BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

1776

Average Rating 4.5
( 420 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring!!!

In my opinion, this is a must read for every American and especially those who enjoy American history. It is amazing to see how common, ordinary men and women, who believed in the right of liberty and freedom from tyranny, overcame tremendous obstacles against a major w...
In my opinion, this is a must read for every American and especially those who enjoy American history. It is amazing to see how common, ordinary men and women, who believed in the right of liberty and freedom from tyranny, overcame tremendous obstacles against a major world power to achieve their goals. David McCullough brings it all to life as he painstakingly describes the people, the battles, and the consequences of their actions. It is extremely heartwarming to see and feel the perseverance of these early settlers in overcoming extreme odds and suffering when they could have easily given up and succumbed to British rule. They even had to fight within their own ranks against the Tories and Loyalists who put personal gain above independence. I completed the book this week just as the John Adams miniseries is airing on HBO, which is superb as well. Thank you David for a wonderful work that serves to remind all Americans and others as well of the price we paid for freedom and of the inalienable rights of all men everywhere.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Save your time...reread John Adams

I was very disappointed in the book. It is an overview of the seige of Boston, battle of New York and a prefunctory review of the Christmas night attack on Trenton. Virtually nothing about Common Sense, the Continental Congress nor the development and passage of that ...
I was very disappointed in the book. It is an overview of the seige of Boston, battle of New York and a prefunctory review of the Christmas night attack on Trenton. Virtually nothing about Common Sense, the Continental Congress nor the development and passage of that little document called the Declaration of Independence. Even the battle descriptions were less than complete. I was very disappointed in a work coming from such a great author. Save your time from reading it and enjoy one of his other great books, again.

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 424 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Inspiring!!!

    In my opinion, this is a must read for every American and especially those who enjoy American history. It is amazing to see how common, ordinary men and women, who believed in the right of liberty and freedom from tyranny, overcame tremendous obstacles against a major world power to achieve their goals. David McCullough brings it all to life as he painstakingly describes the people, the battles, and the consequences of their actions. It is extremely heartwarming to see and feel the perseverance of these early settlers in overcoming extreme odds and suffering when they could have easily given up and succumbed to British rule. They even had to fight within their own ranks against the Tories and Loyalists who put personal gain above independence. I completed the book this week just as the John Adams miniseries is airing on HBO, which is superb as well. Thank you David for a wonderful work that serves to remind all Americans and others as well of the price we paid for freedom and of the inalienable rights of all men everywhere.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Perfect Book

    I don't usually give out perfect scores for movies or books because let's face it, even a great one probably won't be perfect.<BR/><BR/>But 1776 is absolutely perfect. From page one it pulls you in and takes you along for the ride. This is not a history book, this is an event. It reads like a movie and tells the dramatic story of the American Revolution. <BR/><BR/>Perfect marks, across the board. I'd recommend this for anyone who likes a good adventure/war story, regardless of whether or not they're a history buff. It's that good.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    A must read

    1776 was recommended to me by a friend that received her Phd in history.&#160; I explained I needed a history book for a non historian - yet something that would help me grasp early American History - this is it!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reveals So Much More About Our Country's History

    I read a lot of fiction and many sports history books. Recently I began reading more about our nation's history and am learning so much more along the way. 1776 is one of those books that often reads like a novel, it is so compelling. Having grown up in NJ, being so very familiar with the "route" Washington and his troops took, working for years in Trenton and now living 5 miles from Washington's Crossing on the PA/NJ border, I am in awe of what our forefathers accomplished. Not only the ultimate victory of freeing our country, but what they faced in terms of the trials and tribulations of injury, illness, terrain, fierce weather conditions, etc. is beyond inspiring. A read of this book gives one a far greater appreciation for what we have been given in the United States by those who fought for our independence. McCullough is scholarly, but presents a book that anyone will enjoy. It certainly should be required reading in our high school history classes.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Revolutionary

    1776 was one of the best books I've read in a long time. I was never into reading about history but the book left me wanting to learn more. McCullough's style of writing and how he tells the story captivated me. I didn't want the book to end.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A riveting book

    Extremely well researched, and written only as David McCullough can, 1776 was a tremendously meticulous insight into both sides of the American Revolution. The stories intertwining and collaborating facts were very informative. At it's end, I wished it had continued all the way to the British surrender at York.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Excellent

    Somehow he just makes history come alive - I thoroughly recommend the audiobook - the sound of his voice just takes you away to 1776 as you drive through awful 2009 traffic.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Every american should read this book.

    Gives the reader a feel for what our earliest american patriots went through to secure your liberty. Great insight into everyone from George Washington to the british parliment to the average soldier. In reading you should be suprised, humbled, and shown the history of the year 1776 in a way most will never know. If you consider yourself an proud american and a patriot you must read this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good

    I liked it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    1776 is a brilliantly written history of the military battles th

    1776 is a brilliantly written history of the military battles that took place during the most pivotal year of the fight for American independence. McCullough weaves historical facts, diary entries, direct quotations and illustrations together to form a fascinating tale that takes us from King George's address to parliament in October of 1775 all the way to the battles for Trenton and Princeton, New Jersey at the end of 1776. He provides great insight into how close the American dream of independence came to dying out. I'm still not sure how we were able to turn the revolution around. One unanticipated leadership lesson: Washington is always held up as a pinnacle of leadership to be duplicated...and this may have been true by the end of the war. The book shows a much greener Washington and provides an excellent example of the kind of damage indecision can cause. An exciting history lesson about the American Revolution that should probably be required reading in history classes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Very detailed

    A great read, especially for someone in the Boston area. The history of the city during the British occupation are greatly detailed in the first few chapters. Battle descriptions can be a little confusing if you do not typically read books like this. I just wish this was the start of several more books that follow the remainder of the war.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Uhhhh

    I have to say that this book was HORRIBLE. Haterz gonna hate

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    1776

    This book is amazing! It is a must read for anybody who is interested in the American Revolution. I saw it in the library and read it for school and I loved it so much I purchased a copy for myself. This gives a great insight into what Washington had to go through

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Patriots, a dying breed

    I'm not so sure about anybody else out there, but I hated it when my teachers would just talk and talk about history, personally I thought it would never end. Well, after reading this book I have a whole new appreciation for those brave individuals who fought in our very own Revolutionary War. This book is about history and no matter how boring it may sound, it's by far one of the best I've read. I believe that it would be a very good read for anyone in this era especially those loosing faith in the "American Dream" whatever that might be for you. 1776 if you haven't yet figured out is about the American Revolution and George Washington's struggle to restore faith into his men's heads. As you could imagine at the time, these simple men were no soldiers, but they were strong in facing the largest empire on earth it's okay to be scared of that every once in a while. From the first major offensive in Boston, to the last major offensive across the Delaware, this book will keep you interested, intrigued, and pumped to know more. It is a book about a historic event so it will be boring at times and one thing that I really didn't like is how it had those parts of the book where the author stopped telling you about what was going on, and he just started showing you evidence like letters, maps, etc. If you like that sort of thing then disregard that, but if not and you're like me, I skip over those things. The thing I really loved was the author's enthusiasm with ordinary men fighting against the highest trained and best equipped soldiers. I've felt this way lots of times before, and I'm so glad that someone finally published it this way about my favorite war of all time. Whenever I feel like I can't do something I just think about a this war and what these people fought and died for. In all, it was an excellent book that I would recommend to any American.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    1776

    1776, by David McCullough, was an excellent novel that helped me to understand the American Revolution in much greater depth than merely reading about the events surrounding this important set of historical events. Throughout this novel David McCullough displays a complete knowledge of the American Revolution and he utilizes this knowledge in the writing of the novel. The author, intending to thoroughly explaining the American Revolution from both the Patriot and Tory sides of the conflict, accomplishes his purpose completely. When available, evidence is displayed supporting the point of view of each side. Both of the sides of the disagreement are completely explained through the use of historical accounts and documents, which enhance the reader¿s understanding of an event. By utilizing information he had previously acquired, collecting more information from historical libraries and archives in several countries who were involved in the revolt and finally employing all of this evidence, David McCullough succeeded in developing a fascinating and historical accurate novel that grabs the readers attention through its in depth view of a historical turning point for the thirteen colonies that would transform into the United States of America. I would recommend this novel to any student or adult wishing to learn about the American Revolution. Not only are the facts included within the narrative relevant to the topic, they are also interesting and thought provoking to the reader. Each of the particular details provided by the novel are enhanced through the use of supporting historical evidence, including first-hand accounts of army members. By incorporating a variety of opinions from the different ranks of the army, McCullough gives a view not often seen of the events that transpired in the revolution. Because the Revolutionary War is very important in American history, anyone with a sense of Patriotism or that finds pleasure in discovering new and interesting details about history would enjoy this novel. David McCullough meticulously covers the entire topic of the American Revolution while also creating a novel enjoyable by a varying audience.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    1776

    In this fascinating novel, David McCullough describes the horror of the worst year during the American Revolution- 1776. He writes about the normal Patriots who, even though they were scared of the British, stood up to them under the command of General George Washington. McCullough's purpose was to get us to realize that normal people won the revolution. They were not all heros. Most of tht colonists were deserters, sick, plunderers, traitors and people who had no military experience at all. McCullough claims that George Washington got the army through 1776 with force and his extraordinary leadership. McCullough's goal was achieved and any reader of this novel would probably agree that McCullough makes a person willing to give thanks to the soldiers who died in the war for America's independence after reading about 1776, the year the Continental Army almost lost hope. My first impression of the cover of this book was that it was going to be just like what I learned from grade one to six. Boring American history. It ended up being so much more. McCullough dug deep into journals of soldiers and letters from George Washington himself, and compiled all of his findings to create this masterpiece that should be read by any highschooler or college student. It made me realize the torture the Continental Army had to go through to be free from Great Britain and to reach their goal. Freedom for everyone. Something we all cherish today. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read about the year their independence, that they have today, was most at stake and how General George Washington got the everyday colonists through 1776.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    Not up to McCullough standards

    Sorry to say I was dissappointed with this as I have become quite accustomed to much better from David McCullough. It seemed like the piece of a great story with the preample and epilogue missing. I kept wondering why he wrote it at all. It was like writing a book about the Civil War called '1863' and only focusing on the battles fought in that year. They were important, yes, but far from the entire story. In general, I think the quality of McCullough's books has proceeded downhill beginning with 'John Adams'. 'The Path Between the Seas', ' Mornings on Horseback' and 'Truman' were excellent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    Save your time...reread John Adams

    I was very disappointed in the book. It is an overview of the seige of Boston, battle of New York and a prefunctory review of the Christmas night attack on Trenton. Virtually nothing about Common Sense, the Continental Congress nor the development and passage of that little document called the Declaration of Independence. Even the battle descriptions were less than complete. I was very disappointed in a work coming from such a great author. Save your time from reading it and enjoy one of his other great books, again.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Price too high!

    The paperback is $10.79 from B&N. $14 for the eBook? Ridiculous!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    What? No 'zero star' option?

    Is a half-truth still a lie? Like most jingoist history, 1776 denies the presence and role of the colonies' subalterns -- the slaves. McCullough, just like the framers and most historians in between, ignore the voice of American blacks who used the colonists' rhetoric against them. This is yet another denial of all the contradictions inherent in modern bourgeois democracy and nationalism. If it's not the whole story, it's not an accurate story. This is a mere narrative, theoretically unsound and tendentious at best.

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 424 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22