Customer Reviews for

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (Sterling Unabridged Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

20000 leagues under the sea is a tale about professor Aronnaux g

20000 leagues under the sea is a tale about professor Aronnaux going on a sea mission to find a giant narwhal that can travel up to speeds of 25 knots and destroy boats like they are nothing. they found the giant narwhal and were chasing it until it turned upon then a...
20000 leagues under the sea is a tale about professor Aronnaux going on a sea mission to find a giant narwhal that can travel up to speeds of 25 knots and destroy boats like they are nothing. they found the giant narwhal and were chasing it until it turned upon then and threw Professor Aronnaux, Consiel, and Ned into the ocean. Then the large narwhal found them but it was not a narwhal but a cedar shaped boat that could sail underwater. They were brought into the underwater boat and they go on a fabulous adventure under the sea.
I really liked this book because there was a lot of adventure and was a very interesting book to read. Also it was written before there were submarines so its cool that he predicted that.
I would say that if you like adventure and science you should read this book because it is very interesting and is a very good novel to read.

posted by Tadjusc on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea Jules Verne. New York: Scholastic Inc.© 2000. Pages 426

The author of this book, Jules Verne, was born in 1828 in Nantes, France. He was encouraged by his father to study and perceive a career in the field of law. But his love was literature and he followed his heart, creating more than fifty science fiction novels. One of t...
The author of this book, Jules Verne, was born in 1828 in Nantes, France. He was encouraged by his father to study and perceive a career in the field of law. But his love was literature and he followed his heart, creating more than fifty science fiction novels. One of these stories is this book, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. It was published in 1869. This book also is probably the most popular book in the series Voyage Extraordinaires. Using a scientific eye, Verne predicted future inventions. That is what this book was based on; a ship that could travel at speeds of twenty-five knots per hour and could sail underneath of the water.
This intriguing book begins as a rather mysterious giant "narwhal" keeps appearing in the way of ships. It has caused tens of thousands of dollars worth of damage by smashing its some what impenetrable shell into the hauls and screws of vessels in its territory. An ambitious scientist, Professor Aronnaux, decides to take a prolonged trip into the Pacific Ocean to find out who or what this creature is. After several months at sea, the crew of the Abraham Lincoln finds the monster and chases it at full speed. They chased the creature for eighteen hours until they finally gave up. Just when they thought that the unknown animal had disappeared back to the depths of the ocean, it came about and smashed into the rear of the ship. The force was so great, that Professor Aronnaux was thrown into the water along with his servant, Consiel, and a harpooner named Ned Land.
Over the course of the night, the three made their way to the mysterious sea monster. Once they reached it, they found out that the exterior layer was not skin. Instead, it was a tough medal. The Professor, Ned Land, and Consiel, through a small opening in the top of the vessel, made their way inside. Once there, they were taken captive and placed in a small room for twenty-four hours. After their detaining, Captain Nemo trusted his newly found friends enough to allow them to sail with him on his journey. They ventured around the under water world for several months, learning and making news discoveries every day.
In my personal opinion of this book, I believe that it has a winding plot; throwing you off guard several times. I found it hard to follow. This book is set to appeal to older audiences. It has a vast vocabulary that is very hard for me to decipher and enjoy. That is the main reason that I have rated this book at three stars. I believe that people that are in college or graduates working in a scientific field would enjoy the knowledge of an array of vegetation and animals describe in this classic. I would not recommend this book to people under the age of fifteen.

posted by 1404107 on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    20000 leagues under the sea is a tale about professor Aronnaux g

    20000 leagues under the sea is a tale about professor Aronnaux going on a sea mission to find a giant narwhal that can travel up to speeds of 25 knots and destroy boats like they are nothing. they found the giant narwhal and were chasing it until it turned upon then and threw Professor Aronnaux, Consiel, and Ned into the ocean. Then the large narwhal found them but it was not a narwhal but a cedar shaped boat that could sail underwater. They were brought into the underwater boat and they go on a fabulous adventure under the sea.
    I really liked this book because there was a lot of adventure and was a very interesting book to read. Also it was written before there were submarines so its cool that he predicted that.
    I would say that if you like adventure and science you should read this book because it is very interesting and is a very good novel to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    20,000 Leagues Under the Sea Jules Verne. New York: Scholastic Inc.© 2000. Pages 426

    The author of this book, Jules Verne, was born in 1828 in Nantes, France. He was encouraged by his father to study and perceive a career in the field of law. But his love was literature and he followed his heart, creating more than fifty science fiction novels. One of these stories is this book, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. It was published in 1869. This book also is probably the most popular book in the series Voyage Extraordinaires. Using a scientific eye, Verne predicted future inventions. That is what this book was based on; a ship that could travel at speeds of twenty-five knots per hour and could sail underneath of the water.
    This intriguing book begins as a rather mysterious giant "narwhal" keeps appearing in the way of ships. It has caused tens of thousands of dollars worth of damage by smashing its some what impenetrable shell into the hauls and screws of vessels in its territory. An ambitious scientist, Professor Aronnaux, decides to take a prolonged trip into the Pacific Ocean to find out who or what this creature is. After several months at sea, the crew of the Abraham Lincoln finds the monster and chases it at full speed. They chased the creature for eighteen hours until they finally gave up. Just when they thought that the unknown animal had disappeared back to the depths of the ocean, it came about and smashed into the rear of the ship. The force was so great, that Professor Aronnaux was thrown into the water along with his servant, Consiel, and a harpooner named Ned Land.
    Over the course of the night, the three made their way to the mysterious sea monster. Once they reached it, they found out that the exterior layer was not skin. Instead, it was a tough medal. The Professor, Ned Land, and Consiel, through a small opening in the top of the vessel, made their way inside. Once there, they were taken captive and placed in a small room for twenty-four hours. After their detaining, Captain Nemo trusted his newly found friends enough to allow them to sail with him on his journey. They ventured around the under water world for several months, learning and making news discoveries every day.
    In my personal opinion of this book, I believe that it has a winding plot; throwing you off guard several times. I found it hard to follow. This book is set to appeal to older audiences. It has a vast vocabulary that is very hard for me to decipher and enjoy. That is the main reason that I have rated this book at three stars. I believe that people that are in college or graduates working in a scientific field would enjoy the knowledge of an array of vegetation and animals describe in this classic. I would not recommend this book to people under the age of fifteen.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Great Classic

    I bought this for my son's home school reading class. He loves science class, so I thought he'd enjoy this story. He does. It's not easy to read. Jules Verne wasn't writing for children. But if the reader really sticks with it, it is so rewarding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    20,000 Leagues Under The Sea

    I chose this book because in the title it says sea, so that means that it is about the sea. Also i would think of it as a mystery because the sea is so deep and huge, so that means that there can be many new things that is a mystery to us.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    The action of this book is slowed way down by excessive scientif

    The action of this book is slowed way down by excessive scientific description. But it was Ned Land's constant bloodthristiness for killing whatever life he found, wherever he found it (in one example, his desire to kill every kangaroo on an island), that killed this book for me. I just couldn't deal with ninteenth century ideals and views. If you ask me, not many young people are going to enjoy this. It's a valuable example of where we've come from, but with our oceans now threatened by pollution and overfishing, this account of the excesses of the past is just painful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Grat book!!!!!!!!!!! Ages 11&up

    For ages 11and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Proluge

    Proluge
    —————
    Everything was quiet. Celestia's daughter was beautiful. Only one problem there was. Celestia's daughter was named Princess Oceana. The sky was dark. Celestia knew her path meant consequences. Celestia was so unhappy. The rain poured down. Forever the two worlds had been separated.... that's just how it always was. Celestia's husband was Darkwaters. The moon was dark, and shadowed. Celestia had to give up her daughter. Oceana was a sealicorn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    It is good

    This is a very good book and i read it in two days i liked it so much!! However, it is quite a tricky read and i reccommend it to ages 11 and over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Amazing MORGAN B.

    A great book full of adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Moonkit

    Male kit with pale-silver almost white fur (like the moon) and pale blue eyes. Personality: likes all moon phases but full moon is my fav, likes to run around and play with friends, a good leader for a kit, works well with others

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Palmkit

    A small black kit with white tabby marks and green eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    SteelStar- Rules to Join!

    1) We are a no powers clan. Normal cats please. 2) All must use at least decent grammar. 3) Be active, and if you cannot come on for a long period of time for any reason, tell us in advance if possible. 4) Leave your bio here and come to the main camp! (2nd result)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Sam

    I was here first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Speaker

    Okie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Ryan

    Next Result...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Y

    Sex.. have it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Please do not advertise on our territory.

    Please do not advertise on our territory. ~Clan cats

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Wonder Woman...RULES AND GUIDE

    Okay heres the deal! You can be any DC person you want! But you have to ask! And be active! Relation ships are Wonder Woman and Batman also Hawkgirl and Green Lantern. Any one else i dont care! Go crazy! Uh...no s<_>ex but cussing is allowed if you can do it woth out getting locked out! Not to be picky but third person if you can! Relation ships BUILD UP! Ok now for the guide: main deck res 3. Cafateria res 4. Bios for anyone that is made up or no one knows is res 2. Dorms you will pick. Training area res 5. Battle feilds res 6, 7, and 8! Please apply at res three!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    book report review ¿20,000 Leagues Under the Sea¿ is a great boo

    book report review
    “20,000 Leagues Under the Sea” is a great book in my opinion. It starts out with the world in wonder of a mysterious sea creature attacking and sinking many ships. In awe himself professor Aronax and his servant Cornelius would dare to try to find the creature if it was real. They join the ship called Abraham Lincoln where they travel abroad with Ned a master harpooner. For days they haven't found anything until one night they spotted the creature which attacked them. Ned threw his harpoon with great power but caused no damage to the creature. Then the Abraham was hit sending Professor Aronax and Ned to the ocean. His servant Cornelius went into the water to help them. They got on top of what they believe is a sear creature but finds out that is was a submarine disguise asa sea creature. Over the following chapters they meet the mysterious Captain Nemo. The book gives details of their exploration under the vast sea where they discover many secrets such as under water forests and the great lost city of Atlantis. The book also gives the travelers many problems that they will experience with man eating native, ice barriers in the south pole and battling giant squids using axes only. I believe the writer Jules Verne wanted his readers in excitement and awe of the sea. He creates a mood as if we were with the professor and his servant traveling and searching for the sea’s wonderful treasure of the deep secretes we are being kept away from. -zjs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    SWEET

    Reaeaeaeaeaeaeaeaeeaeaeaeaeaead

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3