BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Meg: Origins (Meg Series Prequel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great!

Great insight into the beginning and definetly worth a buck. Fans will love it and new readers will want more! The great thing is now we have MEG so they can start! Great job Steve as usual!

posted by Anonymous on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Good Prequel for Fans of the Series

Like many fans of the MEG series, I have been interested in the background of the failed mission that started it all. I was excited when it came out, although admittedly did not have high hopes as the novels have become more ridiculous with each one. One of the first th...
Like many fans of the MEG series, I have been interested in the background of the failed mission that started it all. I was excited when it came out, although admittedly did not have high hopes as the novels have become more ridiculous with each one. One of the first things you will notice is that the novel is not very long, only 74 pages. However, a good chunk of that is taken up by a preview of the first MEG novel. The story itself is not very meaty. You will meet many characters that show up in the novels- Heller, Maren, Bud, etc. Many of them have small parts that are not well fleshed out. The story moves along at a fast pace which holds the reader's attention, but lacks many of the details that fans of his previous novels will expect. If you have not read or are not planning to read the other novels, you probably will not enjoy this book as much as it assumes some level of background knowledge on the characters. Overall it is a fun read and fans will enjoy learning the background story.

posted by 3620689 on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    A Good Prequel for Fans of the Series

    Like many fans of the MEG series, I have been interested in the background of the failed mission that started it all. I was excited when it came out, although admittedly did not have high hopes as the novels have become more ridiculous with each one. One of the first things you will notice is that the novel is not very long, only 74 pages. However, a good chunk of that is taken up by a preview of the first MEG novel. The story itself is not very meaty. You will meet many characters that show up in the novels- Heller, Maren, Bud, etc. Many of them have small parts that are not well fleshed out. The story moves along at a fast pace which holds the reader's attention, but lacks many of the details that fans of his previous novels will expect. If you have not read or are not planning to read the other novels, you probably will not enjoy this book as much as it assumes some level of background knowledge on the characters. Overall it is a fun read and fans will enjoy learning the background story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great!

    Great insight into the beginning and definetly worth a buck. Fans will love it and new readers will want more! The great thing is now we have MEG so they can start! Great job Steve as usual!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Must Read if you are a Meg fan.

    Excellently written, just as the rest of his novels. Gives great insight into Jonas Taylor's mind. I wish it could have been longer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    A must have for any Meg series Fan. To be able to read the series from the beginning and how it all started is just awesome. Highly recommend. If you have never read the series start here. How can you not at .99 cents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great novella and a great eBook!

    Steve provides a great prequel to his oitstanding book, "Meg". If you are not famliar with any of the "Meg" books, this novella is so well crafted that itis also a standalone story. On the eBook itself, it is masterfully formatted to look amazing on a Nook Color with its wonderfully detailed illustrations. Absolutely worth the 99 cents! If you like this novella, purchase the full length novel, "Meg". You won't be disappointed! From: (Jerry, the USAF guy that Steve recently had a great aviation joke for)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for Steve Alten fans!

    Meg: Origins
    By: Steve Alten

    Meg: Origins is another awesome book by Steve Alten. If you haven't read any of the Meg books by Steve Alten, start with this one. Meg: Origins gives you the background of Jonas Taylor 7 years before the first book, Meg: A Novel of Deep Terror. I would recommend reading the books in order so you don't miss anything, but just picking up a book and starting anywhere will work, too. Steve Alten does a superb job of weaving a story about Megalodons and Jonas Taylor's association with them. By reading this book, you understand Jonas's fears of the Megalodon, and get to witness his first run-in with one. This book also explains the relationship Jonas has with Mac and how that came about. The research that goes into these books will astound you. The details depicted help you to see what is going on as it happens, and helps you feel connected to the characters. Images are placed at the beginning of each chapter. These will take your breath away. You will want to spend time examining the photos.

    How deep is the Marianna Trench and what strange life forms could it conceal? Jonas Taylor finds out. Steve Alten's depiction of the submersible going down into the Marianna Trench, and the life forms encountered along the way, make this book a must read. You can see the fish glowing, the Meg's blue-gray eyes, and the volcanic plume that keeps the water warmer in the Trench.

    The Megalodon is an ancient sea monster that attacks the submersible Jonas has driven to collect manganese nodules in the Trench-which is the lowest point on Earth at 7 miles deep, 1550 miles long, and 40 miles wide formed by a volcanic subduction zone. The depictions of what the descent is like, what animals are seen, and how the submersible operates are realistic and described in intricate detail. You can see exactly what Jonas sees as he descends-even the Meg as she comes for his submersible! Jonas is falling asleep, since this is his fourth dive in 8 days. The Meg attacking the ship worked better than the caffeine pills Jonas was taking to stay awake. You feel his fear and awe of the shark. You want to get away from the Meg as quickly as Jonas does. When the submersible ascends, two people die and Jonas is marked as a man who lost it when the pressure got to be too much. Mac becomes his new best friend and helps him escape from the Naval Medical Center. This helps explain their close relationship in the later books. Meg: Origins also opens the door for another Meg book. Wonder what happens to Gustav Maren's son Michael? Gustav is pocketing manganese nodules to sell to Benedict Singer for a huge fee to pay for his child's future education. Does Michael go to an Ivy League school and show up later to impact future Megs? We'll have to wait and see. I highly recommend this Meg book to anyone who loves Steve Alten's books, loves reading about sharks, or just wants a great book to read. You will not want to stop reading until the last page is turned!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    DUDE! THIS IS WHERE IT ALL BEGAN

    Loved the series so good i could not stop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    I read the prequel with the intention of then reading the full s

    I read the prequel with the intention of then reading the full series. I have to say that I thought the prequel was a bit lacking. Too many characters without character development. Scenes kept shifting back and forth without much explanation which made it somewhat confusing. I think the prequel would actually make more sense if you had already read the full series which is kind of ridiculous if you think about it. A prequel is supposed to spark your interest to read the next book. If based on the prequel alone, I would not read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Mindless Reading

    Steve Alten isn't the best writer, in fact the books have a tendency to be formulated, repeat unnecessary information, and can be a bit tedious in spots. However, if you are just looking for a fun read, something to break up reading more informative and well-written books, you could do worse than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Meghan

    Any cte single guys looking for a gf?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Meg

    Omg i know!:) ive missed u girl! Hiw ya been?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great of course

    Meg books never disappoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Awsome book...

    Ccccoooooooooolllllll

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    A must read for fans of Steve Alten's Meg series!

    Love it as I love all of Steve Alten's work. My only complaint is it was too short! Really looking forward to the next book release in the Meg series that is supposed to coincide with the Meg movie (if it ever comes out).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Lisa

    Great prequel. Can't wait to see the Meg movie if/when it comes out. Love the series. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    OMG

    I am so thrilled to see origins is now on nook makes me so happy also GREAT series loved when i saw the cover cant wait fo the movie comin out this summer with night stalkers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Another hit Steve!

    I have read all the Meg series and was so thrilled to read the prequel. Gave more insite to Jonas and his sheer terror of Megs. I hope the series continues. I also heatd a movie is being talked about. READ ENTIRE SERIES? U WON'T BE SORRY!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Great way to remember the series. Short but good.

    If you like Meg. Read this makes it all make sense. Cant wait for Night Stalkers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Just a little bit of information to kick off the NEXT "MEG" n whet your craving for Steve Alten!

    The only thing I wish for in this installment is that I would like the book Longer..but Steve never dissapoints, and this one is no exception to that rule. He is a top notch thriller, action, suspense, and just plain out of your seat author that deserves alot of praise for his books. One of my most favorites!! GO STEVE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    A good start to the MEG series.

    As a MEG fan this story was worth the wait. The events in this book are hinted at in the other MEG books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3