Customer Reviews for

2-At-a-Time Socks: The Secret of Knitting Two at Once on One Circular Needle

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

At Last I Can Knit Socks

For many years, I had to sit on the sidelines and watch as the sock craze passed me by. Knitting friends showed off their latest creations, and I eyed the myriad sock yarns, envious of those who could turn the hanks and skeins into wonderfully handknitted socks. The ...
For many years, I had to sit on the sidelines and watch as the sock craze passed me by. Knitting friends showed off their latest creations, and I eyed the myriad sock yarns, envious of those who could turn the hanks and skeins into wonderfully handknitted socks. The reason for my dilemma? Double-pointed needles--DPNs. Oh I Googled and Yahooed to find 2-needle patterns, but it wasn't the same thing. Then along came Magic Loop, and I was off and running. But there was a new problem. Though everyone said that ordinary patterns could be easily adapted to the ML technique, for those of us new to sock knitting, it was a daunting task. And there were very few ML patterns available. Thank goodness for 2-at-a-Time Socks! Now we MLers have a technique book chockablock with patterns. And unlike some sock pattern books I've seen lately, these are socks we'll actually wear. Techniques are easily explained, and those who choose to still knit one sock at a time can also use the book. Photos clearly show the steps to be taken and are actually large enough to be seen. Like most pattern books, there are errata. But in this day of the internet, the knitting community Ravelry comes to the rescue. There is a forum for the book, and Melissa is available to post corrections and answer questions. The only drawback to this book is its lack of toe-up patterns. Let's hope that Melissa writes another book for those of us who choose to start with our toes.

posted by Anonymous on May 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Although the technique is neat (albeit difficult at first) I was very disappointed that the patterns for everything pictured are not provided. I even contacted the publisher for the pattern for the socks on the cover and received incorrect information. I cannot recommen...
Although the technique is neat (albeit difficult at first) I was very disappointed that the patterns for everything pictured are not provided. I even contacted the publisher for the pattern for the socks on the cover and received incorrect information. I cannot recommend this book. It is not worth the frustration.

posted by Bird48327 on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Instructions to Learn 2-at-a-Time Socks

    I suffer from second sock syndrome and had looked at this book a few times at the store. When my son kept stealing my favorite hand knit socks I decided it was time to pick up this book so I could get him an entire pair of socks knitted so I could receive mine back! The instructions are good. There were times I did have reread them out loud a few more times to make sure I was understanding the concept. The pictures are great. I would recommend doing the practice pair of socks in two different color yarns as recommended. I did this and now have 2 pair of toddler size socks for a gift and learned the concept as well. I actually used the 2-at-a-time on another project to knit a couple of animal legs and arms and got a head start of that knitting project. It is definitely useful for more than just socks. There are a lot of great sock patterns in the book for once you have mastered 2-at-a-time. I have several tabbed for my next couple projects. Another great feature is that the book is spiral bound so it lays flat next to you while you are reading and knitting. No need to take you hands off of your knitting to hold a page down! I did find a couple comments on the internet about errata in the book but I checked out the author's internet page and found that my book must have been a newer print since almost all of the errors were corrected. Overall ... A great book to have in a knitters library if you are a regular sock knitter or not. I am glad I bought it and I have a feeling a few of my friends will be borrowing it ... but they will go get their own copy afterwards, I am sure! :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    At Last I Can Knit Socks

    For many years, I had to sit on the sidelines and watch as the sock craze passed me by. Knitting friends showed off their latest creations, and I eyed the myriad sock yarns, envious of those who could turn the hanks and skeins into wonderfully handknitted socks. The reason for my dilemma? Double-pointed needles--DPNs. Oh I Googled and Yahooed to find 2-needle patterns, but it wasn't the same thing. Then along came Magic Loop, and I was off and running. But there was a new problem. Though everyone said that ordinary patterns could be easily adapted to the ML technique, for those of us new to sock knitting, it was a daunting task. And there were very few ML patterns available. Thank goodness for 2-at-a-Time Socks! Now we MLers have a technique book chockablock with patterns. And unlike some sock pattern books I've seen lately, these are socks we'll actually wear. Techniques are easily explained, and those who choose to still knit one sock at a time can also use the book. Photos clearly show the steps to be taken and are actually large enough to be seen. Like most pattern books, there are errata. But in this day of the internet, the knitting community Ravelry comes to the rescue. There is a forum for the book, and Melissa is available to post corrections and answer questions. The only drawback to this book is its lack of toe-up patterns. Let's hope that Melissa writes another book for those of us who choose to start with our toes.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    a necessary add to an intermediate knitters library

    Once you can knit a sock on dp needles you need to add this method. It goes hand in hand with learning to knit "the magic loop" method. Magic Loop pretty much eliminates double point knitting needles from what I know. I just learned how to use the magic loop. I see you tube videos that show long tail cast on for magic loop and I do not agree. Two yarn tails and all that extra wire or tube is very confusing. If you can see the method than you can save yourself work and the knitting is more secure for travel or setting down frequently. Second sock syndrome never was an issue for me but making two socks identical a little daunting if you don't start the second sock immediately. I would knit two socks at a time on two sets of double points... I have not started a pair of socks on One Cingular yet.. that's what this book is all about since I already know the magic loop method. Having this book on the Nook and my Nook for PC allows me anytime access to my book. When on vacation, visiting the grandkids or at home... I need my knitting patterns etc. Carry your Nook and needles, buy yarn anywhere you are.. and you are knitting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Disappointing

    Although the technique is neat (albeit difficult at first) I was very disappointed that the patterns for everything pictured are not provided. I even contacted the publisher for the pattern for the socks on the cover and received incorrect information. I cannot recommend this book. It is not worth the frustration.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Get It? Got It! Good!

    Those who have been knitting longer than I would probably be able to 'dig their needles' into this book right away with great relish. However, I needed the Magic Loop book written by Bev Galeskas for more foundation training in circular knitting. But after that, I was off and running with Melissa's book. Now, the '2-at-a Time Socks' book has become one of my most important resources for knitting. The patterns are diverse but not difficult, cute but not confusing. The method in which the patterns have been formatted make it very readable and simple to follow. Plus, there is enough blank space available to write personal notations. A very valuable addition to the book is the resource list on the last pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Two at a time socks

    Every pattern in the first edition has corrections. The illustrations are okay but not for a newbie. I think it was poorly written and have gotten better information for free from blogs and Ravelry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a convert!

    I wanted to try this technique and now I'm a complete convert. It is great to have both socks finished at the same time and it is much more pleasant to work circulars.<BR/>The book shows, at the start, how to master the technique. This was very helpful. Photos were clear and there was enough detail. Key to success? Remembering which is Sock A and Sock B when you start a project (this is made easier in the instructions b/c she uses two difference color yarns).<BR/>I knit one of her patterns first and now have no trouble converting other patterns to the same technique.<BR/>I highly recommend this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Excellent technique, beginners may need more reference.

    I am proud to say I recently completed my first pair of socks - ever! - with this book. However, as a self-taught knitter, I have to say that this was not the easiest book to learn from considering it was my first project more complex than a hat. Beginners may want to make sure they have an alternate reference on hand to look up stitches. (I had no idea what ssk was going in). There is a small glossary in the back, but it used a different knitting style that I was used to.
    The technique is wonderful though, and very easy to pick up! Once I was up to speed with the abbreviations it was smooth sailing. Directions were very easy to follow.
    Also, 2-at-a-time is great for knitters who aren't constantly knitting. I started this pair of socks in January, and every time I set it down both socks were secure and in the same place, making it easy for me to pick up where I left off. And they match! It may have taken me until April to finish the project, but the socks look like I made them in one sitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eliminates second sock syndrom

    I love this book!! It has a complete how to knit a swatch that's totally visual so it makes everything extremely easy and the patterns are absolutuly amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Confusing at first, but don't give up.

    I've only knit one-pair of socks so far. So, I'm a very beginner. This book will help me do more on just one needle. Written well, but a little tough for me to understand without a demonstration right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    You know how excited you get when you have one sock done, but then realize you have to make another.

    This book is the answer to that dilemma. Why not make both socks at the same time? The technique should work for mittens as well. Whatever you do, don't try to comprehend why it works before trying the technique. Just knit it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1