Customer Reviews for

The 3-Hour Diet: Lose up to 10 Pounds in Just 2 Weeks by Eating Every 3 Hours!

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    Great book for ANYBODY

    From beginner to advanced we can all learn something from this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    You can get results, too!

    I followed Jorge Cruise's 'The 3 Hour Diet' and was amazed by the results. I lost 35 pounds in just over three months. Have you ever tried to stick to a diet and avoid your cravings for items you couldn¿t have? I sure couldn¿t avoid them and set myself up for failure again and again. I would always get cravings for things I couldn¿t have and would want them more and more until I had it. And of course, I would totally overindulge. By following 'The 3 Hour Diet' I could eat absolutely anything. I just had to be mindful of how much I could have and when to have it. I could have the birthday cake at the office. Yes, I would only have a few bites and have it as my afternoon snack but that is all that I needed. By losing two to three pounds a week, I was motivated to continue on and not have more than I needed. This is truly a diet that doesn't feel like a diet! 'The 3 Hour Diet' showed me the proper proportions to eat, how to select the right balance of proteins and carbs, and the way to incorporate this into my lifestyle- whether I am home, at work or on the road. I am so proud of my accomplishments and the fact that I have formed good eating habits that I know will last a lifetime!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    A sensible and realistic program to healthy eating and weight loss!

    I have been on the 3 Hour Diet for over 2 months now and just love it. I had tried every diet imagineable over the years including the shots and most free (Atkins, FatBusters, Overeaters Anonymous) or paid programs (Jenny Craig, Weight Watchers, etc) I am so glad to find a program that encourages healthy eating and no special foods. In fact, I can still eat my favorite foods in moderation instead of having to give them up. Jorge's program is easy to follow and makes it easy to lose weight while still conducting a normal lifestyle. By eating every 3 hours and using visual cues for portion control and balance of foods, I can be successful in my weight loss and still eat the same foods as my family. I have lost half of the weight I wanted to lose and never felt better. If you have tried other diets that work until you go back eating normal foods, you especially need to try this diet program. This plan works and encourages a lifetime of healthy eating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    The 3 Hour Diet

    This book is amazing. It has changed the way I eat food. Eating every 3 hours really is the way to go. I lost 18 pounds without feeling at all deprived. I have been on Adkins numerous times and have lost weight only to gain it back plus some! My girlfriend lost her gall bladder from being on the Adkins diet. I have kept this weight off and have been losing more. Only the first week was hard because my stomach was so enlarged from eating large meals. After the first week when my stomach shrank, it became my new life eating. I would highly reccommend this book...it will change your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    The perfect lifestyle plan

    Jorege hits the nail on the head with his new plan. I have lost 22 lbs in 12 weeks using his techniques and visualization. This is just smart and healthy eating !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    25 pounds lost and still going....

    I started the year at 185, 4 months later I'm 160! Following the diet is easy and with exercise, you will see great results. This is the only diet that's worked for me. I have been trying to lose weight since I gave birth to my son, 5 years ago! Finally, it's coming off! I still have another 20 pounds to lose, but I'm very determined at this point to keep going! Try it. Easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Catchy title- good book.

    I like evaluating diet books now and then, especially ones with catchy titles like this one. While the title sounds like all you have to do is just diet for a few hours, the real meaning is that you eat every three hours while you're awake. The bottom line? Eating frequently IS a really good strategy to lose weight, IF you're eating the right foods, which the book does go into in sufficient detail. While I think the main priniciple of this book is sound, and its all laid out step-by-step in a user friendly manner, the bottom line, as with any diet plan, is that you must cut your calories to lose body weight and you must continues to do so over the long run (for readers who have difficulty making lasting dietary changes, suggest checking out 'The Sixty-Second Motivator'). If a person can find a diet they like, and stick with it, their weight loss problems will likely end- and Jorge's book has a pretty appealing plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    Frequent Eatings All Day

    I've lost 15lbs since I started Jorge Cruise's diet plan. I used the'3 hour Diet Plan'and '8 Minutes to a Flat Belly'for the first 4 weeks then I added the 'Backsmart Fitness plan' helping me add tone and shape further while following Jorge recommendations has helped beyond my wildest dreams. I've tried every fad diet out there and this is the only one that I have stuck with and enjoyed. It is simple and easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    Catchy.

    I like evaluating diet books now and then, especially ones with catchy titles like this one. While the title sounds like all you have to do is just diet for a few hours, the real meaning is that you eat every three hours while you're awake. The bottom line is that eating frequently is a good strategy to lose weight, IF you're eating the right foods, which the book goes into in sufficient detail. While I think the main prinicple of this book is good, and its all laid out step-by-step, the bottom line, as with any diet plan, is that you must cut your calories to lose body weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    3 Hour diet vs Dr. Phil's Weight Loss Solution

    Hoping for something else to encourage/motivate me. Not!! After going through this book he hits on some issues but doesn't come close to what I feel is the best book on the subject = Dr. Phil's Weight Loss Solution and 7 Keys to Weight Loss Freedom. The 3 hour diet misses some very important & valuable points that are in Dr. Phil's book. I sent the 3 hour book back the next day. Why? Because Dr Phil gives us 'choices' he helps us to understand and figure out the WHY's of it all complete with self audits, tests and the 7 keys are so very important. I know others who have what I refer to as 'the book' but they don't like it meaning they don't like reading the truth or being admittedly in 'denial'. I have had 'the book' as I call it, since it came out, having not only read it but underlined, hi lited passages, words and yes I finally understand why I haven't been able to get rid of the last 40 pounds but they are coming off and I'm no spring chicken. The 3 hour one is good (provided you don't have Dr Phils book) is why I gave it 3 stars. Hooray for Dr Phil.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I've lost 38lbs since I started Jorge Cruise's diet plan. I started with '8 Minutes in the Morning', then '8 Minutes to a Flat Belly' and now the '3-hour Diet Plan'. I've tried every diet fad out there and this is the only diet I've got to say that I've stuck with and enjoyed doing. It is simple and easier than I ever thought possible. I've got more energy now than I've had in the past 10-11 yrs. and I'm so proud of myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    This works!!

    I participated in this plan to lose weight and can tell you from first hand experience that it WORKS! No gimmick, no fad, no deprivation. This is not a diet but a change in life-style. Jorge shows you how to eat healthy, eat the right things, in the right quantity at the proper time. And you will lose weight. You won't feel like you are missing something at every meal and when your clothes start fitting better, and then looser , you will see that Jorge's method is the right one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    KISS aka Keep it simple smarty:)

    With our very busy lives we don't always remember the basics. Jorge reminds us of GOOD NUTRITION not starvation. I started with Jorge's book ' 8 minutes in the morning'. I have since lost almost 100 pounds following this program. The three hour diet is amazingly simple but I believe we need to be reminded that we must eat to lose. I tried all the diets known and yes I lost some weight and then gained it back. (Sound familiar) Now that I practice eating healthy every three hours I am not afraid of gaining my weight back. Of course if you do not eat healthy then of course the weight comes back. Jorge makes it so easy to understand that it becomes a way of life. I still do the 8 minutes in the morning so I can maintain my lean muscle( which enables you to burn more calories all day). So if you think this plan sounds too easy then what are you waiting for. You've been waiting for easy. This is it. But more important this plan works.. Good Luck and Good Health

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    AWESOME!

    This is the best book ever. I highly recommend it. Anyone who has tried all those gimmicks and fads to lose weight will find this book a breath of fresh air. Dont give up, give Jorge Cruise and chance. You wont be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    3 hour diet

    I started this prorgam last year around this time and had excellent coaching. I was very successful right away. I actually lost 15 pounds in two months and went from 155 pounds to 140. I felt at that point i had met my goal and no longer continued the program. I realized a month later that was the wrong thing to do. This eating program is life style change. You should continue eating the way the book tells you indefinatley and not only will you keep off the weight you feel great! I have decided to start the eating program again this week and will not stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    Another way to make $$$ on the word 'diet'

    Have read all the 1450 calorie diets before. If you cut calories, you lose weight. How beneficial is that, or sustainable? Also, does timing really work? Is there such a thing as a starvation mechanism? Some people may have, some may not. How doable is this? Eating EVERY 3 hours? How convenient is that when you're working, and in a meeting or whatnot? I just can't see how this works. Yes, lots of testimonials from the author's 'clients' (3 million online??) but NO HARD medical evidence that timing meals actually works to fix the metabolism and lose weight. And NO EXERCISE? I don't think so. One HAS to exercise to tone and build muscle along with cutting back on calories to achieve true, long term weight loss. Feel that the author's 8 minutes in the morning series works better, but not by much, than this one. From what I read here, unless one is just starting at the very beginning of the weight loss journey, this one is NOT FOR YOU.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    The 3- hour diet helped me lose over 100 pounds

    If you are interested in losing weight and resetting your metabolism, you should read The 3-Hour Diet. The book is great! It is written in an easy-to-understand format with great pictures and testimonials. I should know - I have lost over 100 pounds and kept it off using Jorge Cruise's 3-Hour Diet. You will not feel deprived or overwhelmed. You will learn to change your habits by being aware of when you eat, how much you eat, and what you eat. Get the Book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    Is it the timing or the restrictive calorie intake?

    The suggested caloried intake for anyone under 200 pounds is 1450 calories per day. Most overweight Americans consume many more calories than this in a day. I suspect that even if one didn't stick to the strict 3-hour eating schedule, one would lose weight. For example, this caloric intake would allow a 30 year-old, sedentary female to maintain a weight of approximately 110 pounds. Mr. Cruise has some visual guidelines to help you to estimate calories rather than strictly counting, but I suspect that close adherence to the 1450 calorie plan is the only way you will see the 'guaranteed' 2-lbs. per week weight loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2