BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

2312

Average Rating 3
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

SF for a literary audience

References to art, literature, music, science, & philosophy abound and stretched my existing knowledge. It was wonderful to have the Nook to look up unknown references easily. I enjoyed the descriptions of physical places, the characters, the development of an histori...
References to art, literature, music, science, & philosophy abound and stretched my existing knowledge. It was wonderful to have the Nook to look up unknown references easily. I enjoyed the descriptions of physical places, the characters, the development of an historical context for the plot. Overall, a deep read, one that lingers.

posted by 6811672 on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Scientific Pain

While the story is decent, as I am a sucker for people's future visions, the vocabulary is beyond my comprehension. It seems to be a futuristic story written by a scientist for scientists. I am not an idiot, but the author quotes so many physics rules and what not tha...
While the story is decent, as I am a sucker for people's future visions, the vocabulary is beyond my comprehension. It seems to be a futuristic story written by a scientist for scientists. I am not an idiot, but the author quotes so many physics rules and what not that I feel it has lessened my enjoyment of the book. He does have some interesting ideas of what the future might hold, but it's still not an easy read. I normally go through a 400+ page book in about a week reading on lunch hours or breaks. However, I'm in week 3 or 4 on this one due to it being such a hard read. I re-read parts to at least get the gist of things.

While an interesting book, unless you have a monster scientific vocabulary and understanding of the principles of physics, I'd pass on it.

posted by Griffin369 on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Scientific Pain

    While the story is decent, as I am a sucker for people's future visions, the vocabulary is beyond my comprehension. It seems to be a futuristic story written by a scientist for scientists. I am not an idiot, but the author quotes so many physics rules and what not that I feel it has lessened my enjoyment of the book. He does have some interesting ideas of what the future might hold, but it's still not an easy read. I normally go through a 400+ page book in about a week reading on lunch hours or breaks. However, I'm in week 3 or 4 on this one due to it being such a hard read. I re-read parts to at least get the gist of things.

    While an interesting book, unless you have a monster scientific vocabulary and understanding of the principles of physics, I'd pass on it.

    42 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    SF for a literary audience

    References to art, literature, music, science, & philosophy abound and stretched my existing knowledge. It was wonderful to have the Nook to look up unknown references easily. I enjoyed the descriptions of physical places, the characters, the development of an historical context for the plot. Overall, a deep read, one that lingers.

    35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    From a Sci-Fi Fan, not impressed

    I've been reading sci-fi since Dune and before, and while I wanted this book to be good as it seems to be moving the genre forward towards what is more likely in today's privatized space program, I couldn't really get into it. The sci-fi elements are actually quite good, opening up the field to speculate exactly what terraforming other planets "might" be like, but the characters are 2 dimensional and the storyline goes nowhere fast.

    If you love sci-fi for it's elements of future speculation, you'll like this book. But if you want a good story with vividly drawn characters and a strong plot, this isn't it.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Disappointing

    When I read the book overview, I thought the book would be good, but it was a disappointment. The book was extremely slow paced and repetitive. I didn't like the characters either. None of them seemed very interesting. The story line is also broken up by chapters that consist of lists, or disjointed thoughts.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    This was one of the poorest written fantasy books I ever had the

    This was one of the poorest written fantasy books I ever had the misfortune to purchase. I waited half the book for something to happen--still waiting. Characters are shallow, plot is non-existent. Spend your money on a different author.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    I like science fiction so this book looks really good, but the cost should go down.

    14 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    As I've come to expect from this author, a well-written, thought

    As I've come to expect from this author, a well-written, thought-provoking novel of a more or less optimistic and even realistic human future. It helped that I've read (more than once) his Mars trilogy; this book is clearly set slighting in the future of that universe. Regarding the lists and excerts that trouble so many readers, I found them to add an enormous amount of background material to the story without interupting the tale with a lot of lengthy exposition. I can see where lazy reader might be troubled by this material. If you're considering this book, don't be troubled with this stuff. You could merely browse it or skip it entirely, and enjoy the story. I recommend wading through it. Just read the lists, etc. and move on. It folds into the story quite naturally as you read on.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    A worthy successor to the Mars Trilogy, written in the same dist

    A worthy successor to the Mars Trilogy, written in the same distanced, wondering, guardedly hopeful voice. Some patience helps; some of the experimental-looking prose turns out to have more of a point than I first thought.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Extremely disappointed.

    The story moves very slowly and the characters are just dull. I forced myself to read it day after day hoping the story would develop. It never did. I was very disappointed. The book is a waste of money, sadly.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Don't waste your money on this book!

    I found this book to be disjointed, laborious reading with many seemingly side stories that didn't appear to support the main thesis of the story. That, besides the author's use of words (some appear to have been made up which is, of course, allowed) that needed the Internet to determine what they were. Characters came in and out of the story with seemingly no relationship to one another. And in the end when things should have been tied up they just fizzled out. All in all it took several months to read this thing because boredom set in quickly. BOTTOM LINE: Don't waste your money on this one.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I think it was a really tremendously original and interesting bo

    I think it was a really tremendously original and interesting
    book---very poetic. The chapters with the "lists" of the
    character's thoughts were relevant to the story---they were just
    approached differently than the traditional way of showing what someone
    is thinking. At first I got nervous, but I found it to be done well.
    In this book, one just has to let oneself flow with the story, enjoy the
    descriptions, and not worry if every word is understandable or not.
    It's the mood that is important. The story unfolds in its own time.
    Obviously, this style is not for everyone but this guy can write. Also,
    I don't think it is an accident that the characters seem slightly odd,
    and maybe difficult to relate to, since it is about the future. (!!)
    These people are relating to their own (fictional) present, which is so
    totally different than our culture and sensitivities etc.. In our own
    real future, people might be less recognizable than these characters are.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Reads like an unfortunate collaboration of joyce and rand

    I am a lover of great science fiction, and the sci fi components of this book are amazing--especially the passages which contain instructions on terra-forming asteroids...as simple as and reminiscent of baking a cake, almost. The world building is fairly outstanding, too...which is what kept me going for about two hundred pages. But it was not enough to keep going for the full four hundred something pages. At that point, I skipped to the end and thought, "Huh. So that's what all this was about."

    This book is almost Joyceian in its allusions to arcane literary and philosophical works, and that's, unfortunately, what makes it ultimately unreadable for even the most devoted fan of the genre. Is it a masterwork? Probably, in the same way that Ulysses is a masterwork---able to be discussed endlessly, but ultimately unable to be understood and enjoyed by anyone other than its author. In scope, 2312 is almost Randian, but just like Rand, this author presents two dimensional characters that are incidental to the greater philosophical or maybe even political grand theme being pushed by the author. Not being a Rand fan, this just doesn't work for me. And if you like stories about PEOPLE, it won't work for you either.

    I RARELY ever recommend against a book, but in this case, I must. If you want something epic, you are much better off re-reading the iconoclastic Stranger in a Strange Land than this impenetrable work.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Don't bother with this book

    I had to force myself to finish, and I've read some pretty slow books in the past. The main character is unlikeable and uninteresting, and doesn't improve as the book goes on. The main mystery storyline is handled very poorly, and after a long build-up with lots of explanation, closed out seemingly arbitrarily.
    Spend your time elsewhere.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    a dog and a waste of money

    overly complex language. Dull, Slow and hard to get into.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Not what I expected.

    I have not finished this book but so far I've found it boring. The characters really aren't. That interesting or likeable and frankly I think the book started out wrong. All of a sudden your just there. No background no explanation,no history or character introduction. But the science seems okay.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Too expensive for an ebook shame looks interesting. Gonna pass.

    How is it possible that an ebook is more costly than a paperback? Pure greed...

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting side notes & an immediate plotline established m

    Interesting side notes & an immediate plotline established makes for a fun read, first 50 pages flew by.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Disappointing

    I read the reviews here and was skeptical, but then checked a few other review sites and this kept showing up on people's best of 2012 lists, so I went for it. Seems more like an outline than a finished book at times. Bounces all over the place. Main character is utterly unlikable and unbelievably juvenile (especially considering she is supposed to be 150 or so years old , IIRC).
    There were some interesting ideas, but nothing ever seems to come together or tell a coherent story. Also, as previously mentioned, the chapters of lists and "extracts" serve no purpose and are annoying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Starts good but fails

    I wasreally looking forward to a good sci-fi read withthis book, and it started off well, but as the story progressed it quickly lost my interest. The characters are two dimensional, and the author started to sound really preachy, similar to Ayn Rand. I really like her vision of the future, but it was interruptrd with poor story telling. Also the chapters were broken up with random lists and thoughts that I believe were supposed to envelop me into her universe, but instead just bored and distracted

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Kids

    Im a kid but this book looks very intereting you just need to use your imagenation

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6