BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Exciting adventure thriller!

So I read this book back when I was in middle school and I just remember being absolutely fascinated by it. Jules Verne weaves a tale of adventure and danger, exploring the darkest unknown depths of the oceans in a spectacular way. I now read it at least once every year...
So I read this book back when I was in middle school and I just remember being absolutely fascinated by it. Jules Verne weaves a tale of adventure and danger, exploring the darkest unknown depths of the oceans in a spectacular way. I now read it at least once every year, and it continues to be my favorite book. It's perfect for long car drives, plane flights, and rainy days. It's a quick page-turner that makes it impossible to put down. Jules Verne really likes to use lots of scientific references and vocabulary, so that may take some getting used to for some readers, especially younger ones, but it's all worth, I promise.

posted by Musikdude8 on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Interesting take on man in solitude

This story is a classic, so don't expect any modern allusions to Twilight. Nor does it involve love affairs, severe violence, or even a school for witchcraft and wizardry. What Jules Verne does offer is a description of a fantastical world that lies below humankind all ...
This story is a classic, so don't expect any modern allusions to Twilight. Nor does it involve love affairs, severe violence, or even a school for witchcraft and wizardry. What Jules Verne does offer is a description of a fantastical world that lies below humankind all along. Sometimes explanations and imagery drag on, but it definitely isn't lacking in detail. The story is interesting and suspenseful. It may not be to your taste if you're more into easy reads, but it is especially wonderful if you're turned on to anything involving underwater life, science, or technology. In that case, this book is definitely for you. The take on man in solitude provides interest as well, giving readers a new scope of society.

posted by 11433861 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting adventure thriller!

    So I read this book back when I was in middle school and I just remember being absolutely fascinated by it. Jules Verne weaves a tale of adventure and danger, exploring the darkest unknown depths of the oceans in a spectacular way. I now read it at least once every year, and it continues to be my favorite book. It's perfect for long car drives, plane flights, and rainy days. It's a quick page-turner that makes it impossible to put down. Jules Verne really likes to use lots of scientific references and vocabulary, so that may take some getting used to for some readers, especially younger ones, but it's all worth, I promise.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    A Middle School Student's Perspective

    A Book Review of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
    By Roger, Grade 7, Yangon International School
    Imagine traveling underwater to explore the sea for an entire life without even coming back to land! Who would live in an underwater world? What might be the hidden dangers? Are there hidden mysteries? The novel, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne, one of the most translated authors in the world, also known as “Father of Science Fiction”, is a science fiction book that contains adventures, undiscovered mysteries, and secrets to discover, from the underwater world!
    The story begins with a transoceanic cruise, Abraham Lincoln, tries to hunt the mysterious monster threatening many people in the sea. However, the crew is unable to discover any clue about the monster. That is until the monster bumps into the ship, causes two people to go overboard. After the monster disappeared once again, the two survivors, Professor Aronnax and Counseil, wander around the surrounding area, and discover one more survivor, Ned. Unfortunately, with minimal hope, the three survivors consider themselves dead until: they are stepping on the monster, Nautilus, the futuristic submarine. Nautilus immediately rises above the surface of the water, subjugates the survivors under the control of Captain Nemo, the person that wishes to own his own mini world. His main goal is to explore the sea, the motherland of many dangerous and harmful creatures, along with the three survivors, with the new adventure waiting for them.
    Verne’s development of the plot was amusing and creative. Even though the story didn’t have any critical theme, graphic and invigorating structure of the story line and the cordial usage of the sentences caused the story to became full of amazing entertainments. Verne also did a terrific job in creating a rare and unusual plot in an underwater. For the characters, Verne decided to add completely different attitudes and behaviors to each of the characters that made them unique and astonishing. As for Captain Nemo, a unique character with a strange attitude, can be both friendly and mean. Even though he wasn’t pleased being hunted at the first place, he still treated the three survivors as if they were friends. On the other side, he feared that his secret would be spread, and decided to subjugate them and never let them leave the crew. His reaction forced the survivors to make an indeterminable decision, and also left them to be bewildered.
    Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea was mainly designed for the teenage readers and some adults that love science fiction. From scale 1 (low) to 5 (high), I rate this a four because the entire story was filled with excitements described by detailed and cordial passages. Besides, the vocabulary usages of the words were not very difficult, so it is easier for young readers to enjoy.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My fav. book of all time!

    I'm a teenager and when I started to read this book, I couldn't put it down. I would recommend this book to anyone who truly loves well-written books. What else can I say? It's a classic. (This probably isn't for anyone who has difficulty in reading or doesn't like enigmatic [like that one] words)

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Awesome book!!

    I loved this when I first read it several years ago and when I got it on my nook it was even better!!! Very entertaining. Must read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Interesting take on man in solitude

    This story is a classic, so don't expect any modern allusions to Twilight. Nor does it involve love affairs, severe violence, or even a school for witchcraft and wizardry. What Jules Verne does offer is a description of a fantastical world that lies below humankind all along. Sometimes explanations and imagery drag on, but it definitely isn't lacking in detail. The story is interesting and suspenseful. It may not be to your taste if you're more into easy reads, but it is especially wonderful if you're turned on to anything involving underwater life, science, or technology. In that case, this book is definitely for you. The take on man in solitude provides interest as well, giving readers a new scope of society.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Another great read byJulesVern

    Such a good book I finshed it in 3 days highly recomend

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Want to buy

    I got my nook for christmas this year and i really want to buy this book!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    look foreward to it

    I have not read, but I just now that I will like it.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Better than the hunger games

    Its even better than the hunger games im soooo into it some times i cant put it down

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Mind thilling

    Just amazing i can not stand how good this is from ice to desert an underwater adventure to the worlds best storys
    Nobody can rate this book 1 ,2,3 and 4 stars
    (Only five)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Lo Peolpe People say it id Webkinzlover

    Love it got this nook for christmas today and it is great i really want to buy it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    AWOSOME

    I j o o

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent edition

    20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne is a clas­sic sci­ence fic­tion novel pub­lished in 1870. The book¿s orig­i­nal title Vingt mille lieues sous les mers, the lit­eral trans­la­tion would be "Seas" which might imply the seven seas.

    The story is told from the view point of Pro­fes­sor Pierre Aron­nax, a famous French marine biol­o­gist. The pro­fes­sor accepts an invi­ta­tion to join an expe­di­tion to destroy a sea mon­ster who is sink­ing ships. Along for the ride come Cana­dian har­poon­ist Ned Land and Con­seil, the professor¿s servant.

    The expe­di­tion fails, the mon­ster sinks it and the Pro­fes­sor, Ned Land and Con­seil find them­selves at the mercy of Cap­tain Nemo, who com­mands The Nau­tilus, a sub­ma­rine the likes of which have never been seen.

    I have read 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne in two lan­guages and sev­eral ver­sions. I have to say that this trans­la­tion beats them all.

    The book shows Verne¿s genius which is tough to trans­late, the char­ac­ters come alive on the pages and the adven­tures they go through are excit­ing. The comedic tone and even psy­chol­ogy show well in this won­der­ful translation.

    As in the pre­vi­ous ver­sions I have read, there are many ¿lists¿ and descrip­tions of the ocean life. I have to say that I did skimmed through the lists but read the descrip­tive parts enthu­si­as­ti­cally. With the excep­tion of intri­cate sci­en­tific names, which lend cred­i­bil­ity to this fan­tasy, I found the book absorb­ing and engross­ing. I¿m glad I read it again.

    While sub­marines today are com­mon place and almost any­one of can go and visit one (there are sev­eral older sub­marines which one can go on), the fan­tas­tic voy­ages and imag­i­na­tion are inspir­ing today as they were in 1870.

    What I love about this book is that the trans­la­tors took their time to write an excel­lent intro­duc­tion and, best of all, won­der­ful foot­notes which, as I said time and time again, make a trans­lated book into a cul­tural expe­ri­ence and raises the level of enjoy­ment by mul­ti­ple degrees.

    Not many peo­ple are aware, but almost a whole quar­ter of the book was lit­er­ally lost in trans­la­tion. This won­der­ful edi­tion, trans­lated by Water James Miller and Fred­er­ick Paul Wal­ter, restores those pages as well as

    If you ever won­dered what the big hoopla is about Jules Verne, read this ver­sion and you¿ll find out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Shut up RPers

    This is not a place for roleplaying! It's for reviewing 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. Stop being such disrespectful pricks to this piece of literature and move your RP to somewhere appropriate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Sam

    Slips out

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Xavier

    *taps his glass to everyone's.* To the greatest friends, the most confusing randomness. To being epic homeschoolers and even epic(er) people. To usm the chatters of the roleplay world who have brains to think, smarts to listen, and wisdom to see. *he drinks to his toast.*

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Cali....here here xaier

    Siles alittle

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Neil

    Nope

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Adventure tale

    It is a very good book and it has a marvelous plot that will keep you wanting to read until the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    recommended to some people-but it was an ok book

    20000 leagues under the sea is a very good book. The story tells of action and adventure. It also tells about of a mad sea captain traped aboured a submarine with a bunch of French professors. The adventures incloode uncovering Atalantis, finding unseen tombs. And getting clues of a giant sea squid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9