Customer Reviews for

23 Minutes in Hell: One Man's Story about What He Saw, Heard, and Felt in That Place of Torment

Average Rating 3.5
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

This book changed my life.

Maybe I missed something, but after reading the other reviews, I feel I have to say something. This book changed my life. I had a very theologically distorted and intellectualized understanding of the Bible before I read this book, and it was this book that started me o...
Maybe I missed something, but after reading the other reviews, I feel I have to say something. This book changed my life. I had a very theologically distorted and intellectualized understanding of the Bible before I read this book, and it was this book that started me on my journey out of addiction and anger and disillusionment. Perhaps how the author reacted to his vision leaves some people skeptical or even dismissive, but it reminded me of how I reacted when I read the book. I was like a new Christian all over again, kind of fanatical and wanting to save everybody. I have since "come back down to earth" so to speak, and approach people with more maturity and compassion and not judgementally. So when you cut on this book, it cuts on me. It's not about the author or his reaction, it's about what he saw. When I was not even 1/3 of the way through this book, I stopped reading and started praying for God to renew my life and haven't stopped since. If you read this and are skeptical, I recommend reading "90 Minutes in Heaven" and "9 Days in Heaven". If you're already a student of the Bible, I recommend "Enoch: The Lost Book of the Bible". If you haven't heard of this book yet, you will.

posted by kevin-hurst on September 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

136 out of 169 people found this review helpful.

How did Mr. Wiese manage to get past the great gulf?

I want to begin saying with all due respect, and love from my heart I believe Mr. Wiese has experienced a case of sensationalism, much like other evangelicals who claim they entered into Hell for a certain amount of time, then were allowed to return back to life. I am...
I want to begin saying with all due respect, and love from my heart I believe Mr. Wiese has experienced a case of sensationalism, much like other evangelicals who claim they entered into Hell for a certain amount of time, then were allowed to return back to life. I am not at liberty to say that I believe Mr. Wiese believes what he wrote in his book. He may or he may not. It appears as though he does believe this. Nor can I say whether or not Mr. Wiese believes God's Word is divinely inspired by the Holy Spirit. I did hear him testify on television, and I do believe he is twisting the Scriptures in order to try and match his own false testimony. Why do I believe his testimony is false? Because Jesus preached about the rich man in Luke 16, making it very clear that no one is able to go to the Lost in Hell. Nor can anyone leave Hell and return to earth. Why? In verse 26 it says, 'And beside all this, between us and you there is a great gulf fixed: so that they which would pass from hence to you cannot neither can they pass to us that would come from thence.' Mr. Wiese, stop and think how did you manage to get past the great gulf? There's one exception, however. Jesus descended into Hell and preached to the prisoners (Ephesians 4:9-10 cf. 1 Peter 3:19-20). The Apostle John makes it clear in Revelation 20:11-15 that Death and Hell will be delivered up to be judged at the Great White Throne Judgment. This is a candid statement, but I must say it: The Apostle Paul warned the Corinthian believers that Satan has the power to transform himself into an angel of light, as well as having the ability to give his ministers the power to transform themselves into ministers of righteousness (2 Corinthians 11:13-15), and many will follow their pernicious ways (2 Peter 2:1-5). Also, Jesus preached that many will debate with Him when they are judged, prior to being cast into the Lake of Fire. They will insist that He remember how they prophesied in His name cast out demons in His name, and done many wonderful works in His name only to hear Him say, 'I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity' (Matthew 7:23 cf. verses 21-22, and verse 24). It grieves my heart that so many highly recommend Mr. Wiese's book since fiction is so prevalent and is accepted as Biblical truth. Apparently these people are not students of the Word (2 Timothy 2:15), and are included in the list of Scriptures written in Second Timothy 4:1-4. It's dangerous for a minister to twist the Scriptures to his own taste (2 Peter 3:16). I hope those who read this review will take into consideration how serious it is to accept false doctrine. As believers in Messiah, we need to have discernment. Those who are babes in the LORD are unskillful in the Word of Righteousness, but strong meat belongs to them that are of full age (i.e. mature)...having their senses exercised to discern both good and evil (Hebrews 5:13-14).

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    23 Minutes in Hell?

    I'm not really religious. I don't know a lot about Hell or the Bible. I haven't experienced the Bible much. But the book overall is a good book. The book is thrilling. As soon as you start reading the book it gets to the point: you get the "thrill" of Hell. It's very visual and you can really imagine yourself in the position that he is in. He talks about his adventure in spreading the word of his experience, as he goes on his journeys, he tells us that he touches many people. Many people converted into the Christian religion and changed their lives forever because of him (is this true?). It gets your attention very quickly. What was very confusing to me, were the examples from the Bible that he used. Like others it got my attention and made me want to learn more about Hell and the Bible.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    23 Minutes In Hell: Reader Review

    I couldn't put this book down. The author was so informative and sincere in his writing. I believe this book could be life-changing for many people. I recommend it to anyone who has questions about the here-after.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Answers About Hell, Captured in 169 Pages

    23 Minutes in Hell, written by Bill Wiese is a phenomenal book, which tells of one man's journey as he wakes up in Hell on the morning of November 23, 1998. Bill Wiese has truly written an extraordinary book that not only answers our questions here on Earth about Hell but expresses his every pain and feeling of hunger and thirst. He writes of the fear, the thoughts of eternal separation, the darkness, and the loneliness he felt, as he sat in the prison-like, isolated cell. Bill explains in his novel, the flames of the fiery pits, the horrified screams, and the torments he receives from the demons, as he visits Hell for 23 minutes. Bill Wiese includes notes, research, and scriptures after each chapter, to answer any questions of Hell you may have. He also includes not only one, but two appendixes which explain; the Pit of Hell, the location of Hell, the torments in Hell, and the different degrees of punishment in Hell, all backed up with scriptures from the Bible. After reading Bill Wiese's book, 23 Minutes in Hell, his testimony obligates me to make changes in my life, so that this book will be the closest I ever come to experiencing Hell for myself. Bill Wiese has proficiently mastered creating a novel that will have you on the edge of your seat as you turn each page.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    I don't know what to say about this book. I read some of the rev

    I don't know what to say about this book. I read some of the reviews and can see how some people would doubt the authors claims, but I also believe what one reviewer said about how God has the immense power to decide if He wants to show someone hell-He has no limitations to what He can or will do...however, even though I am a Bible student, I must still have a long way to go because I am not sure how I would rate the authors experience. However, I still recommends this book because I think it makes people think and perhaps research scripture to determine whether this could be true or not.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I feel this was a very compelling book about one's man's claim of his brief visit to hell, the aftermath, and the importance of accepting Christ. This was a very easy book to read and speeks deeply to those curious of the nature of Hell and how to avoid it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    The book that I decided to discuss is 23 Minutes In Hell written

    The book that I decided to discuss is 23 Minutes In Hell written by Bill Wiese. The book is about a night in which Weise will never forget. The book is about Weise’s trip to and rescue from Hell. The book then goes on to discuss how Wiese’s trip to hell is shared and how sharing of his trip has changed so many other people’s lives.
    One frightful night Weise went to bed, but this will become one night that he will never forget. While sleeping, Weise had all of a sudden fallen into a cell and ended up in Hell. While in Hell he was tormented by demons and was subject to extreme heat. He then escapes to a pit of fire where souls were being tormented and demons cover the walls. During the entire time in Hell, Weise can only think about his wife and how he will never be able to tell her about what has happened to him and to warn her about what he had seen. He has a feeling of hopelessness accompanied by sickness and weakness. is Weise is not able to fully express how awful, dark, and hopeless it is in Hell.
    When Weise sees no way out and no way to warn his family, he is whisked away by Jesus. When he is in Jesus’ presence “Peace had replaced terror, and safety took the place of danger. The feelings of worthlessness, shame, and humiliation disappeared”. ( Weise, 2006) He then has a discussion with Jesus, where Jesus tells him that his experience is so he knows that Hell exists and he can share his experience with others. Jesus has done this due to Jesus wants all souls to be spared from the pits of Hell. Jesus shares a tiny bit of his grief with Weise and Weise could not handle the small amount of grief. After talking with Jesus, Weise wakes back up in his living room where he fell asleep.
    Weise then shared his story with his family and then some years later he started to share his story with all those who would hear his message. He was never quite sure why he was selected for this information, since he has been a true believing Christian for many years, but Jesus had given him the duty to share this story and Wiese happily carried out that duty. His story had changed so many other lives and the book goes on to share some of these life altering events. Not everyone believes his story, some see it as a dream, some see it as a made up story, and some believe it word for word. In the book Weise does include scripture from the Bible to support his descriptions of Hell and to hopefully assist those that were not quite sure about his story and turn them into believers.
    Weise had a life changing event when he was sent to Hell for twenty three minutes. While he was in Hell he suffered beatings, agony, weakness, darkness, extreme heat, and hopelessness. For the entirety of his time in Hell he can think only of his wife, how he will never be able to tell her what happened to him or warn her about Hell. Weise is desperately trying to escape Hell, but the hopelessness is too much to handle, Weise sees no way out of Hell. Jesus rescues him from his torment, so that Weise can share his experiences about Hell. Weise eventually does so and changes many peoples’ lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Gr8

    Was a really good book. This is a book about a man who actually went to hell and came back. He is desribing wat it was like. Reeeeally interesting. Couldnt put it down so i finishd it in 1 day

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Great Book

    Very eye opening! Just as Heaven is a real place, so is Hell.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    iyyfdsxcvl hlq

    ,kj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Opens the mind

    Makes you think twice about your actions...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3