Customer Reviews for

2012: The Return of Quetzalcoatl

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    Autobiographical bullshit

    Don't get me wrong I in no way in this review mean to denounce the 2012 prophecy that is apparently going to occur on the 21st of december, i myself encourage people to look into it for themselves but do not bother looking for awnsers in this book. Daniel pinchbeck gives the false advertisement that his book will talk about the 2012 prophecy which he does for about 100 pages then he gets deeply sidetracked into a autobiography that could put a crack addict to sleep, he incessantly whines about his relationship not only with his wife but also that of his mistrisses. He begins to stray from a fact giving novel to a guideline of being a hippie dipshit, he gives chapter long stories of drug induced weekends and tribal ceremonies that he does not link back to the 2012 prophecy which leaves the reader confused. I myself was a fan of pinchbecks shamanic pshycedlic stories from his first novel "breaking open the head" but I was hoping to find something completly different in this latest book but all i found was that he would've been better off calling this one Breaking open the head Part 2.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    Very Interesting

    Being interested in the Mayan culture and their end times prophecy, I decided to buy this book. I wasn't dissapointed. This book covers a broad range, from ancient civilizations, to spirts, aliens, psychadelic mushrooms and pagan gods. It's a fascinating read and would recommend it to anyone with an open mind.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more like a biography of the author's life

    Warning...if you're looking to read about the ancient Mayans, do not read this book. Instead, Daniel Pinchbeck drags the reader along on his life journey including his childhood illness (why do we care?), drug trips, shamanism, alien abductions, and the occult. While it was certainly an interesting read, he tried to connect his outlandish drug induced hallucinations with the 2012 spiritual awakening.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Okay. But not exactly what I expected.

    This book was full of material that I had never read before, but I expected the author would spend more time discussing the Mayans than he did. It seemed like more of a trip down memory lane glamorizing his drug use. I found it very ego oriented, which is unfortunate when you consider the fact that there is a large part of the population that believes 2012 will be a time of consciousness raising. I think he could have taken a more futuristic, proactive approach to how the consciousness raising may come about and what can be done to facilitate that rather than reminiscing about his personal past. I have since passed up other books on this topic wherein Pinchbeck is editor, etc.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Awesome book

    This is a great book. I agree with everything the other reviewer, except that you need an open mind. I think this bok is a mind opener itself. Read it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Daniel Pinchbeck provides a mature, guiding insight

    Ideal for people who are searching for answers to life's most complex moral, philosophical and religious questions. Pinchbeck doesn't take the seeker aside and say, 'You're seeking? Here's what I've discovered...' Instead, he simply provides the reader with an open and honest narrative about his own life, his research, and his experiences. Soon the reader begins to realize, 'So, this is what Daniel has discovered... This is what I was searching for all along.' From the Amazon rainforest to African initiation rites, Pinchbeck brings the reader along. He is obviously someone who has 'been there and back,' and who has not only remained intact, but has also grown and become 'wise' in the journey. Fortunately for us, he has also found the strength to share his wisdom and his strong guidance with us. Clearly, 2012 is not only a profound and lasting literary accomplishment, it also somehow seems to be a letter from a friend - one that we will surely want to 'keep with us' and use as we make our own way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    believable

    a great story from a very open mind about truly deep topics concerning the evolution of our species on a grand scale. the other reviewers seem to lack any prior knowledge to shamanism of the maya. this book is a great intro to all of it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    Really eye opening

    i enjoyed Daniel's views and agreed with alot of them. i also enjoyed his way of relaying the information his format you know? i was really impressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thumbs down

    If you want an autobiography of Daniel Pinchbeck, then this book is for you. I actually found myself getting upset and disappointed after the first chapter but kept on reading in hopes that it would get better. I am an open minded person but the title of this book is misleading to the readers. I would not recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1