Customer Reviews for

1916

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    Almost 100 years later the issue is still not totally resolved.

    As and Irish-American I've always heard of the Easter Rising of 1916. This historical novel goes a long way towards understanding its motives, leaders, and the country's aftermath. Again, as an Irish-American its astounding to me that the British government, in the twentieth century, was so despotic and hypocritical. Despotic in their total domination of the Irish people showing no regard for their human rights, and hypcritical in the sense that they fought in World War I for the freedoms of small european nations while not allowing Home Rule or political freedoms for its subjects in Ireland. The beginning of the book has a reference of the historical characters in the book that is both useful and necessary for the clarity of the story line. If you are interested in Irish history, particularly Ireland's relation to England, this is a great book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is an amazing book. Morgan Lellwyn is a great story teller

    This is an amazing book. Morgan Lellwyn is a great story teller and really knows her history. This book may be long (1400 pgs) by draws you in from beginning to end. I know the story of the 1916 uprising but still hated for this story to end. I highly recommend her Lion of Ireland as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must-Read for Historical Fiction Readers

    Morgan Llywellyn's historical novel about the Easter Rebellion should be required reading for anyone with a drop of Irish blood in their veins. As a student of history, particularly Irish history, I had read the historic facts from several different angles and sources, yet the author still found ways to surprise me. The story, woven through the deeply personal passages of main characters including a survivor of the Titanic tragedy, adds a focused, personal perspective on a very heroic, yet ultimately terrible tragedy of hope and loss. Yet, contained in the withered stalk of defeat is the living seed that will, in just a very few years' time, finally leave Ireland a free nation again.

    Ringing with the authenticity her work is known for, Ms. Llywellyn teaches us both the glory of the heroes struggle as much as the inhumanity and terror hiding in the shadows. I came away from this absorbing read with a more personal understanding of just what this effort cost Ireland. The echoes still ring today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is a great historial fiction book on the history of Ireland. In depth character development with good story lines leading into the history and facts surrounding the era. Morgan Llywelyn's name can stand alongside Leon Uris in the depth and scope of her writing. I am currently reading her second novel "1921" about Ireland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    one of the best books about the rebellion

    it was so good to read this...as a protestant irish, whose parents lived in Belfast during the rebellion, i was enthrolled....it is my fervent hope that Ireland will be reunited....my parents were Irish first and Protestant second.....tony Blair's apology was not good enough...it is hard to believe that nearly a century later, some of the same thinking continues....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2015

    Excellent Read!

    Thoroughly researched, well written, I was hooked from the start and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    Excellent, well-written history of Ireland

    This is a long book - it goes into the reasons behind Ireland's reach for self-determination. The characters are interesting - the story is compelling - there are characters who were actually involved in this fight. I enjoyed it very much.

    There are just enough character stories to make the history part stand out. The stories were wonderful, and the history is nothing I had too much knowledge of. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Over 500 pages, this is a hefty read. Even though the book is a

    Over 500 pages, this is a hefty read. Even though the book is a fictional novel, it has a whole cast of historical characters. It has details that you want to slowly absorb and embrace. I paced myself at 25 pages a night at bedtime. Those who have pledged to read 3,000 books by year end will laugh at me. I think if you have experienced 1916: A Novel of the Irish Rebellion you will agree with me, this work should be cherished at a leisurely pace.




    That being said, even at a leisurely pace I would find myself confused by the host of historical characters at times. I don’t think this is the author’s fault, more likely the fault of the reader who had worked long hours, ate a giant dinner, then tucked into her super warm bed with heated mattress cover. This was an amazing rebellion and it took the efforts of many people. Shame on my pea brain not to remember this angry poet from that angry poet when I’m drowsy.




    I adored the main character, Ned Halloran. You are introduced to him as he is taking a voyage with his parents on a grand ship! This ship is heading to America and they will be attending his sister’s wedding in New York. Oh, but why did the buy tickets for the Titanic?




    I never thought I was going to get to the actual butt kicking! Call me a girl who loves some action, blame it on my Irish pride. I was ready for the boys to get out there and take back what was theirs. You must be patient though. If not you’ll find yourself feeling like Scarlet on the steps of Tara.




    There was one thing that was keeping me going when the butt kicking seemed to never come.




    Father Paul O’Shaughnessy. A good looking priest holding up the faith, no matter how hard that may be at times. Father Paul has himself in an awkward situation. A damsel of the congregation is in distress and she is asking for house calls. Holy Temptation!




    You good Catholics are probably saying, ‘Not a man of God! He couldn’t.’ I’m not religious, so I can say … Go ahead and tap that, girlfriend!




    That was probably too much.




    An enjoyable aspect of the book for me was the Irish slang. I have promised to incorporate the saying, ‘Funnier looking that a fish with three ears.’




    All fun, games and erotic priest aside, I loved this book. I agree with those readers who enjoyed the historical lesson without the classroom feel. There’s enough emotional storyline to keep you drawn in, even if the war comes or not. There were some unanswered questions in the end, but none that were uncalled for. The end of a book isn't always supposed to spell out every little detail for you. Some books leave you to imagine all the endless possibilities on your own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    A bit romanticized, but still amazingly moving story of a monume

    A bit romanticized, but still amazingly moving story of a monumental event that few outside Ireland seem to know about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    Can hardly put it down...

    I bought this book for my father back in March for his birthday. He read it and said it was a good read. I picked it up three days ago and have hardly been able to put it down since. As an American of Feinian heritage, it is interesting to read about the tumultuous events that gave birth to the Ireland that we have today (independent). It is a shame that there are still 6 counties in the North that are still in bondage as they have been for almost a century (since the birth of the Republic). 26 + 6 = 1 !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    A MUST READ FOR ALL IRISH!!

    Highly recommend this brilliant book. The way she captures the characters is truly poetic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    Morgan Scores Yet Another Victory!

    After a long hiatus from reading historical fiction, this novel rekindles my love of reading. I read the entire book in one setting. I can't wait to read the rest of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    totally enjoyable read

    I am an avid reader of history and bought this book for light reading. I found it to be extremely well written with a very complete history even though it was a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2001

    Dublin Was Burning with the Fire of Freedom

    '1916' is a wonderful book about the 1916 Easter Rising in Dublin. It's very poignantly written...a tearjerker if you're passionate about Ireland. An excellent work of faction for anyone with interest in Ireland...highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    Relive the Irish Easter Rebellion

    Morgan Llywelyn is a true craftsman with a pen ! Her ability to transport us from 2001 and place us right in the middle of the 1916 Easter Rebellion is fabulous. To be an 'insider' and find out about the brave souls who risked their lives to pursue their dreams of a truely 'Free' Ireland is remarkable. Her attention to descriptive details of dress, smells, environment, location and weather, make the reader feel they are actually present during these historically important events. Her ability to develop believable characters, whicht you can get emotionally attached to...or even detest is great. Everyone who hungers for a 'glimpse' of what this historically important Irish Event was like...will go away satisfied, but stimulated to find more books on this subject! A truely great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2001

    Great Depiction of Irish History

    '1916' is an excellent book about a young man's life from the sinking of the Irish-built Titanic in 1912 to the Irish Rebellion (Easter Rising) of 1916. Ned Halloran, a boy from Co. Clare, moves to Dublin after he survives the sinking of the Titanic and his parents are killed. He attends St. Enda's School in Rathfarnham...his headmaster is the great leader of the Rising, Pádraig Pearse. Ned becomes good friends with Mr. Pearse and gets involved with politics. He joins the Irish Volunteers and fights in the Rising for a free, united Ireland, as well as dealing with his personal problems with his lover and other relationships. Well worth reading for any Irish enthusiast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    For The Love of Irish

    1916 gave me a greater understanding of the struggles of the Irish. The writer pulled me into the story with emotions we all feel and at the same time gave me real historical facts I was not aware of. It's about love of country and about growing up and learning to love another. When you read this book, you'll feel the story that will grab your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2