Customer Reviews for

1st to Die (Women's Murder Club Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 974 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(552)

4 Star

(270)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Patterson Shows He's 2nd To None

Patterson catches us again with book in hand turning those pages as we did for his other thrillers. Patterson is able to create a suspenseful mood for the reader. What¿s better than a group of four woman to try and catch a psycho, killing newlywed couples. In my opinion...
Patterson catches us again with book in hand turning those pages as we did for his other thrillers. Patterson is able to create a suspenseful mood for the reader. What¿s better than a group of four woman to try and catch a psycho, killing newlywed couples. In my opinion, this book deserves 5 stars, for its intense suspense. Patterson is one of the few authors that is able to make you think you know what¿s happening and then your all wrong. A person¿s wedding day is suppose to be the happiest day of their life. The time after, referred to as the ¿Honeymoon¿ is supposed to be enjoyable, fun, and romantic. In 1ST TO DIE., three couples find their wedding day and their honeymoon¿s to be a time of death. The book has four main characters, who Patterson points out within the first few chapters. The most notable being Lindsay Boxer, an inspector for the San Francisco Police Department. Along with Lindsay the characters who want to solve the case include Claire Washburn a medical examiner and Lindsay¿s best friend, Jill Bernhardt an assistant District Attorney assigned to the first case, and Cindy Thomas a reporter for the San Francisco Chronicle, who integrates herself into the group after the first murders. Together, these women form ¿The Women¿s Murder Club¿ and take you on a ride of suspense as they work together to find the monster responsible for a series of tragic honeymoon murders that began with the intense killing of David and Melanie Brandt. Patterson is able to make these books enjoyable for even the High School student. He has this ability to make you pick up the book and never put it down. Make sure that if you purchase this book you also purchase the second and third books as well. The thing with Patterson is that once you read one in a series you have to read the rest. James Patterson writes in a short and casual manner. His chapters are short and to the point, which makes you keep turning the page to find out what will happen next. The characters are very well described, which makes you feel like you know them personally. When something bad happens you feel as if the tragedy has happened to one of your friends or family members. James Patterson truly is one of the most amazing authors, his clever twists and fast pace keep the reader going. It¿s almost as if Patterson knows what you are afraid of and he reaches the point that you jump out of your seat. If you truly enjoy this novel, you would also like Along Came A Spider, Kiss The Girls, Jack And Jill, Cat & Mouse, Pop Goes The Weasel, and Roses Are Red. -Nick Trodella

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Don't Know Why I Like This Book

I found this book to be very cookie cutter, things happen in a very predictable way. The main characters are caricatures of professional women. The Women's Murder Club seems to be little more than a high school social club with little real input into the case (except ...
I found this book to be very cookie cutter, things happen in a very predictable way. The main characters are caricatures of professional women. The Women's Murder Club seems to be little more than a high school social club with little real input into the case (except of course for Lindsay Boxer). If the hook here is that these four women actually contribute to the solving of the crime, the authors have missed the mark.

That being said, I actually enjoyed all the books in this series I have read. It's probably because the characters are fresh and interesting. They don't seem to be real as a group. Individually they are interesting.

posted by BOBPANY on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 270 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Great book!! Awesome twist to ending!

    I have started reading the 2nd book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Good read

    Master did it again...best mystery arthor...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    One of the biggest problems I find with watching a show or movie

    One of the biggest problems I find with watching a show or movie and then reading the book is that I compare the characters in my head and I use their voices when reading. In the case of this book, I had Angie Harmon for Lindsey and Tamala Jones for Claire, the rest were no faced characters.


    For the most part I liked this book, I was frustrated in the beginning because I kept comparing it to the TV Show it was based on. Once I was able to get past that I liked it a lot more. One of the things that really irritated me was the fact that so many names were the same - and not the same per say, but super similar that I couldn't keep their names straight. For example- Chessy and Cheery- Chessy was a part of the police force and Cheery was the suspects wife. And then there was Cindy and Claire, and I could almost never remember Cindy because when I tried to remember he name I could only think Claire! Writers think that they're being clever with twins who have similar names and things like that, but all it does is confuse the reader.


    One thing I did like was who it was a book that was written led them to the killer. Granted Castle came after, but you can see the similarities. I was also totally bummed by the killing of the couples in this book, but thats just the nature of the crime. When it came down to the end of the book, I will admit, that I cried, and I never thought this would be the type of book that would make me do that, but it did.


    The characters seemed a little flat as far as Jill the DA and Cindy the reporter went. But thats because there really wasn't much exploration into their lives as their was for the other ladies of the murder mystery club. Even though what they do is probably border line illegal, how they work together seems to work for them, and its true what they say, 2 heads or in this case, 4 heads are better than one.


    Once I was able to get past thinking of the show, this book became a much quicker read- in fact, I read it in one day. (Thank you long car rides) Since this is the first book in a series, there is the option to further explore the lives and relationships of the characters, but it also works as a stand alone book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Occupying Read

    I was mentally comparing the book to the TV series that disasppeared during the writer's strike a few years back. The book is much better! Great plot twists, good character development. I'm ready for #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Shocker

    I am in total shock...and dissapointment. I loooved this book...the ending, not so much. It actually broke my heart. I loved the complete surprise of it all. I would definetly recommend this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    enjoyable reading, lots of surprises

    made me want to buy the 2nd book of the series -2nd chance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Great Plot Twists Right Up to The End

    This was great entertainment. Having read others in the series, I decided to go back and read them in order. Number 1 sets the context for the rest of the books to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    I like james patterson

    I usually enjoy all of james patterson books. But i have neber read any of this series...So i opened the book and was surprises it was not as fast paced as cat and moose and the others. It goes into more details about the deetective boxers life, which is a good thing...She is trying to catch a killer or honeymooner...she has to get her friends to help her, after a little bit you see what james patterson is trying to do...He is trying to make you care about the women characters in the book...so when he brings them back in proceeding books you will get attached to them...I very good read and very entertaining... Get it you will not be able to stop at the first book in the series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Highly recommend this read

    It is a real page turner. I'm reading this for a book club and would not have rad it otherwise. But Iam glad it was suggested by the club members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Loved this book!

    I can't wait to finish 2nd chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Would recommend

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Terrific !

    First time reading James Patterson, ready for the second in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Recommended for anyone who likes suspense!!

    this graphic and suspensful novel First to Die by James Patterson will keep you wanting more throughout the novel. In this brutal and horrific crime story, Patterson puts you in the eyes of a very graphic serial killer who kills newlyweds and the police officers who try to solve the case and bring this killer to justice. Patterson leaves the reader wanting more with his gripping murder scenes and the difficult lives of the San Francisco law enforcement.
    when killer Phillip Campbell goes on his crazed killing spree, the local San Francisco police officer Lindsay's life will change forever. on top of being divorced and now multiple murder cases, Lindsay discovers she has a rare blood disease called Neglis. but can the determination of catching this maniac keep her strong? to catch this killer, Lindsay and four friends create a secret task force to return justice to the families of the deceased newly weds.
    i recommend reading this blood curdling thriller. it is the first book and the starting of the women's murder club trilogy. besides for some slow parts i the book, it has a great amount of suspense and many wild surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Worth Reading

    Enjoyed the book very much, I was surprized by the ending it kept me guessing to the end .. I'm downloading womens murder club #2 now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    A must read!

    I love this book! I couldnt put it down! I am now on the 2nd book of the series! Highly recommend this book! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Patterson stops hearts with mystery thriller

    James Patterson does it again. Does what you ask? He receives yet another award for the bestselling Women's Murder club novel, 1st to die. 1st to die is about four brilliant friends joined together by a diabolical case and a horrendous killer; homicide inspector Lindsay, medical examiner Claire, an assistant district attorney Jill, and a rookie reporter Cindy. Together these four friends have one goal in common, to find the killer who's begun to outwit them all.
    I really like how Patterson brings you into the story; he makes you feel like you're physically there taking every step by step with the girls. Only a great author can take you on a journey throughout his or her literature. With the 1st to die novel, Patterson twists your mind with puzzles and pieces and sooner or later you have no choice but to string those pieces together. I also like it how Patterson utilizes a female perspective keeping at least two of the women in charge of a normally male dominant area.
    What I dislike about this novel is how the killer is so aware of how good he or she is at killing. It's not only unnatural but chilling as well to think that serial killers could come from anywhere and from anyone. Although I suppose since it is a mystery thriller the fact that he or she knows this is good, it creates dramatic irony in knowing who the killer is while the police do not.
    Any mystery reader should read this book because it just draws you in you won't be able to put it down. Always wondering "I wonder who the killer is", "Will they find the killer?, "Who's the killers next victim going to be?" It's not just another mystery novel in a simple series, it's much more. If it's made the bestseller list in over six newspapers there has to be some reason to read this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    my first in this series

    this is the first of this series that I have read and I will be reading more of this series...James Patterson is my favorite author and he has never disappointed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I recommend it.

    I wanted to read this series after seeing the tv show which was canceled after just a short time. I really enjoyed it and it kept me guessing until the end. I look forward to reading more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    One of the best early novels.

    This had a twist at the end that I really hadn't figured out. In fact, it twists more than once. Couldn't put it down, but then I love all of JP's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson delivers the goods!!

    This right here, is classic James Patterson. Interesting characters, intensely eerie villains, realistic dialogue, and great plotting! In this first in the Women's Murder Club, Patterson really treats readers. This is a type of book that many different people from all walks of life could really get into. Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 270 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14