BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

1st to Die (Women's Murder Club Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 982 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(555)

4 Star

(272)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Patterson Shows He's 2nd To None

Patterson catches us again with book in hand turning those pages as we did for his other thrillers. Patterson is able to create a suspenseful mood for the reader. What¿s better than a group of four woman to try and catch a psycho, killing newlywed couples. In my opinion...
Patterson catches us again with book in hand turning those pages as we did for his other thrillers. Patterson is able to create a suspenseful mood for the reader. What¿s better than a group of four woman to try and catch a psycho, killing newlywed couples. In my opinion, this book deserves 5 stars, for its intense suspense. Patterson is one of the few authors that is able to make you think you know what¿s happening and then your all wrong. A person¿s wedding day is suppose to be the happiest day of their life. The time after, referred to as the ¿Honeymoon¿ is supposed to be enjoyable, fun, and romantic. In 1ST TO DIE., three couples find their wedding day and their honeymoon¿s to be a time of death. The book has four main characters, who Patterson points out within the first few chapters. The most notable being Lindsay Boxer, an inspector for the San Francisco Police Department. Along with Lindsay the characters who want to solve the case include Claire Washburn a medical examiner and Lindsay¿s best friend, Jill Bernhardt an assistant District Attorney assigned to the first case, and Cindy Thomas a reporter for the San Francisco Chronicle, who integrates herself into the group after the first murders. Together, these women form ¿The Women¿s Murder Club¿ and take you on a ride of suspense as they work together to find the monster responsible for a series of tragic honeymoon murders that began with the intense killing of David and Melanie Brandt. Patterson is able to make these books enjoyable for even the High School student. He has this ability to make you pick up the book and never put it down. Make sure that if you purchase this book you also purchase the second and third books as well. The thing with Patterson is that once you read one in a series you have to read the rest. James Patterson writes in a short and casual manner. His chapters are short and to the point, which makes you keep turning the page to find out what will happen next. The characters are very well described, which makes you feel like you know them personally. When something bad happens you feel as if the tragedy has happened to one of your friends or family members. James Patterson truly is one of the most amazing authors, his clever twists and fast pace keep the reader going. It¿s almost as if Patterson knows what you are afraid of and he reaches the point that you jump out of your seat. If you truly enjoy this novel, you would also like Along Came A Spider, Kiss The Girls, Jack And Jill, Cat & Mouse, Pop Goes The Weasel, and Roses Are Red. -Nick Trodella

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Formulaic characters, predictable plot twists

OMG, if I read another book featuring a heroine who is afraid of love and decides instead to plunge into work, I may have to begin my own serial murders of mystery writers. Her "potentially fatal" disease was handled with the finesse of a 5 minute Google search, and as...
OMG, if I read another book featuring a heroine who is afraid of love and decides instead to plunge into work, I may have to begin my own serial murders of mystery writers. Her "potentially fatal" disease was handled with the finesse of a 5 minute Google search, and as a physician, it pained me to read the medical sections.

The basic premise is good, but the plotting, foreshadowing, character development, secondary characters, and basic writing was awful. This was my first Patterson book and I'm flabbergasted as to why he is a best-selling author, if this is an example of his work.

posted by Dr_S on February 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 987 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 50
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Patterson Shows He's 2nd To None

    Patterson catches us again with book in hand turning those pages as we did for his other thrillers. Patterson is able to create a suspenseful mood for the reader. What¿s better than a group of four woman to try and catch a psycho, killing newlywed couples. In my opinion, this book deserves 5 stars, for its intense suspense. Patterson is one of the few authors that is able to make you think you know what¿s happening and then your all wrong. A person¿s wedding day is suppose to be the happiest day of their life. The time after, referred to as the ¿Honeymoon¿ is supposed to be enjoyable, fun, and romantic. In 1ST TO DIE., three couples find their wedding day and their honeymoon¿s to be a time of death. The book has four main characters, who Patterson points out within the first few chapters. The most notable being Lindsay Boxer, an inspector for the San Francisco Police Department. Along with Lindsay the characters who want to solve the case include Claire Washburn a medical examiner and Lindsay¿s best friend, Jill Bernhardt an assistant District Attorney assigned to the first case, and Cindy Thomas a reporter for the San Francisco Chronicle, who integrates herself into the group after the first murders. Together, these women form ¿The Women¿s Murder Club¿ and take you on a ride of suspense as they work together to find the monster responsible for a series of tragic honeymoon murders that began with the intense killing of David and Melanie Brandt. Patterson is able to make these books enjoyable for even the High School student. He has this ability to make you pick up the book and never put it down. Make sure that if you purchase this book you also purchase the second and third books as well. The thing with Patterson is that once you read one in a series you have to read the rest. James Patterson writes in a short and casual manner. His chapters are short and to the point, which makes you keep turning the page to find out what will happen next. The characters are very well described, which makes you feel like you know them personally. When something bad happens you feel as if the tragedy has happened to one of your friends or family members. James Patterson truly is one of the most amazing authors, his clever twists and fast pace keep the reader going. It¿s almost as if Patterson knows what you are afraid of and he reaches the point that you jump out of your seat. If you truly enjoy this novel, you would also like Along Came A Spider, Kiss The Girls, Jack And Jill, Cat & Mouse, Pop Goes The Weasel, and Roses Are Red. -Nick Trodella

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Not what I was expecting!

    I am always looking for new books to try. I have read some of James Patterson's books and have not been all that crazy about them(Alex Cross books). I love suspense. I love books with a twist. This book had all that and more. I absolutely did not see that ending. Wow! Definitely going to read more of this series...

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quick read, keeps you guessing until the very end

    James Patterson writes in short chapters which make it easy to read when you just have a few spare minutes. He also makes his books so suspenseful that you want to spend every spare minute reading to try to find out what will happen next. I was captivated until the very end. Can't wait to start the next book!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read for Thriller Lovers

    This book was the most exciting thrilling book I have ever read. James Patterson is so original. You think you know what's going on but then he always comes up with an unexpected twist. Great book!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Read it in 2 days! Love the women's murder club series and James Patterson's amazing talent! This book grips you from the start till the end and even got me to cry! Thats an intense read!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    OMG...LOVE IT!!

    I've only read the sample, but I am very intrigued by this book. James Patterson: best author ever!(:

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    Fighting For Life

    Lindsay is a strong, hardworking, and determined detective until she receives life changing news. It doesn't break her, but she also runs into a case that will change her life forever. Some crazy person is killing honey mooners on the best day of their lives. Now poor Lindsay is fighting for her life beside her dying couples. I love this book because it keeps you on your toes. It also has a lot of action, and every murder is grusome.To top it off you will never suspect what happens in the end ...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I loved this book!

    I started reading James Patterson just recently. I have only read this one and the second one in his Women's Murder Club series. So far I am really enjoying these books.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Formulaic characters, predictable plot twists

    OMG, if I read another book featuring a heroine who is afraid of love and decides instead to plunge into work, I may have to begin my own serial murders of mystery writers. Her "potentially fatal" disease was handled with the finesse of a 5 minute Google search, and as a physician, it pained me to read the medical sections.

    The basic premise is good, but the plotting, foreshadowing, character development, secondary characters, and basic writing was awful. This was my first Patterson book and I'm flabbergasted as to why he is a best-selling author, if this is an example of his work.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    Amazing Thriller

    Have you ever wanted a really good book that puts you at the edge of your seat? Well, this is it. This novel isn¿t just heart throbbing. This is an amazing yet suspenseful story waiting for you to lay eyes on it. <BR/><BR/><BR/>Right at the beginning, you¿re hit with intensity. There is a crime waiting for Linsey, the head detective, at a new hot hotel. Newlyweds being murdered every new case she gets. A few weeks later, another murder is waiting to be solved. Later on, another murder! Three thrilling murders at the tip of her fingers. All of these newlyweds are being stalked before they are even killed. She does get help though. There is a Women's Murder Club. Helping Linsey, Clair, a medical examiner. Jill, an assistant D.A. and Cindy, a reporter who has just started working the crime desk of the San Francisco Chronicle. They all have one goal to fulfill, to trap, and outwit the most terrifying killer ever. They are all pulling their talents together, to solve this crime. <BR/><BR/>I would defiantly recommend this book. Anyone who likes thrilling, suspenseful, something that you find biting your fingernails off, or somewhat sad towards the end, this is the novel for you.<BR/><BR/><BR/>In conclusion of the story, there is a surprise ending. You would never ever guess who was committing the murders. You will be very surprised. Don¿t stop reading though! Because, if you do, you¿ll always want to wonder about what would have happened if you have read it. <BR/><BR/><BR/>Amazing doesn¿t even cover this book. Wonderful couldn¿t do it either. This book is the best book that I¿ve read in a very long time. It put me in pure amazement. <BR/>1st to Die is just the first book in the series. Be prepared for the surprised ending though. Six other books are waiting for you to read. You would be greatly cheating yourselve if you just ignore this review. So go on, read away.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Know Why I Like This Book

    I found this book to be very cookie cutter, things happen in a very predictable way. The main characters are caricatures of professional women. The Women's Murder Club seems to be little more than a high school social club with little real input into the case (except of course for Lindsay Boxer). If the hook here is that these four women actually contribute to the solving of the crime, the authors have missed the mark.<BR/><BR/>That being said, I actually enjoyed all the books in this series I have read. It's probably because the characters are fresh and interesting. They don't seem to be real as a group. Individually they are interesting.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    THIS WAS SUCH A GREAT BOOK

    I read this book in one day and was scared to go to bed that night. I am now about to go buy the rest of his collection.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    Along Comes Another Great Series!!!

    James Patterson provides another exciting thriller with his newest series, the Women's Murder Club. Race along with San Francisco's only female homicide inspector, Lindsay Boxer, who, with the help of her 3 friends, try to solve a horrible crime spree referred to as the Honeymoon Murders that span from California to Ohio. Another page-turning masterpiece from the author who brought you Alex Cross!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    The women in this book were not believable characters - they wer

    The women in this book were not believable characters - they were poorly formed by the author. I can't understand why this author is so popular.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Excellent Read

    This is the first "Woman's Murder Club" book I have read and I was extreamely pleased. I have bought the next two in line and I plan to read the entire series. Classic Patterson - just as good as the Cross series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great book. Couldn't put it down. Read it in 2 days.

    Great book. Couldn't put it down. Read it in 2 days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Recently introduced to this series

    Have gotten "hooked" on this series and decided to start from the beginning. I was not disappointed with my decision. Thank you Barnes & Noble for making this suggestion:)).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    A good read!

    I bought #11 at Costco on an impulse. I decided to start with #1 and go from there. I'm glad I did; will continue until I "catch up."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Enjoyed, Could not put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    sooo exciting!

    I was so shocked and sad at the end. Patterson wrote that one chapter so well. I felt Lindsey's pain right along with her and the girls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 987 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 50