Customer Reviews for

206 Bones (Temperance Brennan Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is a super thriller

Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan is confused as to how she got where she is. Somehow, Brennan is badly injured and tied securely in what appears to be an underground tomb. As she regains her senses, slowly flashes of what happened to her begin to appear ...
Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan is confused as to how she got where she is. Somehow, Brennan is badly injured and tied securely in what appears to be an underground tomb. As she regains her senses, slowly flashes of what happened to her begin to appear in her mind.

Based on an anonymous tip to authorities, Brennan arrived in Chicago with Andrew Ryan of the Serete du Quebec where she is being accused of erring in her autopsy of Canadian heiress Rose Jurmain. Meanwhile back in her Montreal lab, Brennan links Jurmain's death to the brutal murders of other elderly women by a particularly nasty serial killer. As she explores her premise further, she is just beginning to understand she is a trapped rodent in a deadly cat and mouse game.

This is a super thriller that contains several strong subplots; especially intriguing is the challenge to the heroine's competency from an unknown source who seems to know forensics. Much more personal than usual, the courageous Dr. Brennan feels like a hunted animal who though wounded goes after her predator. Kathy Reichs provides a strong entry in one of the better mystery series of recent years.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Prepare to snore

In a real departure for this series, this book is a snoozer. While there is mystery and there is suspense, there is also an over-abundance of technical jargon, micro-detailed medicalese, irrelevant geographic and historical dialogue, long drawn-out discussions in French...
In a real departure for this series, this book is a snoozer. While there is mystery and there is suspense, there is also an over-abundance of technical jargon, micro-detailed medicalese, irrelevant geographic and historical dialogue, long drawn-out discussions in French, and painfully slow, horribly exhaustive and descriptive soliloquies. The plot is disjointed, bouncing from Tempe's personal problems to her professional concerns, to a nasty neighbor, to a series of suspicious deaths, to her relationship with her ex in-laws, to her waking up battered and dazed in a burial vault. Even the descriptions of various characters are verbose to the point of no point, and we get to share numerous nasty moods and bouts of griping and moaning, both mental and verbal, of Tempe's as the book moves along. And those don't even include the mental calisthenics and freaking out that she does when she realizes she's buried alive. Little real excitement, as every situation is dissected and talked to death before it has a chance to play out in some more interesting manner.

posted by Jay-Fer on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Prepare to snore

    In a real departure for this series, this book is a snoozer. While there is mystery and there is suspense, there is also an over-abundance of technical jargon, micro-detailed medicalese, irrelevant geographic and historical dialogue, long drawn-out discussions in French, and painfully slow, horribly exhaustive and descriptive soliloquies. The plot is disjointed, bouncing from Tempe's personal problems to her professional concerns, to a nasty neighbor, to a series of suspicious deaths, to her relationship with her ex in-laws, to her waking up battered and dazed in a burial vault. Even the descriptions of various characters are verbose to the point of no point, and we get to share numerous nasty moods and bouts of griping and moaning, both mental and verbal, of Tempe's as the book moves along. And those don't even include the mental calisthenics and freaking out that she does when she realizes she's buried alive. Little real excitement, as every situation is dissected and talked to death before it has a chance to play out in some more interesting manner.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Too Technical

    I felt the plot and the characters got lost in the technical aspect of the book. By the time I got about half way through I had lost track of the characters but felt I could perform an autopsy.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    206 Bones and I think she named every one of them!

    The thing about Kathy Reichs is that she tends to want to educate you as well as entertain. This book is extremely heavy in the forensic anthropology educational material. Half way through, I was found myself wondering whether or not the main plot would be revealed, but I persevered and it paid off.

    The performance of the reading is excellent and makes the book more entertaining. This is one of Ms. Reichs that had I just been reading rather than listening, I may have taken much longer to finish the story.

    Unfortunately, the "bad guy" was no surprise. I figured out the twists and turns before they were revealed. I wouldn't say that the ending was predictable, but ... well, maybe it was a little! The characters, however, are always fresh and original.

    The book is worth listening to on your drive to work, but don't expect romance or escapism.... it's not that kind of story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    In Kathy Reichs's 206 Bones, Temperance Brenan is kidnapped and

    In Kathy Reichs's 206 Bones, Temperance Brenan is kidnapped and trapped in an underground tomb. The story works backwards in time, which is refreshing, though if you watch the TV series, Bones, like most beasts, the books are an entirely different animal from the TV series, of which, I actually enjoy both. In this novel, Brenan solves the murders of a few elderly women and discovers someone in her forensic lab is sabotaging her work and her reputation. This is a quick read, but worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    The first Bones book that disappointed us.

    We have loved the Kathy Reichs series "Bones" but this one was filled with way too much data and not enough story. Sorry - can't really say I'd recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    okay

    I like the books, but I have come to love the tv series. The books have too many French words and slow discriptions for me to rate them top on my list. Deja Dead was Reichs' best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    New to me author

    In 206 Bones by Kathy Reichs, Temperance Brennan, is handcuffed and buried in some place underground. She does not remember how she got there, she is injured, and terrified, but attempts to save herself. Then Ms. Reichs shows us the series of events that led up to the abduction.

    This is a first for me author and so I was not 100% sure of what to expect, because I like the TV series Bones, which I frankly love, but I know that some things don't translate well from book to screen. I think what surprised me the most about this was the one thing that irritated me the most -- the French (language that is). I do not speak the language, do not understand the language, and don't read it. Without the translations I would have been at sea in a heavy fog without knowing where in the heck I was going. I understand that most of the book takes place in Quebec Canada, and that French and English are both spoken there, but I could have really done without so much of the language.

    For those that may not know whom I'm talking about - Temperance Brennan is a renowned forensic anthropologist who seems to divide her time between labs in Quebec Canada and helping others -- and being with family in North Carolina. Her friend and romantic interest appears to be the good looking Lieutenant/detective Andrew Ryan, who works for the Surete du Quebec, but there is also mention of another gentleman in North Carolina that she seems to care for. The two (Ryan and Tempe) seem to have an on again off again romance that is currently off, although they have remained good friends, and Ryan seems to want to restart the romance. There are several very unusual things going on in this book -- again not being familiar with Ms. Reich's work I'm not sure if this is usual or just the tone of this book. The mysteries, include the deaths of three or four elderly females. As a favor to a friend, Temperance also tries to learn what happened to a young man who disappeared years ago. Temp also has to tolerate a newcomer or two in her lab in Canada, and things there aren't what they seem either.

    When Temperance talks bones, I listened, due in a large part I'm sure to Ms. Reich herself being such a well known and respected anthropologist. Ms. Reich's talents however do not all lie in just that one field as she also shows the harshness of a Montreal winter, with heavy snows, bad roads and lousy temps, and the fluidity of a well written mystery or would that be mysteries? Another thing that surprised me was that the weather seemed to mirror Temperance's mood/attitude for the most part, again I'm not sure if this is a common occurrence or just the way things went for this book. She is ticked that an ambitious newcomer named Marie-Andréa Briel is challenging her knowledge and apparently succeeding in making her look bad.

    Otherwise, I kind of enjoyed the book almost as much as I like the TV series. When Temperance spoke I listened, the book has a faint romance going on between Temperance and the detective Ryan, but the book is mainly a mystery, and it was written well enough that someone that doesn't usually read mysteries enjoyed herself.

    Would I buy the book in hardback, I'm afraid not, in paperback if I didn't have something else to read, maybe? That is the main reason I'm only giving this a 3 star, simply because while I enjoyed the book, it just didn't make me want to run out and find more by this author right away.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2