BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

1984

Average Rating 4.5
( 1308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(803)

4 Star

(299)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Interesting read...

So what can I say about this book that hasn't been said before? Having read it I can see how it has become regarded as classic fiction. Of course the year 1984 has come and gone and many folks say had it been titled "2009" it would have been much more accurate.
For tho...
So what can I say about this book that hasn't been said before? Having read it I can see how it has become regarded as classic fiction. Of course the year 1984 has come and gone and many folks say had it been titled "2009" it would have been much more accurate.
For those of you who haven't read it, it is a complex novel but with a fairly basic plot. The protagonist, Winston Smith, is a functioning member of a society in the future who meets a woman he is attracted to. Much of the book surrounds their attempt to form a relationship in this society that just won't allow that sort of thing. Of course the real point and value of the novel is to illustrate where our current society may be headed if we don't change course, a sort of anti-utopian (dystopian?) novel. This book has brought us common terms such as "Big Brother", "doublethink", and "thought police." There are long sections where Winston reads to his girl friend from the official government manual detailing how the society came to be as well as the evolution of the government-speak ("Newspeak") language. I am glad that I've read this novel but at the same time I can't say that I would ever want to read it again. My political/societal views are already pretty much cemented in place and this book, while thought provoking, did not change my views. I do agree that it should be studied at the High School level though, not only for its value to the world of literature but also as a way to kick start young people's thinking on what a society should and shouldn't be.
Essentially 1984 presents a juggernaut state that has become unmoored from whatever benign ideals once berthed it and has drifted off beyond site of a reassuring oasis-like coastline. A state in which its inhabitants no longer strive to achieve their original goals be they based on economical, religious or political ideals and have allowed the state to become a living entity in itself with the destruction of the human spirit as its sole aim.

Be sure to watch the three different movies made from this book:
1984 (1954) Peter Cushing is Winston Smith
1984 (1956) Edmond O'Brien is Winston Smith
Nineteen Eighty-Four (1984) John Hurt is Winston Smith

posted by Jessi-21 on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

loved the idea, hated the book...

Reading the book was a boring struggle for me, but i absolutley loved the entire idea of the book.

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Disappointing

    This book presents, from the start, a gloomy outlook on the future. It is clear that Orwell has no real confidence in the good nature of mankind. It is not only this that ruined the book for me, though - I found the writing dry and boring. The plot dragged on, and the ending was a disappointment.

    8 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Boring and Depressing

    I read 1984 over the summer. Until now, I have never read a book I truly disliked. This novel is grim, overly complicated, and, to but it bluntly, unbelievably boring. The plot drags. The characters are utterly unrelatable. There is not a single speck of light or hope to be found. If you are not forced to read this title as I was, I highly recommend that you avoid it at all costs.

    3 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Not interesting at all.

    We also had to read Orwell's 1984 in class as a project and I was very disappointed in how Orwell wrote this book. The story lacked conflict and it also lacked drama as well as interesting characters. IT WAS NOT INTERESTING AT ALL!

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    A cautionary tale to be taken to heart but it was a dreadful bo

    A cautionary tale to be taken to heart but it was a dreadful book. The story doesn’t go anywhere, the characters aren’t likable and at points it just drags on. I get it question everything, but wasn’t there an interesting way that the author could convey it? At one point Winston is reading a book about the current socio-economic which added nothing to the story. If you’re looking for an indictment of war, communism or the man this is your book. If you want something interesting just pass on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Ummm

    Is this book in spanish? Or some kind of language?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Horrible

    I cant even make it to page 25 its so bad waste of your money dont buy it i hope you listen

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING

    I clearly purchased a 10/17/1983 edition Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Hardcover version of George Orwell's 1984 after a lot of research about which cover I wanted of one of my favorite books, and was terribly disappointed when a ten dollar paper back version of the book was shipped to me REGARDLESS of what I had already payed for...I could have picked that up myself at my nearest Barnes and Noble without waiting and without all the hassle of looking for a specific version. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SELLER.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Depressing

    This book was depressin an i hated it dont read it if u can help it!!!!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    ANONYMOUS...

    Worst. Book. Ever. Had to read it for honors american government. You know its a bad book when even the teacher despises it. I would never recommend this book, because i dont hate people. I would never read it again. Even if it was required.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Mess up

    I purchased this book and it never showed up on my nook. I would not recommend getting it and wasting 10 dollars

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    1984, an impossible futuristic idea dragging on 4 300 pages.

    One of the most horrible books i've ever had to read. Orwell's writing style is poor, and nearly all of the characters are either stupid or ugly or both. The chapters drag themselves and if my teacher wouldn't've assigned it i would've just stopped reading. DON'T READ THIS BOOK!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    depressing

    i have to read this for my english class. If anyone else has to read it to i suggest you don't. Its boring and depressed. It's so disturbed and gloomy i have to force myself to read it. there is no hope to it and it makes me sad to read it.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    Unimpressed

    I was unimpressed with this book. We had to read it for school and I couldn't get past one chapter without flinching at the chacters or the writing style. While it might have been that this book is just not my forte, there wasn't a single aspect of the book that truly grabbed my attention or made it worthwhile.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2004

    -----DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT------

    Ok this was assigned to me by my teacher to read over the summer and do a project on it. After one page I couldn't do it!! I forced my self, really I did, to read up to section 2 and that took me about 2 weeks and a half. This book is soooooooooo unbealivably BORING I dont think I'm going to finsh the rest. I pity those who have to read this book and admire all the other reveiwers who acctualy enjoyed reading this! Worst book I ever read! Sorry George,but WHAT WERE YOU THINKING???!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    Disliked it in Florida

    I had to read this book as a summer reading project. It was very boring, and just plain bad. If I could give this book no stars, I would. I forced myself to keep reading, but it just went in one ear and out the other.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    PREDICTABLE DRIVEL!!

    ok, nice concept but i think Ray Bradbury did a better job. For one it was predictable, you knew the ending! Oh no,the last four words weren't seen. He's helpless, there is only internal structure and a bunch of hair brained schemes that wouldn't help a kindergardener. I hear praise for this book as if is deserved. One would look for a man on a revolutionary awakening but the disappointment marred my whole joyous occasion. So its bad utopia, whoopiedoo. He doesnt do anything that amazing, just gets decieved and ends up in the toilet. Where was the inspiration? Orwell has a flare for the political but what was that mass of words that led me in a complete circle? I hear only praise for the book and I am proud to see that I am not alone! The book was a sham, a charade of all thats good and great. The book shouldn't grace the title 'classic' he can't touch dickens, dumas any of them at all! Read it for yourself and when you see what you know all along was gonna happen then you'll wonder what I was left wondering 'Why did I even read this.' And the simpleton who had to put up 'the ending isn't what you expect' is an idiot!! perhaps I give the reader of these reviews more credit. If you like pointless little stories that lead you no where and have some stupid sentiment about Big Brother who uses their own people against them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    This book was horible!

    this book was horible! i had to read it for a book report and i thought it was the worst book ever. it was confusing too. it took me 4 minutes to read a page! the worst part was that i had to read it and do the report in only two weeks. that made it even worse.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    Bad, bad, bad!!!!

    I started reading this book because several people recommended it to me, it took me several months to finish, because I just wasn't motivated to read it. It did not grab my attention like most books do, and throughout the whole book I just wished it would finish. I kept reading it, because I figured there must be something really good at the end... well, there wasn't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    Overrated

    This book was critically acclaimed, but however I expected it to be better than what it turned out to be. Way better! The ideas, concepts, and imagery.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    dd

    this rules

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3