Customer Reviews for

206 Bones (Temperance Brennan Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is a super thriller

Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan is confused as to how she got where she is. Somehow, Brennan is badly injured and tied securely in what appears to be an underground tomb. As she regains her senses, slowly flashes of what happened to her begin to appear ...
Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan is confused as to how she got where she is. Somehow, Brennan is badly injured and tied securely in what appears to be an underground tomb. As she regains her senses, slowly flashes of what happened to her begin to appear in her mind.

Based on an anonymous tip to authorities, Brennan arrived in Chicago with Andrew Ryan of the Serete du Quebec where she is being accused of erring in her autopsy of Canadian heiress Rose Jurmain. Meanwhile back in her Montreal lab, Brennan links Jurmain's death to the brutal murders of other elderly women by a particularly nasty serial killer. As she explores her premise further, she is just beginning to understand she is a trapped rodent in a deadly cat and mouse game.

This is a super thriller that contains several strong subplots; especially intriguing is the challenge to the heroine's competency from an unknown source who seems to know forensics. Much more personal than usual, the courageous Dr. Brennan feels like a hunted animal who though wounded goes after her predator. Kathy Reichs provides a strong entry in one of the better mystery series of recent years.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Prepare to snore

In a real departure for this series, this book is a snoozer. While there is mystery and there is suspense, there is also an over-abundance of technical jargon, micro-detailed medicalese, irrelevant geographic and historical dialogue, long drawn-out discussions in French...
In a real departure for this series, this book is a snoozer. While there is mystery and there is suspense, there is also an over-abundance of technical jargon, micro-detailed medicalese, irrelevant geographic and historical dialogue, long drawn-out discussions in French, and painfully slow, horribly exhaustive and descriptive soliloquies. The plot is disjointed, bouncing from Tempe's personal problems to her professional concerns, to a nasty neighbor, to a series of suspicious deaths, to her relationship with her ex in-laws, to her waking up battered and dazed in a burial vault. Even the descriptions of various characters are verbose to the point of no point, and we get to share numerous nasty moods and bouts of griping and moaning, both mental and verbal, of Tempe's as the book moves along. And those don't even include the mental calisthenics and freaking out that she does when she realizes she's buried alive. Little real excitement, as every situation is dissected and talked to death before it has a chance to play out in some more interesting manner.

posted by Jay-Fer on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    206 Bones

    This is the 12th book in the series. Temperence Brennan is a forensic anthropologist who divides her time between Charlotte, North Carolina and Montreal, Quebec, Canada. In this book she is also in Chicago partly for business and also for a holiday visit with her Latvian ex-inlaws. The book opens with Tempe bound, injured and confined in a small underground space and the story is told in flashbacks. This book is both engrossing and entertaining and is better than her last two books. That being said, my only complaint would be the blindingly obvious suspect that went unnoticed until the end and tangents that serve only to slow down the reader and show off the author's researching and/or trivia skills. Also, the very, very end devolves into what feels like a self-serving (although probably justifiable) tirade about qualifications to be a forensic anthropologist. While she may have a point, it was about a subtle as an anvil to the forehead and brought the book to a screeching halt. Granted, it was the last page so halting is to be expected, but the tone just didn't fit in with the overall book. You decide. I was okay with it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super thriller

    Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan is confused as to how she got where she is. Somehow, Brennan is badly injured and tied securely in what appears to be an underground tomb. As she regains her senses, slowly flashes of what happened to her begin to appear in her mind.

    Based on an anonymous tip to authorities, Brennan arrived in Chicago with Andrew Ryan of the Serete du Quebec where she is being accused of erring in her autopsy of Canadian heiress Rose Jurmain. Meanwhile back in her Montreal lab, Brennan links Jurmain's death to the brutal murders of other elderly women by a particularly nasty serial killer. As she explores her premise further, she is just beginning to understand she is a trapped rodent in a deadly cat and mouse game.

    This is a super thriller that contains several strong subplots; especially intriguing is the challenge to the heroine's competency from an unknown source who seems to know forensics. Much more personal than usual, the courageous Dr. Brennan feels like a hunted animal who though wounded goes after her predator. Kathy Reichs provides a strong entry in one of the better mystery series of recent years.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    TO READ OR WATCH, THAT IS THE QUESTION

    This was a very exciting book and I read it very quickly, BUT I was gripping my chair when Bones found herself in the coffin. I should ask Kathy to pitch in to by me another dental appliance, as I ground my teeth to the nubs waiting for her ever Knight in Shining Armor to ride in on a white steed and save her. Kathy's writing is perfect for such a show as BONES and I am now watching all of the reruns. I never miss the TV show, BONES, and I will definitely buy any coming books written by this very talented author

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Prepare to snore

    In a real departure for this series, this book is a snoozer. While there is mystery and there is suspense, there is also an over-abundance of technical jargon, micro-detailed medicalese, irrelevant geographic and historical dialogue, long drawn-out discussions in French, and painfully slow, horribly exhaustive and descriptive soliloquies. The plot is disjointed, bouncing from Tempe's personal problems to her professional concerns, to a nasty neighbor, to a series of suspicious deaths, to her relationship with her ex in-laws, to her waking up battered and dazed in a burial vault. Even the descriptions of various characters are verbose to the point of no point, and we get to share numerous nasty moods and bouts of griping and moaning, both mental and verbal, of Tempe's as the book moves along. And those don't even include the mental calisthenics and freaking out that she does when she realizes she's buried alive. Little real excitement, as every situation is dissected and talked to death before it has a chance to play out in some more interesting manner.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Only If You Love Forensics

    206 Bones is not as good as some of the others in the Temperance Brennan series. The plot starts off interesting, but it quickly becomes predictable and tiresome. The author introduces several new minor characters in an attempt to make the story more entertaining, but the main characters are still boring and not very likeable. As usual, the strength of the book is the science. The forensic details are unfortunately used more as a device to generate personality conflicts this time rather than as a key to solving murders. Those who like this author might be disappointed.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WITTY! GRIPPING! CAPTIVATING!

    Interesting, informative and exciting read! I love the Temperance Brennan character! I learned a lot reading this book. Thoroughly enjoyed it! A few others I thoroughly enjoyed, but were totally different, except you learn wonderful, feel good lessons in life that when you come away from them you kind of glow!......SAME KIND OF DIFFERENT AS ME, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Linda Pirrung, and THE HELP, by K. Stockett....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    What's happening to Brennan?

    Has Dr. Brennan lost her edge? She can't concentrate, has trouble relating to her staff. Have the years taken a toll? She has over looked evidence at a crime scene. She misses clues left on teeth. Items that a newly hired less exprianced pathologest easily finds. What is happeneing is telgraphed to the astute reader before Brennan finally figures it out, but this does not take away from enjoying this book. Kathy Richs once again takes us into the lab and the area of forensic pathology and teaches us that there is a lot to learn from a bunch of bones.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Too Technical

    I felt the plot and the characters got lost in the technical aspect of the book. By the time I got about half way through I had lost track of the characters but felt I could perform an autopsy.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Great Book Filled with Mystery!

    The story 206 Bones begins with Forensic Anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan waking up in a cold, dark, and confined space. She realizes that her arms and legs are bound and that she is badly injured. Once she regains her composure, she sorts out the events that put her in this situation. She recently discovered the remains of Canadian heiress Rose Jurmain and linked her death to the brutal murders of a serial killer. However, based on a tip to the authorities she is accused of mishandling the autopsy. With more murders lining up in Montreal, it seems almost as Brennan is being framed. The plot and charracters in this book are very practical and it is a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Parallel stories make a great book

    206 Bones is a little different than the other books in this series, because it runs two parallel stories. The first has Tempe trapped, hurt, and confused - not knowing where she is or how she got there, but understanding she is in real trouble. The second tells us the back story of the case that led to her current situation. Both are terrific and when they come together? Powerful! As much as I enjoyed the complex story line, clever plot, and always intriguing personality Tempe displays, I couldn't wait to get this book to find out what happens next to Tempe and Andrew Ryan. Fans of the series will enjoy the format and the puzzles that abound in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan assists police

    206 Bones is a thriller, a mystery, a medical lesson, a geography lesson, a history lesson, and contains all the enjoyment that comes with the Temperance Brennan character in Kathy Reichs series of books. While the story is probably mostly fiction the locations and medical parts are undoubtedly not fictionalized. Temperance give 206 Bones her normal humor and romantic twists with the reader never sure where her mind is all the time but definitely mostly on her work as a forensic anthropologist.

    206 Bones begins with Tempe aware that she is in a dark, tight, dirty, moldy, and musty place surrounded with dirt. She has no memory of how she got there or where she is but she knows she must get out of this godforsaken tomb! The story then shifts to before her entombment and gets the reader up to what she is working on. Tempe's very close "friend" is Lieutenant detective Andrew Ryan who is on the police force in Quebec, Canada. With Tempe's knowledge of forensics and the crimes involved, she and Ryan work together quite a bit, in this case traveling to Chicago. In her position, Tempe works for Montreal and teaches in North Carolina. During the story she travels around between parts of Canada, Chicago, and North Carolina. The story shifts occasionally back to Tempe trying to get out of this tomb.

    Several bodies have turned up, several of which had been discovered after many years missing and the forensics can get very tough with bones this old. Tempe has troubles with things going wrong in the morgue/laboratory along with threats she seems to have received from someone. She has no idea if that someone was a fellow employee or an outsider that might be connected with one of the new found murders. The story is very interesting and mysterious and a great read. The only trouble I occasionally had were some of the many technical names for many things connected with her work and locations in Canada but these would generally explain themselves to the reader as time goes on.

    Tempe is a great character, as those of us that watch the television series "Bones" know. You never know what she will say or do, or what she will come up with to get a case on track-or not! Kathy, I love your vocation and your way of thinking. I have read quite a few of your books and have never been disappointed from beginning to end. I also enjoy your personal input that you use to let us readers know what you are all about in your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    206 Bones

    Yet another wonderful addition to the Temperance Brennan Series. I am looking forward to the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Great Addition to the Series

    This is a great book to join the others in the series. The characters are well rounded and the plote is one that makes you keep reading. This is a book that is hard to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Informative and fast reading

    The writing is enjoyable and found it very informative from a medical standpoint. Well worth reading especially since most people in our society today don't seem to know anything about biology and the human body.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    As always, excellent page turner

    Ms. Reich's previous books were page turners from the beginning and this latest book is no exception.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    I always enjoy the Bones series

    Excellent always enjoy the Bones series and look forward to the next one

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Hooked me again.

    I returned to reading Kathy Reich/Temperance Brennen after a couple book break and have to say I really loved 206 Bones. The balance of science, investigation, thriller and the humanistic side of the characters captivated me and was really well done. The mystery was unique and the vulnerability of the 2 main characters made this a favorite for me in this series. Guess the break was for the better as I look forward to next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    Excellence continued

    Between the writing style, plot twists, and the great scientific explanations, Reichs has created another hit. Can't wait for the next Temperance Brennan adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It kept me on the edge of my seat... Literally....

    I enjoy books on tape (or CD) and actually found reasons to drive so I could listen to this book... I have followed the "Bones" television for a long time and wanted to see how close Ms. Reich's writing was to the TV program. This is a wonderful book and the narration was awesome. This is definately a book I will keep in my permanent library.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    206 Bones and I think she named every one of them!

    The thing about Kathy Reichs is that she tends to want to educate you as well as entertain. This book is extremely heavy in the forensic anthropology educational material. Half way through, I was found myself wondering whether or not the main plot would be revealed, but I persevered and it paid off.

    The performance of the reading is excellent and makes the book more entertaining. This is one of Ms. Reichs that had I just been reading rather than listening, I may have taken much longer to finish the story.

    Unfortunately, the "bad guy" was no surprise. I figured out the twists and turns before they were revealed. I wouldn't say that the ending was predictable, but ... well, maybe it was a little! The characters, however, are always fresh and original.

    The book is worth listening to on your drive to work, but don't expect romance or escapism.... it's not that kind of story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14