BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

21

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Simply breathtaking

Adele's sophomore effort is absolutely amazing. She takes my breath away with every song. DO NOT MISS OUT on this album. Every song gives you something different, and she never leaves you wanting. 21 is centered around a past relationship, and she takes you through ...
Adele's sophomore effort is absolutely amazing. She takes my breath away with every song. DO NOT MISS OUT on this album. Every song gives you something different, and she never leaves you wanting. 21 is centered around a past relationship, and she takes you through every high and low, and gives you a sense of closure. MUCH LOVE to this album. I can only imagine that she will get better with every album. Cannot wait for the third one!

posted by Bry_Z on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

rick rubin has destroyed adele!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thank you rick rubin for destroying another great musician!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by TheTwilightSagaSucks4ever on March 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Simply breathtaking

    Adele's sophomore effort is absolutely amazing. She takes my breath away with every song. DO NOT MISS OUT on this album. Every song gives you something different, and she never leaves you wanting. 21 is centered around a past relationship, and she takes you through every high and low, and gives you a sense of closure. MUCH LOVE to this album. I can only imagine that she will get better with every album. Cannot wait for the third one!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Do not miss this one!

    The first time I heard Rolling in the Deep on the car radio I knew I had to hear it again, and again, and then, again. But from start to finish this album is unbelievable. She's good! I'm falling in love with One and Only. This is a talent that puts all the rest to shame. Such a powerful voice. This is blue-eyed soul at it's best.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Adele Shoots For The Moon And Hits It

    When Adele first arrived three years ago with her debut album, "19", she proved she was a very adept singer-songwriter as well as a very good guitarist and pianist. No one had any idea how great her range was going to be. With the death of Amy Winehouse this summer, the mantle of the great blue-eyed, soulful British songstress has passed over to Adele. Dressed in a bouffant looking like Dusty Springfield (with a mouth like Eminem), Adele has managed to record not only a more superior album but what could be the album of the year. "21" was supposedly inspired by one of Adele's failed relationships (she won't say who). So, this record is her way of saying, "I've been hurt and now, I want everyone to know it!" That becomes apparent from the moment you hear the soaring opening track, "Rolling In The Deep". Her influences are all over the place on this album; for instance, "Rumour Has It", sounds like the best duet Annie Lennox and Amy Winehouse never recorded. She can even take a countryfied, almost "American Idol"esque tune like "Don't You Remember" and make it sound heartbreakingly genuine. However, Adele's finest moments are the acoustic tunes, particularly "Someone Like You", a piano-solo number which closes the album on an emotionally high note. Throughout the album, though, Adele aims for the moon and hits it, repeatedly. While singers like Taylor Swift write about heartbreak as if they were writing Hallmark sympathy cards, Adele has mentioned that her singing idol is Sinead O'Connor, who made a career of confessional, confrontational music that was once promising. If Adele doesn't get too messed up, she just might succeed. Right now, she is definitely the real deal.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Amazing!

    Adele is so ridiculously talented. This album sends you on a brilliant tour of musical genres with classic Adele style. And that voice...simply amazing! You're not living until you check it out...your soul (and ears) will thank you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended- must get album!!

    Adele's mesmerizing raspy voice is the perfect blend of blues and soul. With compelling original songs like "Someone Like You" and "Rolling in the Deep" you can't help but connect with her on a emotional level. Can't wait to see if she comes out with a new album soon. I am absolutely in love with her voice...must get album for sure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Beautifully Written

    Adele puts her heart and soul into this album. I have not stop playing it yet. Amazing cd wonderfull song writer and singer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Absolutely outstanding!

    Beatiful lyrics sung by an amazing and pwerful voice, complimented by a piano in the background. I recommend this to ALL. It.s raw emotion, touching, relatable music.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Adele Melodies

    "21" by Adele is very heartfelt and original. I was convinced to check out the cd when I saw my husband viewing the online video of one of the military females doing an excellent cover of "Rolling in the Deep". I also enjoy this cd because Adele put so much of her heart and her feelings about her former love into many of her songs. My favorite musical gem in "21" is Adele's cover of "Lovesong". "Lovesong" is a great song about loving someone through many years regardless of what happens in life. "21" by Adele is best to get for anyone that enjoys pop songs about the dramatic side of love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Mind-blowingly good

    This album blew me away. Amazing stylistic range and what a voice!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Very strong and jazzy - check it out and you'll love it.

    Best album for 2011 but I've got it in my car and listen almostly daily. Love every song on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    LOVE her!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    21st Century Hybrid of Carole King and Bonnie Rait...

    Finally an artist that can appeal across the generational divide! This CD is for anyone that appreciates excellent arrangements, heartfelt lyrics and superior vocals on each track. The first time I heard 'Someone like You' was on the radio. Let me tell you I cried driving back home. I knew right then and there this CD was worth the money. Adele takes me back to my very young days of Carole King and my
    not-so-young days of Bonnie Rait. For me her true artistry is on full display with two songs that showcase her talent: 'Turning Tables'(my favorite), and 'Rumour Has It'. She is timeless and retro... and extraordinarily gifted!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unbelievibly Soulful

    I absolutely love this CD. Adele has topped herself. The accoustatics and ad lib vocals are perfect. I can't stop playing this CD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    LOVED it.!

    I absolutely love Adele's music, voice, and lyrics. She keeps her tracks simple, but her voice is so strong and carries so well that if she made just an acapella song it would be perfect, in my opinion. I would tell anyone to listen to her music!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    rick rubin has destroyed adele!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    thank you rick rubin for destroying another great musician!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Another great Adele cd.

    Another great Adele cd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    adele has an amazing voice and has great songs. skyfall is my fa

    adele has an amazing voice and has great songs. skyfall is my favorite, and is also a song we will be performing in marching band!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    she is very good!

    she is very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    I love this cd of Adele. She is a great singer and she is so be

    I love this cd of Adele. She is a great singer and she is so beautiful. can't wait to see what kind of albums she will make in the future. She's talented :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful vocal bluesy soul album with a number of excellent i

    A wonderful vocal bluesy soul album with a number of excellent individual songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5