Customer Reviews for

250,000+ Recipes and Grocery List - BigOven

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Love it

Wow was not expecting to have sooooo many recipes! Especially for a free app. Definitely glad I found it and cant wait to try some of these new recipes!

posted by 13519495 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

149 out of 170 people found this review helpful.

Watch for hidden costs

Lots of recipes but if you want the nutritional info or grocery list you have to upgrade and pay a yearly fee. Misleading screenshots.

posted by 10327812 on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Watch for hidden costs

    Lots of recipes but if you want the nutritional info or grocery list you have to upgrade and pay a yearly fee. Misleading screenshots.

    149 out of 170 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    this app needs the internet to search

    This app has some interesting features. I most like the Random feature. Unfortunately, you will need internet access to search. This is not revealed in the details. If you don't have wi-fi in the grocery store, you can't search. It's okay as a free app, but it would be much better to have the option of purchasing a version that didn't require the internet.

    111 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Irs not free

    You have to pay a fee to be able to look at recipies so its not free! Dont waste your money!

    91 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Love it

    Wow was not expecting to have sooooo many recipes! Especially for a free app. Definitely glad I found it and cant wait to try some of these new recipes!

    77 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    STEER CLEAR OF THIS APP! Requires an annual $20 FEE for all functions!!!

    The company who brought us this app says "YOU WILL PAY US TO USE THIS APP!" And it's NOT A BAD APP IF IT WERENT FOR THE GREEDY, MONEY GRUBBING COMPANY THAT PUTS IT OUT!!!!! It's like this: you can peruse the cookbook and even LOOK AT the recipes... but if you want a grocery list or to rate a recipe, YOU ARE REQUIRED TO JOIN THEIR LITTLE CLUB!!!! $20/ YR OR $2/MONTH WILL BE EXTORTED FROM YOU FOR THE PRIVILEDGE OF USING THIS APP!!! WITHOUT THEIR GRAFT MONEY, YOU CAN ONLY LOOK AT THE PAGES!!!

    BARNES AND NOBLE! its time for you to CLOSE UP SHOP on EXTORTIONISTS LIKE THESE!!! This is NOT the spirit that appmakers should take!

    74 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Great app!

    I just got it and it is worth getting. If you enjoy cooking & are looking for something new, this app is perfect. It is easy to use. I have tried other recipe apps and so far, this is the best. I think whoever gets it, will enjoy it as much as I do.

    63 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Disappointed

    Enjoy looking at recipes on my Nook, wish I could save recipes on Nook for later but makes me go to stupid website? Online feature is a mess and I feel scammed by Google Play. NOT internet friendly! I want it on my Nook, NOT the internet

    57 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Do Not Upgrade!

    Dont upgrade. Huge waste of money because it doesnt work on a nook color. Super frustrating and customer support isnt helpful. DO NOT UPGRADE!

    42 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great recipes

    I immediately started finding recipes I definitely want to try. I can't figure out how to save the recipes I like to my favorites though.

    42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Best Free Recipe App!!

    I've tried 2 recipes from this app so far, and my family has been very pleased with the results. Very easy to use. The only minor complaint I have is when your saving the recipe. When you bring up the menu to add to favorites, it's a little hard to see the selection choices because the background color and font color are too dark and hard to see. Otherwise, this is a great app!! Thank you!

    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Love this!

    I fell in love with this the minute i found that i could put three leftover items into a search and BAM i got instant recipies.
    It's great and fre, but i would've paid for this app, easily.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Cant believe this is free

    This is the best recipe app, ive come across. Nice color pictures so u know what ur striving for. U do need to upgrade for full features, but u try it free for 30 days. I love it!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    UNABLE TO CREATE REQUIRED ACCOUNT FOR ONLINE FEATURES!

    Guess this would be an Ok app ... but I was looking for something to create shopping lists. This won't save them without login, but hangs when trying to register. May use it for recipes, but not useful for reason I got it. Misleading ...

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Great app

    Love this app! Have used several of the recipes with delicious results. Wish there was a way to "store" favorite recipes in a "create your own" file. Do not like the need to create an account for nutritional info, shopping lists, etc.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Alot of recipes

    For a free app i wasnt expecting so many recipes. So many to choose from. I gave it three stars cuz there isnt a way to save your favorites for later viewing

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    App is okay but.....

    There is no way to save a recipe! So you have to keep loking looking for it every time. Very frustrating!!!!!!!! Do not upgrade! It doesn't give you any extra features by upgrading. There is a lot of good recipes tho. If you could save recipes I would give it 5 stars.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Couldnt log in

    I was excited to use this app but it wouldnt even let me create an account /:

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    MUST HAVE INTERNET CONNECTION TO VIEW RECIPES!!!

    The overview states "view recipes easily anywhere". That is so not true. If you do not have internet connection you can not view the recipes.
    I love that there are many enticing recipes to chose from, which for me is a great thing but having the ability to be able to view them off line (like while i am at the supermarket) would be a major plus for me.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    One Word

    Fantastic

    This is a great free app

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Caution

    Scanning recipes i noticed missing ingredients, confusing directions, obvlous incorrect amounts i.e. cabbage soup: 24 lbs of tomatoes, cabbage not listed at all. Suggests use of canned/frozen veg. ..prefer fresh vegs for homecooking.

    I will definitely be leery of using an unfamiliar recipe.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7