Customer Reviews for

212 (Ellie Hatcher Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 514 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(208)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

212

This book was an excellant read. I enjoyed it very much. I had a hard time putting it down and read it in 2 days.

posted by idigforyou on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Stop ruining the story!

Just tells us if the book is good or bad. Don't tell us the story. Thats what we have the overview for!

posted by 5774388 on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    646

    Would a really good thriller based in New York telegraph the name of the killer 100 pages before his identity was actually revealed? 100 pages early I knew who the killer was. When we finally got to the resolution of the case, I was surprised at how ludicrous things were turning out to be. Alafair Burke seemed to want to throw everything in but the kitchen sink. The story, as it turned out, was so incredible that one wonders why the author didn't make an effort to be more realistic. The final pages are more of a National Enquirer index of stories than any real resolution of a crime thriller. 212 is for authentic New Yorkers, 646 for the wannabes! :)

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    pretty good

    Im glad it was a free friday book. I normally dont read mysteries but this was an interesting, easy, fast paced read. Will def be checking out the seires.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Ahhh...

    100 pages shy of finishing...not invested in story line, and not enough character development

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    A formula book

    Another "average" cop mystery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Enjoyed it!

    Read it in 3 days. Would have been 2, but i had to work! I thoroughly enjoyed it..a few twists and turns enough to keep you interested.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    slow

    I was bored and quit reading after about twenty pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Sandynook

    Needed a quick read and mystery while stuck in the third Outlander epic. A good choice from my freebies bookshelf.
    To weave the connections through the story and then fray it near the end was both a surprise and an unnecessary twist. Would read another of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Taki & Jazzu

    Ehh...very slow buildup. Not as much suspense because of that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    It's ok

    I liked this book, it has some twists, but it's not the best of the genre I've read. I got it on free friday so I'm happy enough. Not sure what didn't grab me or how it could be improved. If I found another of the series for free or at a yard sale, I'd probably buy it for 50 cents or so. It was a fairly quick read and so might make a good "beach" or "airport" book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    3.5 Stars

    I give this book 3.5 stars. I liked the main character, her brother, and her boss. The other characters were one-dimensional. The mystery kept me interested but I found the conclusion to be unrealistic. Maybe some character development was needed. It just seemed unbelievable to me that this person was the killer and the reason seemed far-fetched. I had not read the first 2 books in this series but I was completely able to follow the story. I probably won't buy the 4th book either, although if it were free, I would read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Recommend

    Thought it was pretty good and will probably read more of her books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    An OK book

    This was an OK book - pretty easy read, and entertaining with a few twists in the plot. I liked the main character, and may read more books in the series in the future.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Average

    The story skipped too much for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Kind of slow

    Found myself skimming alot. Good story but it dragged a bit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Would recommend

    This book was full of suspense, but the ending was a bit disappointing. Although all of the loose ends were tied up, it just felt like it ended too abruptly. Plis, some of the twists and turns were a bit predictable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I thought this book was an interesting mystery. Although, somew

    I thought this book was an interesting mystery. Although, somewhere along the middle of the book, when the two homicide cases were becoming locked together, I did get a little lost. But honestly, it was because there were too many women with aliases that I kept getting stuck on who is she? Which one died again? LOL. Otherwise, I enjoyed reading the acknowledgements and learning that both these two cases in the book were based on real life events that happened. Onto book 4. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    I enjoyed this book. Ellie Hatcher's character feels a little &q

    I enjoyed this book. Ellie Hatcher's character feels a little "done." Ball busting female detective... It feels like I've already met this character in another book. I would have like a little more imagination to flesh her out...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    So so

    Thiis could have been accomplished in 100 less pages. I found myself readingg the topic sentences after the first half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Pretty good but longer Pretty good

    Goes on too long and to many unnecessary characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Interesting

    Liked the story. Had difficulty at times trying to keep the characters straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6