BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

26 Fairmount Avenue

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2001

    My students loved it!

    A wonderful introduction to autobiography. Easy to read, fun read-aloud as well. A good way to get to know more about Tomie dePaola. My 3rd-5th grade library classes used it as an author study and also as a Newbery Honor example.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    Finally a chapter book little boys can relate to!

    Tomie manages to make his stories very relational and yet still appealing to young boys. It captures so much of what my son goes through and it speaks, very believably, from the 5/6/7 year old perspective. It talks about changes and family and things not being what you expected. He really validates a lot of the fears and anxieties that kids go through when things change. In a word it's real and that's what makes it really great writing. I love reading it with my son!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Do you remember the first time your family ever moved? If you're

    Do you remember the first time your family ever moved? If you're anything like me, I can remember the first time my family brought a brand new house and moved into it. It was so exciting and new, seeing it being built from the ground up, seeing the frame turn into walls, and the cement and wooden floors becoming our new home. This is exactly what Tomie de Paola does in this autobiography. He recounts the events that surrounded his family's move to the address of 26 Fairmount Avenue in Meriden, Connecticut, when he was five years old. He remembers a hurricane that hit the east coast, seeing “Snow White” when it first came out in the movies, going to school for the first time and so much more. This is a wonderful autobiography and is full of laughter and fun. It also contains the author’s trademark illustrations, which add so much character to the story. It is suitable for readers of all ages, even though it is geared toward children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2014

    Very good story - children can relate to Tomie. A good book to

    Very good story - children can relate to Tomie. A good book to introduce your child to chapter books that have interesting & meaningful stories. Snuggle up together and read the book to your child. After a few times your child will want to begin reading the chapter books him/herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Dungun

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Newbery Winner 26 Fairmont Avenue

    Have you and your family ever moved? Do you remember what it was like? That is what this wonderful book, which is suited for children from seven to ten-years-old. The author, Tomie de Paola writes about the year before he and his family moved from their apartment and into their new home on Fairmont Avenue. The book starts with de Paola describing the Hurricane of 1938. He recounts many of the events of his life in that year and even talks about problems arising in the construction of the home saying, ¿My mom kept crying. My dad kept using more and more bad words.¿ If your family has ever built a house you can really relate to the story. I really liked the book, and would definitely encourage anyone to read it. It is truly a great autobiography of de Paola. Tomie de Paola, the author, was born in 1934 in the town of Meridian, Connecticut. He is of Irish and Italian heritage. From an early age it was always is ambition to create picture books. He wrote books for his family as a child for birthdays and such. He is also a great artist and designer. Tomie de Paola is also known to put out two to four books a year, an astonishing feat. de Paola, Tomie. 26 Fairmont Avenue. New York: G.P. Putnam¿s Sons, 1999.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    TOMMIE DEPAOLA'S LIFE

    This is a really good book. You'll want to read this book. But if you want to find out what happens, you'll have to read the book. See how everything turns out in the sto

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    A Good Book

    I think that 26 Fairmount Avenue is a good book! If you like to read about authors or love Tomie dePaola then you would enjoy this book!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1