BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (Classic Starts Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Exciting adventure thriller!

So I read this book back when I was in middle school and I just remember being absolutely fascinated by it. Jules Verne weaves a tale of adventure and danger, exploring the darkest unknown depths of the oceans in a spectacular way. I now read it at least once every year...
So I read this book back when I was in middle school and I just remember being absolutely fascinated by it. Jules Verne weaves a tale of adventure and danger, exploring the darkest unknown depths of the oceans in a spectacular way. I now read it at least once every year, and it continues to be my favorite book. It's perfect for long car drives, plane flights, and rainy days. It's a quick page-turner that makes it impossible to put down. Jules Verne really likes to use lots of scientific references and vocabulary, so that may take some getting used to for some readers, especially younger ones, but it's all worth, I promise.

posted by Musikdude8 on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Interesting take on man in solitude

This story is a classic, so don't expect any modern allusions to Twilight. Nor does it involve love affairs, severe violence, or even a school for witchcraft and wizardry. What Jules Verne does offer is a description of a fantastical world that lies below humankind all ...
This story is a classic, so don't expect any modern allusions to Twilight. Nor does it involve love affairs, severe violence, or even a school for witchcraft and wizardry. What Jules Verne does offer is a description of a fantastical world that lies below humankind all along. Sometimes explanations and imagery drag on, but it definitely isn't lacking in detail. The story is interesting and suspenseful. It may not be to your taste if you're more into easy reads, but it is especially wonderful if you're turned on to anything involving underwater life, science, or technology. In that case, this book is definitely for you. The take on man in solitude provides interest as well, giving readers a new scope of society.

posted by 11433861 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting adventure thriller!

    So I read this book back when I was in middle school and I just remember being absolutely fascinated by it. Jules Verne weaves a tale of adventure and danger, exploring the darkest unknown depths of the oceans in a spectacular way. I now read it at least once every year, and it continues to be my favorite book. It's perfect for long car drives, plane flights, and rainy days. It's a quick page-turner that makes it impossible to put down. Jules Verne really likes to use lots of scientific references and vocabulary, so that may take some getting used to for some readers, especially younger ones, but it's all worth, I promise.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My fav. book of all time!

    I'm a teenager and when I started to read this book, I couldn't put it down. I would recommend this book to anyone who truly loves well-written books. What else can I say? It's a classic. (This probably isn't for anyone who has difficulty in reading or doesn't like enigmatic [like that one] words)

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Awesome book!!

    I loved this when I first read it several years ago and when I got it on my nook it was even better!!! Very entertaining. Must read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Another great read byJulesVern

    Such a good book I finshed it in 3 days highly recomend

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Want to buy

    I got my nook for christmas this year and i really want to buy this book!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    look foreward to it

    I have not read, but I just now that I will like it.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Better than the hunger games

    Its even better than the hunger games im soooo into it some times i cant put it down

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Mind thilling

    Just amazing i can not stand how good this is from ice to desert an underwater adventure to the worlds best storys
    Nobody can rate this book 1 ,2,3 and 4 stars
    (Only five)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Lo Peolpe People say it id Webkinzlover

    Love it got this nook for christmas today and it is great i really want to buy it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    AWOSOME

    I j o o

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent edition

    20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne is a clas­sic sci­ence fic­tion novel pub­lished in 1870. The book¿s orig­i­nal title Vingt mille lieues sous les mers, the lit­eral trans­la­tion would be "Seas" which might imply the seven seas.

    The story is told from the view point of Pro­fes­sor Pierre Aron­nax, a famous French marine biol­o­gist. The pro­fes­sor accepts an invi­ta­tion to join an expe­di­tion to destroy a sea mon­ster who is sink­ing ships. Along for the ride come Cana­dian har­poon­ist Ned Land and Con­seil, the professor¿s servant.

    The expe­di­tion fails, the mon­ster sinks it and the Pro­fes­sor, Ned Land and Con­seil find them­selves at the mercy of Cap­tain Nemo, who com­mands The Nau­tilus, a sub­ma­rine the likes of which have never been seen.

    I have read 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne in two lan­guages and sev­eral ver­sions. I have to say that this trans­la­tion beats them all.

    The book shows Verne¿s genius which is tough to trans­late, the char­ac­ters come alive on the pages and the adven­tures they go through are excit­ing. The comedic tone and even psy­chol­ogy show well in this won­der­ful translation.

    As in the pre­vi­ous ver­sions I have read, there are many ¿lists¿ and descrip­tions of the ocean life. I have to say that I did skimmed through the lists but read the descrip­tive parts enthu­si­as­ti­cally. With the excep­tion of intri­cate sci­en­tific names, which lend cred­i­bil­ity to this fan­tasy, I found the book absorb­ing and engross­ing. I¿m glad I read it again.

    While sub­marines today are com­mon place and almost any­one of can go and visit one (there are sev­eral older sub­marines which one can go on), the fan­tas­tic voy­ages and imag­i­na­tion are inspir­ing today as they were in 1870.

    What I love about this book is that the trans­la­tors took their time to write an excel­lent intro­duc­tion and, best of all, won­der­ful foot­notes which, as I said time and time again, make a trans­lated book into a cul­tural expe­ri­ence and raises the level of enjoy­ment by mul­ti­ple degrees.

    Not many peo­ple are aware, but almost a whole quar­ter of the book was lit­er­ally lost in trans­la­tion. This won­der­ful edi­tion, trans­lated by Water James Miller and Fred­er­ick Paul Wal­ter, restores those pages as well as

    If you ever won­dered what the big hoopla is about Jules Verne, read this ver­sion and you¿ll find out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Shut up RPers

    This is not a place for roleplaying! It's for reviewing 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. Stop being such disrespectful pricks to this piece of literature and move your RP to somewhere appropriate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Sam

    Slips out

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Cali....here here xaier

    Siles alittle

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Neil

    Nope

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    An underwater adventure around the world

    Professor Pierre Aronnax, a very intelligent man, was invited to join a ship while they are heading out to hunt a very vicious `narwhal¿. No one knew that this creature of destruction was actually a submarine, except Professor Aronnax, his servant Conseil, and the world¿s best harpooner ¿ Ned Land. One tragic event happened as the ship Professor Aronnax was on, the Abraham Lincoln, was chasing this so-called narwhal. The creature brutally slammed into the ship while the Professor was on board, and flung him off the ship! They had all been reunited, Professor Aronnax, Conseil (who had jumped off the boat to follow Monsieur), and Ned Land and they were taken inside this vessel. This book is one of the best books ever it is filled with action, information about the seas like Latitudes and Longitudes, and very interesting adventures. Professor Aronnax had many exciting adventures with Captain Nemo, the captain of the vessel. They went hunting in the underwater forests of Crespo Island, where they encountered a lot of sea life but not too much. The two of them went on another expedition to where all the pearl oysters were, Captain Nemo even showed Professor Aronnax a pearl that he estimated to cost over two-million dollars! The Nautilus ventured toward the South Pole, encountering the Great Ice Barrier and getting stuck in it, with the crew nearly being asphyxiated or almost dying because they weren¿t able to renew their air supply. From what Professor Aronnax recorded, the food was quite unique. A net would trail behind the submarine and catch fish and other marine life that the vessel¿s kitchen would then cook and serve to everyone on board. This very interesting menu included some sea turtle, livers of different fish, penguin (but they were shot on an island), and many other weird marine animals. The water was also used, it was purified and then drinkable, but it was a little plain so Captain Nemo liked to spice it up. The special metal plated submarine, the Nautilus, could travel very fast. If the Nautilus was just cruising on the surface, it would travel at about 10 knots, or about 11 mph but the submarine could go a lot faster. When the submarine wasn¿t too far from land, Captain Nemo liked to pass the land quickly, sometimes by traveling at 35 knots, which is equal to about 40 mph! Its normal speed would probably be about 15-20 knots, or about 17-23 mph. A nautilus is actually a marine animal that has a hard shell, just like the Nautilus having metal plates to allow it to withstand enormous pressure. 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea is a book that is very informational, has a lot of action, and this book is the best books about ocean adventures. What is in this book is the best writing from a very intelligent man¿s point of view. This wonderful book is greatly recommended for people with a wide vocabulary, very interested in ocean life, or just someone looking for a good book to read. E. Gray

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    prescient!

    It is rare that the title of any book so aptly describes the entirety of the text inside. This book is quite literally the diary of a visitor aboard one of the all-time great mad scientists of literature, as they circumvent the globe - mostly underwater. In that the book can be painfully boring without a deeper understanding of what this book did for the general psyche of the age it as penned in. In 1869 the submarines that did exist were mere toys to the mythical phantom that Nemo had so painstakingly built. Much of the map that Verne described was foreign to every reader of the time, oceans being a matter of military concern primarily, and the joy of trying to prove or disprove the possibility of the fantastic underwater passage by tracking the progress of the Nautilus was part of the allure. The careful, rich detail of a man trapped in an underwater prison (albeit one of luxury) at the behest of the world's leading genius of the day (Nemo) holds the story together even when it seems as if the narrative slogs on mile (league) after mile (league). This is not an easy story to read. The action is infrequent and the story bears little resemblance to the Disney movie, but even so it is a divine classic. The predictions laid out by this author (who hardly could be considered an adventurer or world traveler) were more than wild speculation or mere fancy. They directly shaped the future - and that is what makes for great science fiction. I hope you get a chance to enjoy this classic over a few quiet (and preferably wet and soggy) days, with an antique globe or sea charts handy of course.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Rahja

    Laughs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Nate

    Grows harder at her touch*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6