Customer Reviews for

23 Minutes in Hell: One Man's Story about What He Saw, Heard, and Felt in That Place of Torment

Average Rating 3.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

This book changed my life.

Maybe I missed something, but after reading the other reviews, I feel I have to say something. This book changed my life. I had a very theologically distorted and intellectualized understanding of the Bible before I read this book, and it was this book that started me o...
Maybe I missed something, but after reading the other reviews, I feel I have to say something. This book changed my life. I had a very theologically distorted and intellectualized understanding of the Bible before I read this book, and it was this book that started me on my journey out of addiction and anger and disillusionment. Perhaps how the author reacted to his vision leaves some people skeptical or even dismissive, but it reminded me of how I reacted when I read the book. I was like a new Christian all over again, kind of fanatical and wanting to save everybody. I have since "come back down to earth" so to speak, and approach people with more maturity and compassion and not judgementally. So when you cut on this book, it cuts on me. It's not about the author or his reaction, it's about what he saw. When I was not even 1/3 of the way through this book, I stopped reading and started praying for God to renew my life and haven't stopped since. If you read this and are skeptical, I recommend reading "90 Minutes in Heaven" and "9 Days in Heaven". If you're already a student of the Bible, I recommend "Enoch: The Lost Book of the Bible". If you haven't heard of this book yet, you will.

posted by kevin-hurst on September 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

147 out of 182 people found this review helpful.

How did Mr. Wiese manage to get past the great gulf?

I want to begin saying with all due respect, and love from my heart I believe Mr. Wiese has experienced a case of sensationalism, much like other evangelicals who claim they entered into Hell for a certain amount of time, then were allowed to return back to life. I am...
I want to begin saying with all due respect, and love from my heart I believe Mr. Wiese has experienced a case of sensationalism, much like other evangelicals who claim they entered into Hell for a certain amount of time, then were allowed to return back to life. I am not at liberty to say that I believe Mr. Wiese believes what he wrote in his book. He may or he may not. It appears as though he does believe this. Nor can I say whether or not Mr. Wiese believes God's Word is divinely inspired by the Holy Spirit. I did hear him testify on television, and I do believe he is twisting the Scriptures in order to try and match his own false testimony. Why do I believe his testimony is false? Because Jesus preached about the rich man in Luke 16, making it very clear that no one is able to go to the Lost in Hell. Nor can anyone leave Hell and return to earth. Why? In verse 26 it says, 'And beside all this, between us and you there is a great gulf fixed: so that they which would pass from hence to you cannot neither can they pass to us that would come from thence.' Mr. Wiese, stop and think how did you manage to get past the great gulf? There's one exception, however. Jesus descended into Hell and preached to the prisoners (Ephesians 4:9-10 cf. 1 Peter 3:19-20). The Apostle John makes it clear in Revelation 20:11-15 that Death and Hell will be delivered up to be judged at the Great White Throne Judgment. This is a candid statement, but I must say it: The Apostle Paul warned the Corinthian believers that Satan has the power to transform himself into an angel of light, as well as having the ability to give his ministers the power to transform themselves into ministers of righteousness (2 Corinthians 11:13-15), and many will follow their pernicious ways (2 Peter 2:1-5). Also, Jesus preached that many will debate with Him when they are judged, prior to being cast into the Lake of Fire. They will insist that He remember how they prophesied in His name cast out demons in His name, and done many wonderful works in His name only to hear Him say, 'I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity' (Matthew 7:23 cf. verses 21-22, and verse 24). It grieves my heart that so many highly recommend Mr. Wiese's book since fiction is so prevalent and is accepted as Biblical truth. Apparently these people are not students of the Word (2 Timothy 2:15), and are included in the list of Scriptures written in Second Timothy 4:1-4. It's dangerous for a minister to twist the Scriptures to his own taste (2 Peter 3:16). I hope those who read this review will take into consideration how serious it is to accept false doctrine. As believers in Messiah, we need to have discernment. Those who are babes in the LORD are unskillful in the Word of Righteousness, but strong meat belongs to them that are of full age (i.e. mature)...having their senses exercised to discern both good and evil (Hebrews 5:13-14).

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    This book changed my life.

    Maybe I missed something, but after reading the other reviews, I feel I have to say something. This book changed my life. I had a very theologically distorted and intellectualized understanding of the Bible before I read this book, and it was this book that started me on my journey out of addiction and anger and disillusionment. Perhaps how the author reacted to his vision leaves some people skeptical or even dismissive, but it reminded me of how I reacted when I read the book. I was like a new Christian all over again, kind of fanatical and wanting to save everybody. I have since "come back down to earth" so to speak, and approach people with more maturity and compassion and not judgementally. So when you cut on this book, it cuts on me. It's not about the author or his reaction, it's about what he saw. When I was not even 1/3 of the way through this book, I stopped reading and started praying for God to renew my life and haven't stopped since. If you read this and are skeptical, I recommend reading "90 Minutes in Heaven" and "9 Days in Heaven". If you're already a student of the Bible, I recommend "Enoch: The Lost Book of the Bible". If you haven't heard of this book yet, you will.

    55 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    Scary, but inspirational

    This book was amazing. A short read, but really sticks in your mind for a long time after. It does a great job not only telling the author's testimonial, but others who have had the same types of experiences. It also has a large number of Bible verses giving strength to this amazing, but terrifying vision.

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    EYE OPENER!!!

    This book will literally scare the hell out of you and that is exactly what we need; to have the hell scared out of you!<BR/>I read the book in less than a day and now I just ordered two CD's for a few family members who refuse to read this book. <BR/>This book is awesome and so very true. I am an author myself and this is well written and will make you think twice on where you will spend eternity

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    A MUST READ!

    This is a very hard subject for a lot of people. None of us want to believe we could actually go to hell. This impacted me very much.

    This story to me, is so scary, but I find it undeniably terribly truthful. I've done a lot of research on this and many times people explain the experiences in very similar ways. I have done my own research. I don't hold a PhD, but when I'm interested in something, my brain goes into computer-style memory mode! (I have also studied Heaven.)

    Hell was originally made for the devil & the fallen angels, not man. We weren't even supposed to die. We weren't created to experience such loss, that's why it physically hurts sometimes when our loved ones pass on. Ahhh...it always goes back to the Garden...Adam & Eve were not supposed to die. That's why after they disobeyed God, there were Angels guarding the Tree of Life, so they could not eat from it & live forever in a fallen world on earth. So when they were very old, God let their physical bodies die & their spirits went to Heaven.

    In one of the accounts in this book, the big ugly demon that was there to physically torture, was described by another person with hauntingly similar characteristics. I've heard the screaming recorded (by accident) by scientists who were drilling into the earth's core. It was so unimaginable. There are so many similar accounts by so many different people, it's unnerving. (sp?)

    God made the Universe, the Cosmos, etc. He can show any of us WHAT He wants WHEN He wants. Chasm or no Chasm. We tend to put limits on God because we have finite minds & He is infinite. I fully believe in scripture, but I feel it does no good to say Mr. Wiese's account couldn't have happened, that's putting God in a box. Also, He will never do anything contrary to His character... I don't mean to offend, so if I did, please forgive me.

    I wish this book wasn't true, but if you could hear this man speak, like I did, you would understand that he is not a person making this up, he's not at all about 'hype' and is not the type of person that is doing this for money.

    About the 'no one could ever be good enough to get to Heaven' as far as the author's comments go, I would like to comment on this part. In the future there will be a greater division between the people who are going to be drawn to the light and the peolpe that will be drawn to the darkness, so to speak. The pure will become purer and those who are not will become increasingly more evil. There will be an ever growing visible distinction. I believe that is the point the author is making there.

    We all have to walk out our salvation with fear and trembling, the Bible says...I don't like that, but it's true. Not that we're to fear God, but realize He is loving, AND Holy & Just. He will be our Judge someday. He cannot let people who love Him half-heartedly enter Heaven, or it will be filled with sin, just like on earth...it wouldn't be Heaven at all. We will have to be FULLY devoted to Him before we die.

    I'm running out of space, so...may God keep you in the palm of His hand. Please don't let the enemy of our souls deceive you. Read Matthew 25:31-46 & my favorites: Rev 3:20-22 & Psa 139:17-18. Shalom: may all go well with you, be blessed & be made whole in every way! Those who look forward to His appearing keep themselves pure, just as He is pure. He is coming soon!

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    You might just save a life!

    I read this book last summer, and finished it in 2 nights. This book is so powerful! Now, maybe I'm biased due to the fact that I am a Christian; however, most people, regardless of their spirituality, have questioned the idea of a 'God' at some point in their lives, and if you are one of those that believe there is Someone out there bigger than us, then this is a book you should DEFINITELY read!<BR/><BR/>I was a little skeptical when I first picked up this book... afterall, people don't just go to hell everyday. I figured that this guy was trying to fool people, but I was curious nevertheless. I can now honestly say that I believe Bill's story 100%, primarily because his main focus was not to become famous or wealthy, but to warn others about where they could end up. How lovely is that?<BR/><BR/>I cried when I read this book, because I thought about my unsaved friends and family members who will go to this place he talked about if they don't come to know God. I sent an email at some absurd hour to many of my friends and relatives saying that they had to read this book. It's one thing to say you believe in God, but if your actions aren't lining up with his commands, or if you 'hang the fence' so to speak regarding accepting Jesus, then that's not good enough.<BR/><BR/>I've shared this book with my high school students, some who are struggling readers. I read the first few pages then allowed them to check the book out if they wanted. Several of the girls shared the books with their parents.<BR/><BR/>You've come this far for a reason, so if you haven't read this book yet, I urge you to read it and really apply it to your life.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Amazing

    I've always kind of believed in hell and was losing sight or belief in it, but this book really opened up my eyes.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Saving the Lost

    My husband has been ministering to the local county jail and this book has brought many a lost souls to the Lord Jesus Christ. Get copies and leave them where ever you go!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Experience Hell!!

    This book jumped right out at me because I enjoy reading anything and everything that has to do with someone expericencing the after life and given the opportunity to come back and tell others about it. Bill does a fantastic job of painting the perfect picture of what he experiences while he was in hell. In my opinion, you don't have to be a very spiritual person to enjoy this book. In fact I challenge anyone to read the first 20 pages and try to stop there....you'll have to keep reading just as I did. You could look at this book as either fiction or non-fiction, whatever it takes to get you to open the cover! I believe this is a true story! I had goose bumps as he described his horrifying experience in hell! I highly reccomend getting your hands on a copy of this awsome book!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    The reader's interest is peaked on the first page, but be prepared for an intense trip into the depth of hell. To the majority of readers, it is frightening but definitely a message that has to be told so that no one will go there! There IS an easy alternative -- pray & be forgiven.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Why take the chance and be an Atheist? It can't hurt you to believe in the Lord. However it surely will hurt you if you don't!If I were an Atheist and read this book, at least I'd have the opportunity to reconsider the possibility of God, Heaven/Hell before crossing over to the other side only to find out that in fact there IS a God and OH NO, IT'S TOO LATE TO CHANGE MY MIND! Especially since once you've crossed over into that spiritual realm as a non-believer, your only option is HELL since you were not a believer in Life.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    Don't Go There

    I feel that the expierence that this gentleman had was truely amazing, and I know that by reading this book has not only changed my walk with the Lord, but it has also opened my eyes to what Hell really will be for the unfortunate lost souls that will go there, and thats why I think that we as Christians should do what we can to reach everyone that we can to keep them from this eternal torment. I want to say God Bless you Mr. Wiese, and I want to thank you for having the courage to write this book. I think that the ones that will read it and believe it, will impact thier lives greatly, and I just want to say thanks to you and God Bless.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Awesome Book Reaches to the Depths of the Soul

    I read this book and came away with a more profound thankfulness to Jesus for giving me a born-again life which is heaven-bound for all eternity. The horrors of hell are described in such detail and gruesomeness as to prayerfully change the disinterested thousands to searching with all their hearts into just who Jesus is and what is the life all about. Is there more? And where? I could not put the book down until it was finished.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Have you ever thought about Hell?

    Before I read this book I had my preconceived notions about Hell and what creatures occupied it. After reading 23 Minutes in Hell, I have come to realize that if I don't get the "Word" out to non believers they will go to Hell. And that is something I don't wish upon my worst enemy or family for that matter. I highly recommend it if you are looking for a personal experience of Hell and want to know how God and His Son feel about it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    A must read for everyone.

    Excellent book...he tells the truth without being preachy. This book simply shows that Jesus has the power save us all, all we must do is ask.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Warning to the people...

    23 Minutes in Hell, was simply amazing. It opened my eyes much wider than before. I couldnt put this book down, after reading this mans journey to hell and how graphic it is, it kept me on the edge the whole time. Many people have much question of hell, This book gives facts, some opinions, but were all titled to our own. I recommend all to read this book. Im only 15 years old and Ive matured beyond my years, so I fully understand everything in this book, hopefully you will aswell.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    A MUST READ

    One of the most powerful books I have read this year.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    Absolutly Must Read, This will waken up any Luke Warm Chistian.

    Every Christian must read this book! It will permanently altered your outlook on life. My prayer life moved away from 'Lord, bless me here and bless me there,' to 'Souls, Souls, Souls for Jesus' Jesus didn't come to save us from a stubbed toe and a missing car payment, He came to save us from unspeakable doom. And your love for Him will grow once you hear what He saved us from. I have talked with Dozens of people around the world who have heard Bill Wiese's MP3 testimony, and it sets them on fire for serving the Lord, sharing the Gospel, and gives them an awesome fear and respect of the Lord. My own best friend, who fell into an adultress afair and moved away, called me after he heard the testimony, weeping, thorougly humbled, and repenting of eveything sin he could remember. Bill's testimony is powerful and annointed, and thoroughly backed up by scripture. You just can't imagine what the unsaved have to go though, and you wouldn't want your worst enemy to go through it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    True testimony of hell

    There isn't one part of this book that is not Biblical. I honestly believe this man was shown hell for the purpose of testifying to others and saving them. The people who only gave this book one star, I doubt seriously they've read the book. If they have, they won't accept where they are headed and are in sheer denial. May God forgive them and fill them with His spiritual wisdom and understanding.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Awesome

    AMAZING! 90 Minutes in Heaven is a great read too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Great

    If u read this u also need to read 90 minutes in heaven both very eye opening I LOVED them

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5