BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

25 Favorite Novels (Anne of Green Gables/Avonlea, Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion, Emma, Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre, Tess of the D'Urbervilles, Little Women, My Antonia, O Pioneers!, Scarlet Letter/Pimpernel, Wives & Daughters, +)

Average Rating 4
( 1045 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(574)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(111)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Well worth it

I am LOVING the fact that this has so many WONDERFUL books in it. It also has one of my favorite stories and movis included... and many hours were devoted to the reading of Wives and Daughters. I was unaware that the last chapter or two were not included due to the de...
I am LOVING the fact that this has so many WONDERFUL books in it. It also has one of my favorite stories and movis included... and many hours were devoted to the reading of Wives and Daughters. I was unaware that the last chapter or two were not included due to the death of the Author, Elizabeth Gaskell but I am glad for what we have of it none the less. The charachters are amazing, and while you don't see the fullfillment of the story and the happy ending we desire sometimes life is like that is it not? These collections of stories are amazing, well worth more than the dollar you will spend on it, and worth curling up with any day of the week.

posted by 8035030 on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Classics to remind us

Outstanding value. Easy to navigate -- once you get the hang of it....a bit frustrating at first (easy to get lost, "forced" to return to beginning, etc). Remember: these are old...some of the language is archaic and difficult for modern readers to understand/follow....
Outstanding value. Easy to navigate -- once you get the hang of it....a bit frustrating at first (easy to get lost, "forced" to return to beginning, etc). Remember: these are old...some of the language is archaic and difficult for modern readers to understand/follow. The "look-up" feature is a must!

posted by 11021473 on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Very disappointed

    I was excited to see what I perceived as such a bargain but this was so unreadable that I ended up deleting it. Even one story could not be deciphered. Someone needs to reformat this or stop advertising it.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Not very happy.

    I keep having trouble with this. It will not open in the nook app for iPad and when I was trying to check what was going on, it ordered it again! Now I have to pay twice for something that isn't even working :( I hope to have this resolved so that I can enjoy this book soon

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Hhhgf

    Horrible

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Wondering

    How long does it take to read? I know that the sample is over 800 pages, so I'm scared that I won't have enough time in my life to read all of these stories. What percent of the book is the sample?

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Not compatible with Blackberry version of Nook :-(

    Not compatible with Blackberry version of Nook :-(

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    download

    my copy won't download and i am upset!!! it looks really good to

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Look 4 real

    Some of these comments r gross. Check out comment #60 trust me its gross

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Vrakmopppw

    CRAP

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Thanks for the book!!

    I

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Yea stop your going to get introuble this is to rate not to play or chat

    Stp

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    lame

    Lame

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Hello?

    Anyone on?

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Help

    Can someone help me please. When I try to read the book the screen just goes all black. Thanks :)

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Names

    Found em on the front pge...duh

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    ANYBODYYYYY

    can somebody please tell me why this is called FAVORITE novels???????????????? I cant see how these can be anyones fave!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Terrible

    I bought this book 4 months ago and its still downloading!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Finally found one I cannot take

    Jane Austin will never hook me. I tried. This 25 favorites is priced right and may yet have something worth the time to read.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Most of them were free just days ago!

    HOW COME THEY ARE NOT FREE ANYMORE?

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Won't download

    Has anyone else had this problem? It will let me lend it, but will not download. I can't give it a star rating if I cannot open it!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    it wont download

    i was so excited but this is not downloading. arghhhh. anybody have any helpful hints?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6