Customer Reviews for

20th Century Ghosts

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

21st Century Fantastic Fiction!

"20th Century Ghosts : Stories" is not a book of horror fiction or ghost stories! The title seems to draw some readers in and push others away. This is a book of outstanding short fiction, where one of stories just happens to be called, "20th Century Ghost" and Joe Hill...
"20th Century Ghosts : Stories" is not a book of horror fiction or ghost stories! The title seems to draw some readers in and push others away. This is a book of outstanding short fiction, where one of stories just happens to be called, "20th Century Ghost" and Joe Hill decided to use it for the title.

Joe Hill is the son of Stephen King, still that doesn't guarantee that his writing will be as good as his fathers, but in my opinion his short stories are just as good. Joe doesn't have quite an impressive list of novels written yet, unlike his father, but he is off to a great start. Joe has written two full length novels, "Horns" & "Heart-Shaped Box", which have both been successes. I have read "Horns" and I enjoyed it, I'm definitely looking forward to "Heart Shaped Box".

Read this collection and you will certainly see for yourself that Joe Hill can really write and that this collection belongs near the top!

The collection includes a total of 15 stories and one bonus story at the back of the book, after the acknowledgements.

5 star stories:

"Pop Art" - a great story, great original concept
"20th Century Ghost"
"Abraham's Boys"
"The Black Phone"
"Voluntary Committal" - a story to get lost in when reading, great creative writing
"You Will Hear the Locust Sing"

The rest:

"Best New Horror"
"In the Rundown"
"Better Than Home"
"The Cape"
"Deadwood"
"Last Breath"
"The Widow's Breakfast"
"Bobby Conroy Comes Back from the Dead"
"My Father's Mask"
"Scheherazade's Typewriter" (Bonus story)

All in all a great collection of short stories, with topics varying from ghosts to killers to sibling rivalry to old flames re-united!

Highly recommended!

Enjoy~

posted by SavageBS on July 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Price

Ordered it for 1.99 but was charged 9.99... be careful!

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    21st Century Fantastic Fiction!

    "20th Century Ghosts : Stories" is not a book of horror fiction or ghost stories! The title seems to draw some readers in and push others away. This is a book of outstanding short fiction, where one of stories just happens to be called, "20th Century Ghost" and Joe Hill decided to use it for the title.

    Joe Hill is the son of Stephen King, still that doesn't guarantee that his writing will be as good as his fathers, but in my opinion his short stories are just as good. Joe doesn't have quite an impressive list of novels written yet, unlike his father, but he is off to a great start. Joe has written two full length novels, "Horns" & "Heart-Shaped Box", which have both been successes. I have read "Horns" and I enjoyed it, I'm definitely looking forward to "Heart Shaped Box".

    Read this collection and you will certainly see for yourself that Joe Hill can really write and that this collection belongs near the top!

    The collection includes a total of 15 stories and one bonus story at the back of the book, after the acknowledgements.

    5 star stories:

    "Pop Art" - a great story, great original concept
    "20th Century Ghost"
    "Abraham's Boys"
    "The Black Phone"
    "Voluntary Committal" - a story to get lost in when reading, great creative writing
    "You Will Hear the Locust Sing"

    The rest:

    "Best New Horror"
    "In the Rundown"
    "Better Than Home"
    "The Cape"
    "Deadwood"
    "Last Breath"
    "The Widow's Breakfast"
    "Bobby Conroy Comes Back from the Dead"
    "My Father's Mask"
    "Scheherazade's Typewriter" (Bonus story)

    All in all a great collection of short stories, with topics varying from ghosts to killers to sibling rivalry to old flames re-united!

    Highly recommended!

    Enjoy~

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    Brilliant collection of short stories.

    Joe Hill is the son of horror master Stephen King. Knowing that, it's impossible not to compare the two, so... Hill's writing is as good as King's, if not (gasp) better. It's more concise and with less archaic slang.

    As for the merits of this collection itself, it's a brilliant collection of short stories. They aren't all horror stories, so if you're looking for a thrill ride, you may want to look elsewhere... but most of them do have a horror element.

    "Dead-Wood" is an amazing piece of flash fiction or prose poetry, and "The Cape" is one of the best uses of the short story form I've ever seen. That's all I can say about it.

    If you're a Stephen King fan, get it. If you're a literary horror fan, get it. If you're a fan of short fiction generally, get it.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    It runs in the blood

    More than enough has already been said about Joe Hill's genetics. What counts is the quality of his work, which is quite strong indeed. Though this collection is a bit uneven, the best pieces are so good they elevate the whole book to a very high plane. A must-read for fans of the genre, or anyone who loves imaginative short stories.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not your average short story collection

    Short stories are not my first love. I'm more attached to long, convoluted novels. But I picked up Joe Hill's "Horns" a while back and that set me on a mission to read all his material. That didn't take long. Turns out there is only one other novel, "Heart-shaped Box", and the short story collection, "Twentieth Century Ghosts". After the enjoyable hours with "Heart-shaped Box", I turned to the stories to see what was in store. Once I picked them up I was hooked.
    Hill's ability to develope his characters so fully in the short form is astonishing. Many novelists leave us wondering who the characters really are after hundreds of pages. The flip side is a device that got me good; just when you're empathizing with your character, just when you think you understand his motivations, he behaves in some shocking way that leaves you stunned!
    These stories demand that you participate emotionally and intellectually. They don't let you off the hook or allow you to be a passive observer. You will want to laugh and cry. Your heart will race, your mind will churn and you will stay up too late to read "just one more". No two stories are remotely alike. Each one stands alone and several of them wanted to be "my favorite". They are so very well crafted that you could imagine they were effortlessly written, just flowing from the author's mind fully formed. I'm sure the opposite is true; they are labors of love.
    The highest praise I can give is this: When I finished the last page of the afterward, I turned to the first story and reread them in order. Though the element of surprise was lost in the second reading, the turn of phrase and compact prose were even more apparent. Add this to your library and share it with everyone.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    loved it!

    This is a good read. Well worth your time. If you love the strange, goosebumps and horror you will enjoy these storys.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    My new favorite author in this genre.

    I read Heart Shaped Box, Horns, and NOS4A2 first. Wanting more, I decided to take a chance on the short stories. Don't miss out! I'm eager for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Joe Hill's book 20th Century Ghosts is a great compilation of his short stories into one book!

    In Joe Hill's book 20th Century Ghosts you will find 15 short stories that are so thrilling they will have you on the edge of your seat until the amazing conclusion. All of the stories are unique and scary and will have you captivated, then terrified, happy, then crying, and are all tinged with an underlying romanticism. I loved curling up on the couch with this book during a thunderstorm, even though late at night in bed I would be searching into the shadows for the fictional characters that Joe Hill painted vividly into my head. If you loved Joe Hill's novel Heart Shaped Box, or like to read in short bursts, this book is perfect for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Addictive

    I have a word to descrive this book, addictive, every history will grab your attention and time until you finish it and you'll be wanting more.Some of the stories are twisted and sordid but they do show 'the other side' that other stories refuse to look at... Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    What else can I say? Joe Hill is a great writer. After the fantastic 'Heart-Shaped Box', I was eager to get my hands on more of his writing. I searched, but as it turned out, nothing else had been published by him (at least not in book format). Whenever I saw that he was (as it turns out) REpublishing '20th', I got very excited. But I had no idea how excited I SHOULD have been. After cracking open the book and reading the first story, I was hooked. He has what few writers have- the ability to creep you out in a very subtle way. Most of his stories will start out normal, and then halfway through you begin to unintentionally hold your breath. By the end, you've sat up from your laying position and you've pulled the covers around you, eyes agape. HOWEVER, not all his stories are scary or creepy. A few are heartfelt, character studies which are a breath of fresh air (and it displays his talent even further). So what are you waiting for? Pick it up!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great hirror anthology

    This is an interesting horror short story collection with the supernatural and teen male angst playing major roles in all the tales. All were printed in various magazines over the past decade, but never brought together under one collection until now. None of Joe Hill¿s entries are weak, while some are excellent. All showcase how talented Mr. Hill is (see HEART SHAPED BOX). Readers will feel for John locked in a basement that's stained with blood (similar to the army physical during the draft days) of other murdered children calling him on a disconnected ¿Black Phone and empathize with Alec whose ¿paramour¿ Imogene is the title character a ¿20th Century ghost¿ haunting the Rosebud Theater. However, the best of the lot is 'Bobby Conroy Comes Back from the Dead' as he is an unsuccessful comedian who meets his married ex-high school girlfriend on a horror film set. 20th CENTURY GHOSTS is a terrific 21st century horror anthology.--------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Joel

    Next res..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Andrew

    I've made it this far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Kolt

    See ya!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Curyis to colt

    Wow ur smart if you can figure that one out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Izzy

    What page number is it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    To Grim/Jorey

    You are a pathetic piece of sh<_>it!!!!! How dare you cheat on your wife! You deserve to die! You better not come back to the coven. I will kill you if I see you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Anon

    Good short stories that are well written. Stephen King must be very proud of his son who authored this collection. ER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    ,

    Very good book. Liked most of the stories, especially the last one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Joe Hill has a........

    Joe Hill has a sick brilliant mind! I have loved every book and short story thus far. I catch myself making a disturbed face while reading and i love it! Excellent details and storylines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    T Love book

    This book is so cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3