BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

2001: A Space Odyssey (Space Odyssey Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    'My God...it's full of stars!'

    This book fills in many of the details that Stanley Kubrick left to our imagination in his challenging film version. The film and the novel were created at the same time, and there are differences, but the two are best appreciated in tandem. If you were confused about the last 20-30 minutes of the movie, the book will clear it up for you. In much the same way, Clarke's story and characters come to life on the screen with a poetry that the book is unable to completely express. The story of man's continuing evolution leaves you pondering man's place in the universe. Forget about robots and laser beams, this is gripping science-fiction at its best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    A great book for anyone

    2001: A Space Odyssey is the best science fiction series of all time, and great even for non sci-fi readers. Before this book, I had never read any sci-fi books. Now I have read over ten of Arthur C. Clarke's other books. This is an excellent book for any intelligent reader because it makes you think. The plot is absorbing and fast-paced, full of awe and suspense. It is an epic tale of space and new horizons. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    Great Book

    I picked this book out for a school project, and needless to say I was not to excited about it, but this book did a wonderful job of keeping my attention, and really kept me involved in the story. If you are an avid reader of science fiction you will love this book. I found it quite amazing that this book was written so long ago. Clarke like all great storytellers did wonderful job describing what the future was like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    Spectacular sci-fi novel!

    For those like myself who were never really interested in sci-fi, this a great book to read never-the-less. and for those people extremely interested in sci-fi, this is even better. i had to read this book for a school project, and believe me once you start this book, you will not want to put it down. A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    Loved It!

    I am usually not fond of sci-fi books or movies, but I must say that 2001: a space odyssey was a fantastic book. It opens up your eyes and makes you wonder, you have never wondered before, how big the universe really is. It also makes you realize that humans are only a small speck compared to the infinity of the universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Stunning

    I must admit I saw the film first and was left both amazed and lost, however the book patched up the holes and now it's just amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    AMAZING!!!!

    i have just read this book for the first time, after hereing my parents put down the Movie saying, ' it's boring ' and, ' i feel asleep watching it ' and my Uncle saying it is a great movie, and even better book. and also a friend saying the movie was good, but wierd, but good. i have read the book, and seen the movie, and i LOVE them both. i think Clark wrote on of the best books i have ever read, and i read ALOT. i recommend this book to any Sci-Fi fan. i am also amazed at this book because of Clark's view of what the year 2001 would be like, while the story was written in 1964. in conclusion, READ THIS BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    2001: A review

    Amazing. This novel, which was written amost at the same time of the movie, is breathtaking. It adds greatly to Kubrick's brilliant film. Clarke's style is straighforward, yet beautiful in its descriptiveness and simplicity. I read this novel in its entirity in one sitting. It gripped me from start to finish, making me hungry to turn each page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Clarke better than Kubrick

    This is one of the few books I have read in one sitting. Not that it was amazing, but it flowed smoothly and was easy to read. The book is infinitely better than the movie, which I have never been able to watch in its entirety. As with Starship Troopers, not much action, but it is a much better story. However, Clarke should have stopped at 2001. 2010 and 3001 were incredibly awful and should be avoided like the Forever Plague...uh, I mean Forever War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    it's great

    This book is really a piece of art,it really inspired me and it changed the way i have always thought that books were boring but this book tought me that i was wrong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    2001: A Space Oddesy Review

    I liked this book. I liked it for its creative depiction of the future that was believed to be true when the book was written. my favorite character was the main character of the book. He managed to stay in space for a long period of time and survive by himself and against the will of the computer, and not go insane. The main conflict of the book was that there was either a flaw in the AI of the onboard computer, or that the computer had just decided on its own to go crazy and try to kill the inhabitants of the ship bound for another world to inhabit it for earth. It was attempting to kill the main character who was basically a caretaker of the ship whil the space ship traveled to the planet and the real inhabitants of the ship were frozen, only to be revived once arrived at the destination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    The best fiction story

    My language is not English.But I read translations.2001:A Space Odyssey is the first fiction story I read.And I should confess that the best story that I have ever read.As the other Mr.Clarcks story,this story has a boring beginning and of course the most important part of the story is the begining.There is no unnecessary sentence.Each sentence has its own meaning.Suddenly the story becomes surprising.It goes high and higher.When you are completely mixed-up and wondered,it finishes! 2010 is also interesting,but not as much as 2001.unfortunately 2061 is less interesting.That is full of technical idioms,without fun and wonder.And at last sorrily 3001 is the worst.Smotimes I think it shoud not being Written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    No need to rate this, the name says it all

    Better than the movie as far as i am concerned. I love the whole thing. Cant belive he wrote this back in 1968. I picked like 10 new inventions. The only part which is weak is the Prehistory and that is quite understandable since back then we knew less and of course it is easier to predit a Microwave Oven or a Satelite than it is to figure out the History and beginnings of H-Sapiens. have I been Clarke and I would have chosen Homo-Erectus (Pithecanthropus) as my beginning species rather than Autralopithecus, but... Also Clarke was off by 100-200 years. He was too far into the future for the year 2001. I mean here we are, I know we will get there but not just yet. We cant even send a probe to mars without losing it or Damaging the Images that are sent back and dont tell me I am talking about a conspiracy here because I am not. I am simply saying those guys ought to be replaced by someone more capable. :O)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    A good SF book.

    I find this book a good SF book but I don't see it being all its cracked up to be. It is a good story and look at SF but it didn't appeal to me. I guess it's not my kind of SF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    The Greatest Sci-fi Novel ever

    When Clarke wrotes this novella 2001 was a long way away, anything was possible and indeed much of his idea is in place, how easy it would be for a computer to go down to the extent that HAL did. One thing Clarke did get right was the amount we would depend on computerisation in the year 2001. This story is compelling reading and of course it was made into one of the film greats of Stanley Kubrick. Arthur C. Clarke is undoubtedly one of the finest science fiction writers of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2002

    One important point

    After reading many of Clarke books I come away seeing his point of view, and knowing who he is and his infinate mind who am I to not agree. The beginning of the novel takes place at the dawn of man. A clan leader tries to keep his kin safe from wild aminals other clans and the infant earth as humans know it, to live other day. At this point ( I belive)Clarke want us to imagin the devolpment of the human mind, can we love , do we live for happiness, do we have a conscience. Or are we just like any other aminal on earth. One morning the monolith appears. To the clan it is frighting, to there mind it is beyond understanding. Days go by the monotith becomes a part of the landscape. The leader still fighteng off natures incrochment stares at the monolith. Here it is Clarke belief the man took that after lasting step toword what we have become. While staring at the black figure in the ground that spark, the changing chemistry in the brain takes place aminals bone become wepons, and a aid for hunting. Meat and ever important protin become part of there diets. The road has forked with the aid of the monolith, this clan becomes our ansistors,the others the missing link. The monolith disappers to be found later when it has complited it's job and points its students in the direction of the final queston. This is the beginning and the end ,or maybe not 2010 is just over the horizon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    Not Bad!!

    Wow! That's all I have to say! This book was so good that I read it twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    Awesome

    After I first watched the movie 2001, I had almost no idea what was going on - the story of the Black Monolith and the Star Child at the end made almost no sense to me. But after reading this book, everything comes together and makes much more sense. The better way to experience 2001 would be to first read the book and then watch the movie, but either way 2001 is an exciting look at human beings' journey beyond Earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2001

    Meaning of 2001: A Space Odyssey

    2001: A Space Odyssey has a powerful meaning and my be a little confusing. For example, in the end it can become very confusing. All in all this book has a wonderful meaning that is mindbending but at the same time tells you Arthur Clarke's view of the evolution of mankind and how he thinks it is all an expirement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2001

    Good

    I think that space odessy is good i watched it last night and i will always remember it as weird and cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5