Customer Reviews for

18 Seconds (Sherry Moore Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    So happy that I bought this book because I loved it; can hardly wait to read the rest of this series. What I liked most is how realistic it seemed. Found out later that the author was in law enforcement for quite some time. Also it wasn't boring and it wasn't predictable either. I have recommended this book to many people and will continue to do so. I feel its definitely a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A masterpiece

    I found this book to be Memorable, touching, emotional and oh so well written. The characters were easy to identify with and share a love or hate relationship with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT

    I am a fan of Geaorge Shumman, although he only has a few books out i love his work. The sequal to this book Lost Girls is out now as well and that is a good book too. If you like on your seat, can't put it down till it's done books...you'll love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Somewhat of a disappointment

    The blind heroine is described as incredibly beautiful, impeccably dressed and well groomed throughout the book Yet, the author never really explains how she avoids clashing colors, some of the little slip-ups with grooming of which most sighted persons are occasionally guilty or other blunders one might expect of a blind person. Nor does the author explain how one who lost sight at such an early age can "see" so vividly the visions of the last seconds people have lived.
    I put this book in more of a fantasy category than that of a thriller. I kept being distracted by the unrealism of it all. I also found the main character overly dramatic in the last part of the book, wallowing in self pity.
    I didn't feel the author developed some of the other characters as he could have. All the character focus seemed to be on the the heroine and the villain, with one being almost too good and the other being very, very bad.
    With his experience on the police force, I think Mr. Shuman should be able to come up with better plots and characters. I hope he will in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    entertaining book

    18 Seconds is an entertaining book that will appeal to most people. Creating one of the main characters as a blind psychic (and stunning) woman is an interesting twist to a serial killer novel, but I did leave wishing for more romance. . .Overall, a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Enjoyed the writing style

    Very descriptive, I enjoyed the details provided. Looking forward to reading his other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    What a story. Everything from romance to drama to murder to human element. Can't wait to see another from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    17 Seconds

    A nice first novel that just has a little too much confusion in the plotline. It's definitely a good read, especially as some of the characters are well drawn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    A good read but didn't think it was 5 star

    This was a good book with good characters but truthfully did not find as good as other books I have read. It is nicely tied up in the end but have to admit, this book does not remain in my memory though I read it 24 hours ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Couldn't put this book down!

    From the first pages of this book, I was hooked. I love the main character, Sherry Moore. I can only imagine the fun George Shuman had creating her. The story line moves quickly and brings all of the happenings together in an interesting ending. I'm looking forward to Mr. Shuman's next book. His first was fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    Three words: awesome, awesome, awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Great mystery set in wildwood, nj

    Loved reading this book. Great read for a dark and stormy night. Characters were well thought out and convincing. Glad the main character will be seen again in another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    outstanding

    I bought this book after reading all reviews with 5 stars. Wonderful storyline with fascinating characters. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    Gripping

    Read beautifully. Fascinating characters with a captivating story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    Outstanding

    I read this book while i was in AIT. It kept me hooked and made me want to read it every night. This book was awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am an avid reader and this is the best book I have read in quite some time. The characterization is excellent. The reader cares about the characters and what happens to them, including secondary players. The description of the characters is outstanding especially Sykes the author really captures his villainy. As for the plot, it is intelligent, fast moving and complete. All the threads are tied together at the end and not in a formulistic way but in a realistic way. Read this book. I see that Mr. Shuman has a new book coming out in August. I will be buying it hot off the press. In the mean time, buy this sale book you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    New author, can't wait for his second one

    I really enjoyed this book and have passed it along to a friend. For a first time author, he did very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Great Storyline

    Characters are colorful and the storyline is unpredictable. I enjoyed every chapter. Great first novel, I look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Excellent First!

    This was the author's first novel, and it was excellent! Lots of suspense, nice character build-up, and a heckuva finish. Looks like we have a new stud in town!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    Great!!!

    The characters are amazingly crafted and the plot develops flawlessly. The last 50 pages had me hooked. Shuman has done a wonderful job on his first work...he makes it seem effortless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2