BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Exciting adventure thriller!

So I read this book back when I was in middle school and I just remember being absolutely fascinated by it. Jules Verne weaves a tale of adventure and danger, exploring the darkest unknown depths of the oceans in a spectacular way. I now read it at least once every year...
So I read this book back when I was in middle school and I just remember being absolutely fascinated by it. Jules Verne weaves a tale of adventure and danger, exploring the darkest unknown depths of the oceans in a spectacular way. I now read it at least once every year, and it continues to be my favorite book. It's perfect for long car drives, plane flights, and rainy days. It's a quick page-turner that makes it impossible to put down. Jules Verne really likes to use lots of scientific references and vocabulary, so that may take some getting used to for some readers, especially younger ones, but it's all worth, I promise.

posted by Musikdude8 on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Interesting take on man in solitude

This story is a classic, so don't expect any modern allusions to Twilight. Nor does it involve love affairs, severe violence, or even a school for witchcraft and wizardry. What Jules Verne does offer is a description of a fantastical world that lies below humankind all ...
This story is a classic, so don't expect any modern allusions to Twilight. Nor does it involve love affairs, severe violence, or even a school for witchcraft and wizardry. What Jules Verne does offer is a description of a fantastical world that lies below humankind all along. Sometimes explanations and imagery drag on, but it definitely isn't lacking in detail. The story is interesting and suspenseful. It may not be to your taste if you're more into easy reads, but it is especially wonderful if you're turned on to anything involving underwater life, science, or technology. In that case, this book is definitely for you. The take on man in solitude provides interest as well, giving readers a new scope of society.

posted by 11433861 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    A Middle School Student's Perspective

    A Book Review of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
    By Roger, Grade 7, Yangon International School
    Imagine traveling underwater to explore the sea for an entire life without even coming back to land! Who would live in an underwater world? What might be the hidden dangers? Are there hidden mysteries? The novel, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne, one of the most translated authors in the world, also known as “Father of Science Fiction”, is a science fiction book that contains adventures, undiscovered mysteries, and secrets to discover, from the underwater world!
    The story begins with a transoceanic cruise, Abraham Lincoln, tries to hunt the mysterious monster threatening many people in the sea. However, the crew is unable to discover any clue about the monster. That is until the monster bumps into the ship, causes two people to go overboard. After the monster disappeared once again, the two survivors, Professor Aronnax and Counseil, wander around the surrounding area, and discover one more survivor, Ned. Unfortunately, with minimal hope, the three survivors consider themselves dead until: they are stepping on the monster, Nautilus, the futuristic submarine. Nautilus immediately rises above the surface of the water, subjugates the survivors under the control of Captain Nemo, the person that wishes to own his own mini world. His main goal is to explore the sea, the motherland of many dangerous and harmful creatures, along with the three survivors, with the new adventure waiting for them.
    Verne’s development of the plot was amusing and creative. Even though the story didn’t have any critical theme, graphic and invigorating structure of the story line and the cordial usage of the sentences caused the story to became full of amazing entertainments. Verne also did a terrific job in creating a rare and unusual plot in an underwater. For the characters, Verne decided to add completely different attitudes and behaviors to each of the characters that made them unique and astonishing. As for Captain Nemo, a unique character with a strange attitude, can be both friendly and mean. Even though he wasn’t pleased being hunted at the first place, he still treated the three survivors as if they were friends. On the other side, he feared that his secret would be spread, and decided to subjugate them and never let them leave the crew. His reaction forced the survivors to make an indeterminable decision, and also left them to be bewildered.
    Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea was mainly designed for the teenage readers and some adults that love science fiction. From scale 1 (low) to 5 (high), I rate this a four because the entire story was filled with excitements described by detailed and cordial passages. Besides, the vocabulary usages of the words were not very difficult, so it is easier for young readers to enjoy.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Xavier

    *taps his glass to everyone's.* To the greatest friends, the most confusing randomness. To being epic homeschoolers and even epic(er) people. To usm the chatters of the roleplay world who have brains to think, smarts to listen, and wisdom to see. *he drinks to his toast.*

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Adventure tale

    It is a very good book and it has a marvelous plot that will keep you wanting to read until the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    recommended to some people-but it was an ok book

    20000 leagues under the sea is a very good book. The story tells of action and adventure. It also tells about of a mad sea captain traped aboured a submarine with a bunch of French professors. The adventures incloode uncovering Atalantis, finding unseen tombs. And getting clues of a giant sea squid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    A great adventure to read!

    Jules Verne's 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea propelled the reader through an underwater adventure. It carried me away to places I have never been. I really enjoyed the book. There is a strong connection in the book to today. Even though the book took place in the nineteenth century, it connects with the modern day by scientific exploration. People have always tried to better the world through scientific achievement. I recommend 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne because it is well written. The storyline was exciting and suspenseful. The characters were believable and well developed. It was an entertaining read and has something for everybody.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Inkheart

    It was thrilling and magical. I recommend it to all people who have a taste for adventure and fantasy. It was one of the best books i read in 4th grade. It is about a girl and her father that both share the same talent that would put them in danger. I dont want to give away much. I give it a 4 star rating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Jonathan

    Christina?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Ballet girl

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Haskall

    Tagger. You can tell me what you needa tell me in at our book. Im back..)) "About what..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    To Tag

    Lets go talk at our book..~Haskall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Storm

    e.e I didn't do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Xavier

    :((( no one exploded. *pouts.*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Boobs

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    This is a book

    Loved the book! Kinda seemed like it was a summary of an actual book. Looking back i think it is. Easy too read. Cool characters. I wish there hadbeen some more details though. The pictures sucked. All in all worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Awesome book overall

    I read this book for my language arts (english class) in 6th grade for a book report. If you love science fiction, historical fiction, geograhy, or all of them you will love this book. It is very intesting that the author thought of all these things years before there discovery. Nucular energy and the nuatalus shell (named after the ship in the book). The attacks though are very random though. I wish he made a squal to this master piece from the old times of simi modern literacure. I have read it 14 times now. I enply you to atleast read it once in your life. Beware once you start you cant stop til your done

    PEACE OUT HOME DAWG,
    FRED

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Good book

    If you are looking for a good higher level reading book, well, you have already looked at it. It is not the greatest book I have ever read but I suggest reading reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    bought for 8 yr old

    Thought this was easy enough to read and kept his attention. Good taste of the actually story, he may read the Jules Verne addition someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    Loved It!

    I thought, for a classic book, that it was really, really good! Most 'classics' are written in old English, or move too slow. I though this was a fast enough pace, and had some great stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    Excellent Work

    This story starts out to be very boring because you becomes soo anxious to find out whart this unknown thing is. Somesay its a whale others a large vessel that has come to attack. Soon when three men find themselves aboard this massive SHIP theyfind new and wounderous things that they have never seen before. Capitain Nemo tkes three men captive a harpooner, arceogloist, and his secretary. This book goes on to shopw thim diving under water and facing things they never thought they would face in the end this bhgook is remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Wonderful writting

    I thought this book was wonderful, especially for a school project. A wonderful tale told about the ocean. But the ending was a little disappointing, because it left you hanging in a way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2