Customer Reviews for

250,000+ Recipes and Grocery List - BigOven

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Love it

Wow was not expecting to have sooooo many recipes! Especially for a free app. Definitely glad I found it and cant wait to try some of these new recipes!

posted by 13519495 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

140 out of 160 people found this review helpful.

Watch for hidden costs

Lots of recipes but if you want the nutritional info or grocery list you have to upgrade and pay a yearly fee. Misleading screenshots.

posted by 10327812 on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    STEER CLEAR OF THIS APP! Requires an annual $20 FEE for all functions!!!

    The company who brought us this app says "YOU WILL PAY US TO USE THIS APP!" And it's NOT A BAD APP IF IT WERENT FOR THE GREEDY, MONEY GRUBBING COMPANY THAT PUTS IT OUT!!!!! It's like this: you can peruse the cookbook and even LOOK AT the recipes... but if you want a grocery list or to rate a recipe, YOU ARE REQUIRED TO JOIN THEIR LITTLE CLUB!!!! $20/ YR OR $2/MONTH WILL BE EXTORTED FROM YOU FOR THE PRIVILEDGE OF USING THIS APP!!! WITHOUT THEIR GRAFT MONEY, YOU CAN ONLY LOOK AT THE PAGES!!!

    BARNES AND NOBLE! its time for you to CLOSE UP SHOP on EXTORTIONISTS LIKE THESE!!! This is NOT the spirit that appmakers should take!

    65 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Do Not Upgrade!

    Dont upgrade. Huge waste of money because it doesnt work on a nook color. Super frustrating and customer support isnt helpful. DO NOT UPGRADE!

    37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    App is okay but.....

    There is no way to save a recipe! So you have to keep loking looking for it every time. Very frustrating!!!!!!!! Do not upgrade! It doesn't give you any extra features by upgrading. There is a lot of good recipes tho. If you could save recipes I would give it 5 stars.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Couldnt log in

    I was excited to use this app but it wouldnt even let me create an account /:

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Not fabulous.

    Perhaps it's a great app, but it's not as user friendly as I would like and to get the functionality that I am looking for, it's not free. Not the best.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Caution

    Scanning recipes i noticed missing ingredients, confusing directions, obvlous incorrect amounts i.e. cabbage soup: 24 lbs of tomatoes, cabbage not listed at all. Suggests use of canned/frozen veg. ..prefer fresh vegs for homecooking.

    I will definitely be leery of using an unfamiliar recipe.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    More useful for families than singles

    Useful to a point, but there are better ways of finding the same info

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Not thrilled

    Most features of this 'app' direct you to their website and require paid fees. This is not an app, it's just an advertising engine.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Not all features are free

    Sure, you can look at the recieps but don't expect much more for this app. Even if you sign up for an account you only get 2-weeks free and then you must pay!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Wont let me register,......

    I'm trying to get registered but it keeps telling me I must enter aan email address even though I did....several times! Any way I can contact someone to get the problem fixed? If not I'll be removing this app .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Bad

    First of all it is just so slow i am deleting it right now!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Prroblem communicating with BigOven

    And thus... the app doesn't work. Don't waste your time with it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    B

    It won't install

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Nothing I needed

    Did not use it, nothing I needed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Can't open the app

    I tried to email a recipe to myself but its now just an email app. Cant view a single recipe. It takes me to my email account and i cant even uninstall/reinstall to clear out the email option. What a waste of an app.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Stupid

    This app is so lam hate it boring do not get

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1