Customer Reviews for

3 Willows: The Sisterhood Grows

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

The Sisterhood may be grown up, but their legend lives on.

Meet Polly, Jo, and Ama, three girls who are now entering the very same high school the legendary Sisterhood attended. The three have been friends since third grade, but now with high school approachin...
The Sisterhood may be grown up, but their legend lives on.

Meet Polly, Jo, and Ama, three girls who are now entering the very same high school the legendary Sisterhood attended. The three have been friends since third grade, but now with high school approaching, they find themselves being drawn in separate ways and spending the summer apart.

Ama is all about academics, extra credit, and schoolwork. She's signed up to spend the summer at a camp that will give her school credit. She's hoping to be in the library all day, but instead finds herself signed up for the outdoor wilderness hike. Ama is not an outdoorsy girl and can't imagine herself spending the summer hiking and sleeping in a tent.

Jo is spending the summer at her family beach house and working as a bus girl at a local restaurant. She's hoping to make friends with the older girls from the "in" crowd so she can start high school in the right group. But a fling with a mysterious boy threatens to change all of Jo's plans.

Polly is stuck at home babysitting until she gets the idea that she could be a model. She throws herself into the world of modeling camp and starts to lose herself - and only her friends can help bring her back.

One of Ann Brashares strengths is that she puts so much into her characters that readers can always find someone like them. The experiences the girls have never seem over the top or unrealistic, and their friendship will resonate with readers making the transition from middle school to high school.

Although reminiscent of THE SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS series, Polly, Ama, and Jo each bring something new to the story - and their stories are original. Fans will enjoy the appearances made by characters from the previous series, as well.

3 WILLOWS is a great pick for readers looking for a wonderful, charming book about the challenges of friendship and growing up.

posted by TeensReadToo on December 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Feelings

I do not think that this book was as good as the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, however, it was a fun read. It is about 3 friends who grow up in the same town. As they grow up, they change as people, which causes their friendship to also change. I think that it's a ...
I do not think that this book was as good as the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, however, it was a fun read. It is about 3 friends who grow up in the same town. As they grow up, they change as people, which causes their friendship to also change. I think that it's a great story about true friends, and I enjoyed the reference to the original sisterhood. I thought that the book was a litte slow starting out, but it got better and I found myself not wanting to put it down.

posted by mjbond on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    The Sisterhood may be grown up, but their legend lives on. <BR/><BR/>Meet Polly, Jo, and Ama, three girls who are now entering the very same high school the legendary Sisterhood attended. The three have been friends since third grade, but now with high school approaching, they find themselves being drawn in separate ways and spending the summer apart. <BR/><BR/>Ama is all about academics, extra credit, and schoolwork. She's signed up to spend the summer at a camp that will give her school credit. She's hoping to be in the library all day, but instead finds herself signed up for the outdoor wilderness hike. Ama is not an outdoorsy girl and can't imagine herself spending the summer hiking and sleeping in a tent. <BR/><BR/>Jo is spending the summer at her family beach house and working as a bus girl at a local restaurant. She's hoping to make friends with the older girls from the "in" crowd so she can start high school in the right group. But a fling with a mysterious boy threatens to change all of Jo's plans. <BR/><BR/>Polly is stuck at home babysitting until she gets the idea that she could be a model. She throws herself into the world of modeling camp and starts to lose herself - and only her friends can help bring her back. <BR/><BR/>One of Ann Brashares strengths is that she puts so much into her characters that readers can always find someone like them. The experiences the girls have never seem over the top or unrealistic, and their friendship will resonate with readers making the transition from middle school to high school. <BR/><BR/>Although reminiscent of THE SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS series, Polly, Ama, and Jo each bring something new to the story - and their stories are original. Fans will enjoy the appearances made by characters from the previous series, as well. <BR/><BR/>3 WILLOWS is a great pick for readers looking for a wonderful, charming book about the challenges of friendship and growing up.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    ehh

    looks good i might buy it

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    3 Willows by Ann Brashres is a book that tells us about the lives of three girls; Polly, Jo, and Ama. They used to be best friends but as time went on they grew apart. The summer before high school will change this all. Polly wants to be a model. She is changing her self for the bad, even though she thinks it's for the good. Jo is spending her summer at the beach working as a bus girl. She begins to fit in and then an incident ruins it all. Ama is at her summer scholarship program, trying to find out how to survive the stupid camp. She finds out who she is along the way. The girls also find that they will be friends no matter what happens. I enjoyed how Brashres made the Sisterhood a legend in this book. It is kind of like it will never die. 3 Willows is a book that most teenage girls would probably read. Brashres will not disappoint any readers with this new book. Those who loved the Sisterhood will love this. I thought this book was very good. I hope she writes a follow up but she shouldn't make it exactly like the Sisterhood. The characters in this book are nothing like the ones in the Sisterhood. Read this book! You will love it. You will not want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    3 Willows Review

    The Three Willows by Ann Brashares is a very interesting book. It's written in three different perspectives, each for the three main characters, like Ann Brashares's other books were, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. The characters were very original and their stories made me not want to put the book down. I like how all the characters changed in some way and you got to see everything they thought while the story was going on. I also like how you got to read a little about the characters in The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. It was really neat finding out what all the characters thought about the Sisters. This book was a good book and really interesting and original and even a bit funny. It's well paced so the reader won't get bored. I give it probably a nine out of ten and if there is a sequel, I can't wait to read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Yet another good book

    As an adult reader of this series, I fully enjoyed this book. The references to the Sisterhood were nicely placed, without being on the shirttails of the original series. I can't wait for my daughter to be old enough to read this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    3 Willows by Ann Brashares

    Polly, Ama, and Jo were best friends. But since they started drifting apart they have gone off to new adventures and this summer they realized how much they should have stayed close. The summer that all three of them finally fall apart, that's when they need each other the most. They learned that three trees can stay connected even after years and years and that your true friends will never forget who you are.
    Polly watched everyone move on while she stayed home during the summer. Nothing sounds better to her than changing her life, so she makes some external changes to herself. Even though she was not ready for what she was facing, she took it on gladly, not realizing that she did not need to change her look to be different from everyone. Polly decided that because everyone else around her was going on she should too. When the story alters from character to character, reading Polly's story makes you think about all the things girls think will make them look better or feel better.
    Ama is all brains, and for this summer she was accepted into the Student Leader Foundation and was hoping for an academic place to be. But guess where she lands? She is going on a wilderness trip in a state far across the country. Even though it's a special honor to be in the program, Ama would rather be anywhere else. Ama's story is finding out what your limits are, and trying all the things you have never wanted to do. You read her story and hope against hope that she embraces her courage and stands up for what she believes in and even when she's surrounded by people so different than her way of life she stands strong.
    Lastly is Jo. She was the only one who didn't have such a hard time moving on when she drifted away. And come the summer when she went to her parent's beach house and started working as a bus girl you would not have expected so much drama. She meets a cute boy who takes an interest in her and just as everything is perfect some very big changes break through her life. Her story is about finding who your real friends are through serious actions and being glad you can always make up for your mistakes.
    So all in all, the book is about finding yourself and finding your friends through good and bad times. As Hans Christian Anderson said, "Just living is not enough. One must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    Friendships ,like trees, are stronger then we know

    3 best friends Ama, Jo, and Polly are exited to be going to high school at the end of the summer, but little do they know that this summer will change them forever.<BR/><BR/>Ama feels most comfortable in a library doing homework. So naturally she is ecstatic that she will be spending the summer at a camp that counts toward school credit. But instead of books and classrooms she finds herself in the great outdoors. Ama is not an outdoorsy girl. She has no idea how to set up a tent much less scale a cliff!<BR/><BR/>Jo is staying at her families beach house for the summer. She is trying to become friends with the older, more popular girls so that highschool will start off right. But when Jo takes a chance on an older boy everything might be ruined.<BR/><BR/>Polly stays at home missing her friends and babysitting. Nothing seems to be happening until she dicides she wants to be a model and packs her bags for modeling camp. Polly ,determind to make this work, gets sucked in way over her head.<BR/><BR/>This story proves that the sisterhood still lives on and that no matter how far away you go you will eventually come back to your roots.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Good

    It is a good bopk, maybe not as good as the sistorhood, but pretty good. I still love this book, but the sisterhood became apart of me, where as, the girls in willows dont seem as real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    New story

    When I heard about this new book, Brashares had written. I got really excited. I have read all of her past books and enjoyed them. I knew this was a new story and new sisterhood.
    Three new friends, Polly, Jo and Ama, figure out if their friendshihp is worth it, as they are on their new journey to highschool.

    Jo, is worried that she won't fit in with her new friends she has at her new job in a restaurant, so she's trying to pull away from her old friends. While her parents are in progress of a possible divorce. After the death of her brother. During this summer she'll try to find out what she wants in life.

    After being send to an enrichment program during the summer, Ama, considers being imperfect. When she doesn't get things she wants, she finds herself upset and frustrated. She also has trouble with her new roommate, who Ama thinks likes her crush.

    Polly tries to find out who she is, and what she wants to be. While on the other hand, her mother is having problems with alcohol. She finds herself lost, but helps her mom get through her problems.

    This book is well-written. I enjoyed reading this, and recommend this book to anyone, who is lost in finding true friendship. You will learn that true friends are hard to find and will stand by you no matter what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    3 Willows

    For those who liked Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, this was a fun easy read that takes one back to their childhood and childhood friendships. Brashares does a great job chroniciling these teen girls's journey into high school. I would recommend this to many of my mom friends who have teen age girls and to the teen girls. This would be a great movie. For a lazy afternoon or reading at the beach. I liked the willow references since I like nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    REALLY GREAT!

    I loved this book. It was cool how they look up to the sisterhood. It is a great book to share with friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    It was a great book, and mad you realize the bonds that friends can have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Antother great story about friendship

    this story is in the same ciry as sisterhood was so you will see some familar faces in this book as u did sisterhood they were a lot younger then the girls in sisterhood they all just got out of eighth grade in sisterhood i believe there first summer was when they were sophomores <BR/>my favoirte character was polly i thought i could relate to her most because she was kind of a loner and i was a loner when i was in fifth grade and it felt horrible also my two best friends in fourth grade we drifted apart like they did but unlike the book i don't think we will be close like them

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2