Customer Reviews for

1901

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Amazing writing

    He really puts the idea of US vs Germany in an invasion into such a realistic storyline. For anybody that likes a great action novel with twists

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    Loved It

    i was very impressed with the book. I love the what if concept in history. The book was also very educational for me it forced me to look up related information and i used in my global history class.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Great Story!

    The book is fast-paced and entertaining. The author blends a great macro war story while demonstrating the micro impact on the lives of selected characters. The tale includes major land battles, skirmishes, scalpings (yes, scalpings) naval engagements, politics, and economics while maintaining a brisk, energetic pace. If you're an armchair general you'll enjoy the strategy discussions among the American and German leaders as well as the colorful battle sequences.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Clever, but wholly improbable...

    Where to begin? I read this book last year and simply was left wondering how it made it to the shelves. The way the Germans are shown as barbaric monsters and heartless 'Huns' is a bit much. The Kaiser had a bit more sense than this and unlike some things that might have been, this would never have happened even at the greatest stretch of reality. The ending I found simply terrible and it clearly seems the writer wanted to make a try for cleverness, but failed miserably. I do not suggest anyone waste time on this one, as it is simply disappointing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Facsinating new genre of historical fiction

    As a student of history, I often wonder about the what ifs and the impact of subsequent events on the world and local stage. In a well researched, but little studied historical situation regarding Kaiser Wilhelm's animosity toward the United States, Conroy reconstructs a German invasion upon the American continent. Germany being a fine tuned military power in Europe at the time, attacking the U.S., militarily rebounding from its Civil War, and widely scattered in the west fighting Indians. Conroy tells the story through fictional characters while utilizing actual historical figures who rally in the American spirit to overcome adversarial autocarats to defend democracy. Military figures who play pivotal roles in past and future battles in U.S. history flesh out the story line of this novel, and stimulates the reader's strategical thinking skills. The story is well told, but the concept of this novel allows us history buffs to test our knowledge about those little known 'what ifs'. Quite the creative concept!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    love it!!

    it makes you think! good buy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2