Customer Reviews for

250,000+ Recipes and Grocery List - BigOven

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Love it

Wow was not expecting to have sooooo many recipes! Especially for a free app. Definitely glad I found it and cant wait to try some of these new recipes!

posted by 13519495 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

142 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

Watch for hidden costs

Lots of recipes but if you want the nutritional info or grocery list you have to upgrade and pay a yearly fee. Misleading screenshots.

posted by 10327812 on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Caution

    Scanning recipes i noticed missing ingredients, confusing directions, obvlous incorrect amounts i.e. cabbage soup: 24 lbs of tomatoes, cabbage not listed at all. Suggests use of canned/frozen veg. ..prefer fresh vegs for homecooking.

    I will definitely be leery of using an unfamiliar recipe.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    More useful for families than singles

    Useful to a point, but there are better ways of finding the same info

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Sweetashoney6555

    I love this app I use it all the time, cannot find one flaw. If they were to charge for it I would happily pay for it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Love all the great recipes. Great pictures with each recipe! Wa

    Love all the great recipes.
    Great pictures with each recipe! Want to try them all!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    GREAT ENJOYED VERY MUCH SUCH A VARIETY

    ALL WILL ENJOY !

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Suggestions

    Too slow, too laggy, thumbnails too big.

    This app needs some big changes:

    1) When browsing recipies, it needs to fetch more than 4 or 5 recipie thumbnails at a time. Maybe smaller ones too.

    2) When browsing recipies it needs to be able to display more than the first 10 characters of the recipie name.

    3) When browsing recipies it needs to be able to switch off the thumbnails so we can see a screen full of names.

    Not having these features is going to insure I rarely use this app, and is NOT an incentive for me to buy the pro version. It is in fact a GUARENTEE I won't.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Love it

    Love this app love it love it. Plus it,s free. Anyone stuck on what to cook for any meal anytime get this app. Theres easy recipes and more challanging theres something for everyone those who enjoy cooking those who dont and those who are just bored with the same old same old.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Great

    This is a good app. If u like to cook and u dont have many recipes get this.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Wow!

    I'm in foodie heaven! I've only had this app a few days and already have a long list of recipes that I'm looking forward to trying. Can't believe this is a freebie!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Awesome

    Get this app great to keep kids or even adults healthy

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Not thrilled

    Most features of this 'app' direct you to their website and require paid fees. This is not an app, it's just an advertising engine.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great app.

    Best cookbook ever. Highly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Anonymous

    So many great recipies!!!Now when ever I need a recipie,
    I go here! So happy its free

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Not all features are free

    Sure, you can look at the recieps but don't expect much more for this app. Even if you sign up for an account you only get 2-weeks free and then you must pay!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Vm

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Not really free - Misleading

    Although there are indeed a lot of user submitted recipes, this app was misleading. You have to pay to be able to use key features such as the grocery list. Developers need to classify these types of s apps as "light" so we at least now it won't be fully functional. And ti be premium isn't cheap, $3 something a month. I'd rather pay a buck or two for sn app than some monthly subscription service.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    THIS IS A GREAT APP

    LOTS OF RECIPES , IDEAS WITH THE FOOD ON HAND WHAT YOU CAN MAKE, YOU CAN JOIN THEIR CLUB FOR FREE. I'D HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    You need to try this one

    I would recommend highly. You supply a title of a recipe and receive a variety of recipes. Also you can request popular recipes to get new ideas. Also if you have ingredients or need a type of recipe as main dish, it will provide it. Very nice recipe site.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Love this App!

    I have it on my IPHONE as well, but having it on my nook is even better because the print is larger and I use it as I am cooking in the kitchen. Many great recipes. Check it out!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Ok i guess

    This app is pretty cool.... this app is taking a long time to load i gues nobody else is having this problem but when it finished i really liked it but could not add the favarites and it took me FOREVER to find wat i wanted again. I was realy trying to find it fast but it took to long but other than that it was ok

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7