BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

2012: The War for Souls

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great accomplishment!

I believe that this novel is by far one of the best I have ever had the privilege of reading. as for some of the more unappreciative readers I would recommend reading Strieber's 'Communion' and 'The Grays' to truly understand the mind of Whitley Strieber. In all honesty...
I believe that this novel is by far one of the best I have ever had the privilege of reading. as for some of the more unappreciative readers I would recommend reading Strieber's 'Communion' and 'The Grays' to truly understand the mind of Whitley Strieber. In all honesty this book was a great read and I would highly recommend giving it a chance, though I would also recommend reading Communion and The Grays before judging the creativity of this novel.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

How can this get good reviews?

I'm very shocked at the good reviews I see here. I read this book right after "The Grays" and wow was I disappointed. The plotline is very poor, straight out of a second rate "Tales from the Darkside" episode, or a movie that the SciFi channel would make. The characters...
I'm very shocked at the good reviews I see here. I read this book right after "The Grays" and wow was I disappointed. The plotline is very poor, straight out of a second rate "Tales from the Darkside" episode, or a movie that the SciFi channel would make. The characters, with the exception of Martin, are very poorly defined and seem to change personalites from chapter to chapter. I just didn't care what happened to anyone in this book, or where the story was going. Do not read this expecting it to be along the same lines as The Grays.

posted by CheriScha on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    How can this get good reviews?

    I'm very shocked at the good reviews I see here. I read this book right after "The Grays" and wow was I disappointed. The plotline is very poor, straight out of a second rate "Tales from the Darkside" episode, or a movie that the SciFi channel would make. The characters, with the exception of Martin, are very poorly defined and seem to change personalites from chapter to chapter. I just didn't care what happened to anyone in this book, or where the story was going. Do not read this expecting it to be along the same lines as The Grays.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    A great accomplishment!

    I believe that this novel is by far one of the best I have ever had the privilege of reading. as for some of the more unappreciative readers I would recommend reading Strieber's 'Communion' and 'The Grays' to truly understand the mind of Whitley Strieber. In all honesty this book was a great read and I would highly recommend giving it a chance, though I would also recommend reading Communion and The Grays before judging the creativity of this novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting, But Not a Page-Turner

    I have read many theories about the year 2012 and the Mayan calendar. I have also read many theories about the 'end times'. Nothing I had read previously prepared me for the unique approach to the end of time that this author takes. We're talking parallel universes where events occur simultaneously. We're talking about aliens from another planet/universe. Or are we the aliens and are they the true reality? Lot of universe-crossing in this story but I'll admit that it draws you in sort of like the unsuspecting fly being caught in a spider's web.

    If you like science fiction with a twist, if you are a fan of good vs. evil, if you like your aliens with a bit of humanity, then this book is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Great read, I have not read any booka by this author til this on

    Great read, I have not read any booka by this author til this one and I have read several since and found an author that is enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Interesting read

    Firstly, I want future readers to know that this is not really a sequel to "The Greys", as advertised. It does not pick up where the other one ends, no characters are the same, and the "aliens" and the "alien" motivations are very different (In "The Greys", it was hinted that the aliens were going to help the humans.) I, also, was expecting to read more about Connor and his interfacing with the aliens. This book is entirely different.

    As for this book, as stated above, it is an interesting read. I did not have any difficulty following the transitions between the different "worlds" and I enjoyed his "take" on 2012. But, alas, it is not a book that will draw me back to read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wanted to love it. I've been a fan of Whitley Strieber ever sin

    Wanted to love it.

    I've been a fan of Whitley Strieber ever since I read "The Grays" which I thought was excellent. You can tell from the length of this review, I'm just not enthusiastic about this at all. This is a good one to check out from the library, but to me, it isn't worth owning. It's good, and I enjoyed it, but as I reached the end I realized something that made me a little sad: I won't read this again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Difficult to follow

    Although an overall intriguing story idea, the plot is difficult to follow since a myriad of characters float in and out of several dimensions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Not even a TINY bit as good as I thought it would be.

    I ordered this book for reading material while I recovered from back surgery. My husband read it first. This book was all over the place. It goes straight into stories about Earths in other dimentions, but the only way you can figure it out, is on your own, and because there is a font difference. Once that confusion is done, you are well into the book. The book seems like it is randon chapters of 3 books. It jumps HUGE amounts of time and just goes on, like you should already know what happened in the chapters that aren't in to book. I would have stopped after the first few chapters, but my husband bet me that it would be too bad for me to finish. I stuck it out, hoping it would get better....IT DIDN'T!! A few chapters later my hubby asked how it was going, and it said it could turn out ok as long as......and I rattled off a cheesy senario and ending. (I won't tell cause you might still decide to buy it) Well, more than 75% of my rant really happened in to book. If you like books that sit on the fence between really out there and a really weird dream you have when you eat something wrong before bed, then this is your book. I'm just really glad that I got a bunch of other books to read too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Talk about LA LA Land

    Look 2012 is scary....I like being scared. This book was so far out in lala land it was laughable. There are alot of books comming out. I read 2012 Seeking Closure in one night because it was fast believeable and fun, scary sorta. Other books better then this also. But make a desicion based on your own opinion not words on a review, everybody is different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    Fun SF read

    This is an extremely entertaining read. The shift of universes at the beginning of the novel isn't that hard to follow cause of the changing of the font (at least in the paperback version). While the global warming aspect may have been overstated a bit, it did provide a good plot point as to why the seraph wanted the two-moon earth. Therefore, if you are looking for an enjoyable SF about parallel worlds and possible futures then this is a good book to pick up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    entertaining read

    Reminds me of one of my favorite films growing up as a kid, "The Neverending Story." It's a great read for those who love sci-fi and/or thrillers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    The most terrifying and freighting book ever!

    Simply put, this is the most terrifying and freighting book you will ever read. After the first 68 pages you will be numb and have to take a break. The only problem is - you can't - for whatever you do, the horror stays with you. You not only read about the most horrific events in human history, you live them. No one does this better than Whitley Strieber. His book 'War Day', about post nuclear holocaust America, left me in tears for weeks. '2012 - The War For Souls' will leave each of us who reads the novel in shock and horror for a very long time. This book is not for the faint hearted, but if you want to read the scariest and most gut wrenching book ever written, pick up '2012'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    Good, but...

    The first two chapters were a bit confusing until one realizes the events are occurring in two separate, but parallel, universes. Transitions between events, scenes, and action were sometimes abrupt or awkward and some events and/or situations felt as if they needed more explanation or expansion. I also must be a bit jaded, because I'm not sure I can agree on the fear factor others give the book. I might read a sequel to this book, but I doubt I'll go out and buy the author's previous book(s). None-the-less, I still enjoyed the book. It was a fast read, the plot line was interesting and kept my attention. The problems listed above I would attribute more to poor editing than to poor writing - I felt like I was reading a draft of the final product. In the end, I found myself wanting more, which I think the author could have provided with a better editor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    extremely disappointing

    This book was just a childlike book written to cause terror for the coming of 2012.Of course it is a novel and not to be taken with any kind of degree of reality. This however went out of its way to make the concern some may have concerning the coming of 2012 into a horrible fear. The story line was really weak and frankly laughable . For a author who claims to be many things and have knowledge on many subjects he really wrote a ridiculous annoying book. Will be my last by this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great sf

    While working at the bottom of the pyramid of Khufu, Martin Winters feels a strong vibration and escapes before the sacred site explodes leaving a lens like object. All over theglobe, sacred sites explode revealing more lens like objects and at night they emit blood red discs that suck the souls out of humans turning them into a zombie like condition. The beings behind this atrocity are not aliens from another world but shape shifting reptilians from an alternate earth who want to take over this earth because they polluted their world to the point of making it an an uninhabitable hell.-------------------- The seraphs as they are called on the world of Abaddon plan their invasion for December 21, 2012 a special date in the Mayan calendar where earth is at a certain loci in the galaxy. This event happens only once every twenty-six thousand years. The dimensional barrier thons at this point and the seraphs expect an easy victory since they put their own people in position of power on earth to facilitate the take over. They don¿t take into account the resiliency of the human spirit or the heroes who vow to live free by defeating them or die trying.------ What the beings of Abaddon want to take over is not our earth but another alternate terra that has two suns, no moon, a Tsarist Russia and French and British empires. The action is non-stop and readers find themselves totally absorbed in this refreshingly original storyline. The villains are evil but seem cartoonish at times while people who fight the seraphs give all to free their world from the monsters. Whether they succeed or not, civilization as we know it will be changed forever.----- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2