Customer Reviews for

20 Y.O.

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    SUDDENLY CONFUSED

    I DON'T UNDERSTAND THIS YET!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    While this album is nowhere as artistic as some of her previous work, it's full of fun, fresh-sounding music. The album is very upbeat - especially the first 5 songs - and extremely catchy. You'll find the songs stuck in your head instantly. There's lots of attitude and funk. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This album signifies everything that she had done in the past.

    After hearing this album for some time I realize that this album is not “Classic Janet” or “New Janet” or anything. It just a celebration of 20 year in the music business. It is what it is. People will probably be playing her previous albums such as Control, Velvet Rope and/or her other works just to celebrate her 20 years in the business. To be honest with you I really haven’t heard the ‘Damita Jo’ but I’ll probably go back and listen to that just for the connection to this album. As for now it is a mix of music styles from all her albums. Although 20 Y.O. only has 11 tracks, you won't find much filler here. Even the interlude are better this go around. Although it may not have a true break-out single, the album as a whole is pretty good. From the female anthem "Show Me" to the Escapish "Daybreak" to the rockish "This Body", there's something for everyone on this album. It's also nice that she got back with Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis but you can't really tell that they're together until you flip to the last page of the booklet. The songs that stand out to me the most is of course the chart-topping hits, "Call On Me" (with Nelly unfortunately), "So Excited" featuring Khia, “Love 2 Love,” “Daybreak,” "With U", "Get It Out Me", "Take Care", and "This Body". 20 Y.O. is fun and simply consistent. You can play this album from the beginning to the end and almost not skip a track including the interludes because each track flows perfectly well together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    For 40 years old that doesn't stop her!

    You will love it! Although the first time I was completley wrong! Because I thought it wasn't good! It Is Good! Although the 2 tracks out of 16 were OK but that was toward the end! If you like Hip Hop/Pop and if you like music that you can dance to you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best R&B albums this year

    I must really give Janet some praise for this album. After over 20 years in this business, she still release material that can rival all the newcomers. I strongly recommend you pick this CD up. I am able to listen to it straight through and there are stong songs which should be taking Janet back to the top of the charts. I understand what Janet wanted to achieve and she has done it. The songs have some of that 80's dance style appeal but are arranged in such a way that it sounds fresh. You'll definatley be able to dance and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Janet's Back!!!!!!!

    And I'm so very happy for it! I've rocked this CD in the car since the day I bought it(the Tuesday it dropped), and it keeps getting better with every play. I can't pick a favorite, because the happiness and peace and love she's experiencing comes through on every song. A big BRAVA to Ms. Janet, this offering is worth every penny it costs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You will "ENJOY", every song!!

    I am a huge Janet fan, I have not been impressed with the last two albums of hers. But, 20 Y.O. is packed full of great songs. Its the type of album that you can put in and never turn off. I was shocked and pleased by her awesome album, some of her best work to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best since Velvet Rope

    This CD has a variety of songs that will take you on a wild ride. You will get classic Janet with "Enjoy" soft loving Janet with "Call on me" and sexy Janet with "Roll with you" This is a must have CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love the new Janet CD

    I absolutely love this album. I was a little worried after the first two singles but she has really proved her herself. Some of the stand out tracks are Sho Me, Enjoy, Daybreak, With U and Take Care. The whole album it great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Janet's 20 Y.O. DELIVERS

    Janet Jackson is back to icon status again. She has the ability to have millions of fans listen to her music once again. This is why she is now in the Guinness Book for her ability to have people interested in searching for her. Her new CD is easy to find or at least it was before a few days had passed in retail stores. She is definitely selling out in a lot places and the reason is because of sizzling tracks like "So Excited". This song featuring Khia is exciting and she delivers a hot steamy video to accompany the hot lyrics. There are other classic tunes too such as "Get it out of me". This song is about THE only guy who can get the freak out her. Other hot songs include "This body" about a guy who likes the fine girl on a magazine! Janet is that girl...now that is original. She sings "What would you do if I came to life?" I am sure that rapper/magazine buyer could think of a lot of things. Congratulations, Janet this CD is the best since "All for you" and all of your true fans are proud of you. Jermaine (JD), Jimmy Jam, and Terry Lewis, should all be proud of this hot feat. The album appears to be well planned, but not overly commercial! I can't wait to see more videos, hear more songs, and see that great tour in 2007. RJ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    20 Y.O. review

    If this album marks 20 years of being in control count me in to be a fan 20 years from now! This album is full of tracks that can easily have 12 singles. Janet and her team have created a timeless master piece the sounds are great and the vibe of the music is nothing short of Janet at her best. I say if you haven't gotten a copy, of 20 Y.O, do so it's well worth the 18 bucks. Great work Janet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1