorite part of this book was the ending, you have to think about it a little before you understand what happened. But if you get scared easily I would recommend reading this during the day or when other people are around!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I didn't realize this was originally Norwegian.

    I didn't realize this was translated because it was that good. It was very suspenseful. I recomend this book for si fi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm not sure where I first heard about this book but the moment

    I'm not sure where I first heard about this book but the moment I saw the video book trailers, I knew I had to read it. I'm not one for watching book trailers but the way in which they were done was more intriguing than detrimental to the book & once I got into the pages I was NOT disappointed! Not only is 172 Hours on the Moon a fast-paced, thriller but it is also rich with character & some pretty creepy history too.

    First, the whole idea of teens going into space is completely preposterous because of how much of a liability they would be but I loved that Mr. Harstad made it all seem so plausible. The story is mostly told between the points of views of the 3 teens: Antoine, a French teen looking to escape his own heart break, Midori, a creative Japanese girl who yearns for freedom, and Mia, a Norwegian rock band member who has no desire whatsoever to go into space. Each is unique with differing interpretations of their surroundings & the events taking place. Each places different value on different details & bits of dialogue which, when added all together, we are treated to a very well-rounded, full look at the story.

    The history of the DARLAH station & the moon missions were maybe my most favorite parts of the story though the revelation of all the information behind everything came deliciously slowly. I loved the weaving of fact with fiction throughout the entire 328 pages, all the way to the very end with an epilogue of people who are landing on the in the future.

    The story moved quickly & I was easily immersed right into the middle of the situation with the characters. The mood was dark & very creepy throughout which I greatly relished because, as a horror movie fan, I felt I was in the midst of one myself. The end of the book, the climax of all the build up, was absolutely fantastic & completely terrifying. I loved every minute of this book & would love to read more just like it so I hope it spawns a few similar ideas with their own unique spins.

    172 Hours on the Moon is a must read for anyone who enjoys sci-fi thrillers. I found myself thinking of movies like Event Horizon, Pandorum, Supernova, & Sphere. Not to mention the multiple mentions of horrific Japanese superstitions about ghosts such as the Slash Mouth Woman which seriously added to the scary ambiance throughout the novel. I recommend that if you're easily creeped out, read this one with the light on & not under the covers with a flashlight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1