Customer Reviews for

1Q84

Average Rating 4
( 323 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Amazing novel, but not for first timers.

I've read almost all of Murakami's fiction (short stories & novels), and after all the waiting around I can say without a doubt that this novel exceeded my expectations. It looks huge, but it's hard to put down.

If you've never read Murakami before though, I would sa...
I've read almost all of Murakami's fiction (short stories & novels), and after all the waiting around I can say without a doubt that this novel exceeded my expectations. It looks huge, but it's hard to put down.

If you've never read Murakami before though, I would say to start with one of his shorter novels. It's definitely more for those who are familiar with his style already.

posted by 4164707 on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Not a fan

Murakami appears to have a rather large fan base but I was less than thrilled with 1Q84. This tome could have been edited down to 500 pages without losing any of the story line, which was rather interesting. I couldn't wait to finish, only because I couldn't wait to fin...
Murakami appears to have a rather large fan base but I was less than thrilled with 1Q84. This tome could have been edited down to 500 pages without losing any of the story line, which was rather interesting. I couldn't wait to finish, only because I couldn't wait to finish.

posted by Barbersville on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Amazing novel, but not for first timers.

    I've read almost all of Murakami's fiction (short stories & novels), and after all the waiting around I can say without a doubt that this novel exceeded my expectations. It looks huge, but it's hard to put down.

    If you've never read Murakami before though, I would say to start with one of his shorter novels. It's definitely more for those who are familiar with his style already.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Murakami is a genius

    I previously had only read short stories by Haruki Murakami, so reading him in this longer form was amazing. Some authors can't seem to go between short and long forms so I had some trepidation. But this is beautifully surreal while still keeping his wonderful economy of language. (Which may also be a tribute toward the translators.) I loved every page and can heartily recommend it.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an omnibus translation of a powerful epic trilogy

    Thirty year old Aomame caught the cab in Kuta heading inbound towards Tokyo. However, an accident shuts down the expressway. The cabby suggests Aomame whose name means green peas to try something different. Bored the passenger agrees; she leaves the taxi stuck on the elevated highway traffic jam to walk down stairs into a rabbit hole.

    Thirty tears old Tengo the bored math teacher is the ghostwriter for teenage girl Fuka-Eri's bestseller Air Chrysalis. He too disappears.

    Aomame realizes she is not in her Tokyo as the cops are uniformed and supplied with different guns; she calls her new land 1Q84. Though she wonders how to go home, an animated Aomame becomes involved in criminal activity. Meanwhile Tengo obsesses on a quest to find his childhood friend Aomame before the rules that she apparently is shattering in this Tokyo turns into pandemic chaos while the Sakigake cult hunt for this infamous female.

    This is an omnibus translation of a powerful epic trilogy as Haruki Murakami explores the degrees of connection and separation between people within an Alice-Orwellian Tokyo. The story line is fascinating as the plot purposely meanders as it mirrors relationships. Still readers will enjoy Tengo's quest to save Aomame from her becoming the trend setter on her 1Q84 world.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great!

    ill be honest and say i ofcourse am not complete with this novel yet but so far it is very similar to his other works yet some say it is the great culmination of all of his ideas. it is interesting that he incorporates classical music alot in his novels, as well as michael jacksons songs "billy jean". its almost as if all of his books are within the same universe but each new one is a different episode. makes for a unique and compellingly entertaining experience.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Unbelievable imagination!

    This author is something else to have come up with such an extreme and complicated world. This has it all, love, romance, excitement, suspense, wonderment....This will not disappoint with many surprises and questions to find the answers to. Wow!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Very interesting and entertaining book

    I've read only the first 150 pages, but already feel this is one of the best works of fiction I've read. The book starts off fast to take your interest, multiple story lines are developed in parallel and they are presented in a way that holds your interest. I think that most people reading this book will categorize it as a "page turner". I am looking forward to seeing how the story lines converge and resolving the mystery surrounding hints that some sort of time shift has occurred for the female character Aomame (which means "green beans").

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What is Reality?

    1Q84 by Haruki Murakami is a fic­tional novel which takes place between two worlds. The book was orig­i­nally writ­ten in Japan­ese and became a best seller almost immediatiy..

    Aomame, a young assas­sin on her way to prac­tice her pro­fes­sion, steps out of a taxi cap and started notic­ing small but sig­nif­i­cant dif­fer­ences in the world around her. Aomame real­izes that she entered a par­al­lel uni­verse which she calls 1Q84.

    At the same time Tengo, an aspir­ing author, takes on a ghost­writ­ing project and becomes so wrapped up with the work and its author when he starts notic­ing that his world has become unraveled.

    1Q84 by Haruki Murakami is not a com­plex novel, but it is long. The book asks an impor­tant ques­tion ¿what is reality¿?

    I¿ve worked with many mar­ket­ing peo­ple over the years, the one impor­tant les­son they have taught me is the ¿per­cep­tion is every­thing, real­ity is noth­ing¿. At first, my struc­tured mind that sees the world in 0s and 1s couldn¿t com­pre­hend what they were say­ing. How­ever, with a lit­tle bit of con­tem­pla­tion I came to real­ize that they were right.

    After all, we live in a fake world. The news we watch are fake, the food we eat is fake (that¿s why many immi­grants have their own food stores), the promises made to us by our lead­ers and cap­tains of indus­try are hol­low and bro­ken almost with­out delay.

    Murakami points out that one¿s per­spec­tive often deter­mines what real­ity is for them, whether or not it is real­ity for oth­ers ¿ I think he¿s right. The author points out that the year 1984 no longer exists, it is not a par­al­lel uni­verse or or another world:

    "For you and for me, the only time that exists any­more is this year of 1Q84"

    The novel inter­twines two nar­ra­tives, Aomame who is a full-time trainer/ part-time assas­sin and Tengo, a math teacher and nov­el­ist. Aomame and Tengo, whose sto­ries even­tu­ally join, see the world in a par­al­lel uni­verse, each one with its own minor dif­fer­ences (police uni­forms for exam­ple) but they con­tinue to live with those who are in their own world.

    The small dis­tinc­tions make all the dif­fer­ence to Aomame and Tengo in pur­su­ing their mean­ing & their per­sonal quests.

    How­ever, the real strength of the book is the epic struc­ture in which it is writ­ten in and the ref­er­ences to lit­er­a­ture, world­wide and Japan­ese, and his­tor­i­cal events which I found amus­ing. I only wish the trans­la­tors (Jay Rubin & Philip Gabriel, who did an excel­lent job by the way) would have been kind enough to put in some foot­notes about the cul­tural aspects of the book to put it in per­spec­tive to those who are not up to date on cul­tural details as Mr. Murakami is.
    But that is my com­plaint on most trans­lated books.

    The won­der­ful thing about 1Q84 is that it is clear that Murakami is hav­ing fun with his com­ments

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    A great read.

    I'm not going to go into plot details or anything, I feel that would ruin part of the beauty of this book. This book is very dream-like, some parts will make no sense at all and there are some big mysteries that are never resolved or even explained in detail, but they stick with you long after you have read the book - and you find you mind trying grasp a sense of meaning or elaborate future on things as you would remeber them in odd bits and peices like a fragment of a dream. This isn't a book to read if you want evertyhing to be clearly defined and explained by the end of the story. This is a book to read if you want a wonderful, different story that allows you to draw your own conclusions and have fragments of the story stay with you long after you have read the last page. If your feeling up for something different to read read, I would recommend this 100%.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Excellent

    A trippy, but not overly weird book. I didn't love the romance ending, but oh well. This is truely a modern classic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    great read --- every single last 1040 nook pages of it

    just finished 1Q84 and it is a terrific and mesmerizing read from beginning to end. At times an fantasy and at other times a spectacular page turning "what happens next" thriller of epic proportions. Sorry to see it come to an end, frankly

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great long book

    I enjoyed reading this book. Very intriguing! would recommend to everyone

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Cocky

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Mortal mountain

    It is a regular mountain with many bugs and trees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Incredible

    A beautiful piece with strong characters, a mysterious world, and an engaging storyline that keeps you hooked. Not a light read, but definitely one that'll keep you thinking about the world around yiy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    I absolutely fell in love with this book. In Aomame and Tengo I

    I absolutely fell in love with this book. In Aomame and Tengo I found bits of myself, which made reading this even more powerful. As the longest book I've ever read I can honestly say that it didn't feel that way.

    This book has a little bit of everything! Suspense, mystery, love, humour. I high recommend it for anyone who has ready Murakami before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Suspenceful!

    This book had me on the edge of my seat! So many twists and turns in the story. Also, the ending is very satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Excellent

    Gorgeous, accessible prose. Don't be put off by the length. This is truly a great novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Intriguing and Captivating

    Interesting, imaginative setting of a story with a compeling storyline. While it took me a while to get throughit, I couldn't read anythimg else until I finished it. So well done with the infertwining of real and the unreal. It is a more sof spoken epic with quietly strong protagonists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book! The simple yet elegant style of th

    I absolutely loved this book! The simple yet elegant style of this work draws you in and the depth of the characters keeps you coming back to it. I will say, it wasn't the ending I was expecting but their stories were all woven together so beautifully, it didn't matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Great

    First book I read from the author enjoyed it very much. Ended up buying a hard copy I liked the design so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8