Customer Reviews for

25 Favorite Novels (Anne of Green Gables/Avonlea, Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion, Emma, Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre, Tess of the D'Urbervilles, Little Women, My Antonia, O Pioneers!, Scarlet Letter/Pimpernel, Wives & Daughters, +)

Average Rating 4
( 1045 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(574)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(111)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Well worth it

I am LOVING the fact that this has so many WONDERFUL books in it. It also has one of my favorite stories and movis included... and many hours were devoted to the reading of Wives and Daughters. I was unaware that the last chapter or two were not included due to the de...
I am LOVING the fact that this has so many WONDERFUL books in it. It also has one of my favorite stories and movis included... and many hours were devoted to the reading of Wives and Daughters. I was unaware that the last chapter or two were not included due to the death of the Author, Elizabeth Gaskell but I am glad for what we have of it none the less. The charachters are amazing, and while you don't see the fullfillment of the story and the happy ending we desire sometimes life is like that is it not? These collections of stories are amazing, well worth more than the dollar you will spend on it, and worth curling up with any day of the week.

posted by 8035030 on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Classics to remind us

Outstanding value. Easy to navigate -- once you get the hang of it....a bit frustrating at first (easy to get lost, "forced" to return to beginning, etc). Remember: these are old...some of the language is archaic and difficult for modern readers to understand/follow....
Outstanding value. Easy to navigate -- once you get the hang of it....a bit frustrating at first (easy to get lost, "forced" to return to beginning, etc). Remember: these are old...some of the language is archaic and difficult for modern readers to understand/follow. The "look-up" feature is a must!

posted by 11021473 on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1052 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Loaded effortlessly in less than 25 seconds

    My brand new tiny square nook just paid for itself with so many of my favorite classics now always to hand & already on my ipad 2 in the blink of an eye on just wi fi, wow!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Best bargain!

    The best 99 cents I've spent since shopping for books for my Nook!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Format!

    If you are looking at this you probably have heard of these books before, so I am not reviewing the stories, but the E book is well formatted, and I have not seen any errors yet. I had recently purchased other .99 e books and been really disappointed in how many errors and how hard many of the formats were to read and how sloppy they were, this one is excellent I recommend all three from this series, and will probably be getting the children s favorites as well!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    I found it difficult to get to a title page, with the different

    I found it difficult to get to a title page, with the different books readily available. Hard to appreciate if it comes up randomly without a way to choose from the menu.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great stories, but...

    I appreciate that there seem to be little to none typos as are seen in some bargain e-books. Great selection of books. My only complaint is that you can't keep your place in more than one book at a time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    This is a great value!

    If anyone is interested in reading some of the old favorites, this is the collection for them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Love it!

    I am so happy that I got 25 books for just a dollar! I am so excited! Can't wait to start reading! :D

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    Hmm

    I'm only in middleschool so I havn't heard of some of these so could someone please tell me if some are romances or if they are all like little women because I like that book.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Love It!!!!!!!!!

    This book was perfect for me and i would think for a lot of people, that is if you like long reads. I am a very fast reader and it was a very long book. So i was able to read it in more than a few hours like almost all other books. I am 12 years old and almost all of the books where appropiate for my age and up. I would not recoomend it to younger kids though because there is big words intending to vocabulary. I think everyone should read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Very Highly Recommended

    This is a must buy it has all the great novels by some of the greatest authors, such as Louisa May Alcott, Jane Austen, its perfect for everyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Wonderful stories

    This book had many well written stories great fo lovers o classical literature.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Love...

    All of these books!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Great Except

    It is a good bargain except, all these exact same books came preloaded with my Nook Color when I purchased it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Better than the movies!

    I have had the pleasure of seeing, and loving, the movie version of most of these stories. Now I have had the pleasure of reading these stories. As usual the books are much better then the movie version.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    No+Download+Drama+Here%21

    This+downloaded+in+less+than+30+seconds+on+my+home+wi-fi+connection.++That+said%2C+in+the+notes+at+the+description+in+the+beginning%2C+it+does+tell+you+to+take+your+nook+to+your+local+B%26N+store+for+customer+service%3B+and+my+experiences+at+my+local+store+have+always+been+wonderful%21

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    so enjoyable!

    my young daughter is getting to know some of the great characters and places i loved as a young girl...love it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Great buy!!

    Great buy!! downloaded in about 10 seconds... no problems!! Great classics for $1!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    Perfect!

    Had no problems downloading and a linked table of contents that lets you click to your favorite book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    I can't stop reading!

    I love all of these books. To the person who asked for hints on downloading, try downloading in a different place. I tried downloading at work <hangs head in shame>, but it didn't work, probably because it wasn't getting a good connection through the thick cement walls. I don't get cell phone signal there, either. I was able to download at home, maybe because I was on wireless. Try again and good luck!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Little Women a great book.

    Love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1052 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53