Customer Reviews for

3 Willows: The Sisterhood Grows

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

The Sisterhood may be grown up, but their legend lives on.

Meet Polly, Jo, and Ama, three girls who are now entering the very same high school the legendary Sisterhood attended. The three have been friends since third grade, but now with high school approachin...
The Sisterhood may be grown up, but their legend lives on.

Meet Polly, Jo, and Ama, three girls who are now entering the very same high school the legendary Sisterhood attended. The three have been friends since third grade, but now with high school approaching, they find themselves being drawn in separate ways and spending the summer apart.

Ama is all about academics, extra credit, and schoolwork. She's signed up to spend the summer at a camp that will give her school credit. She's hoping to be in the library all day, but instead finds herself signed up for the outdoor wilderness hike. Ama is not an outdoorsy girl and can't imagine herself spending the summer hiking and sleeping in a tent.

Jo is spending the summer at her family beach house and working as a bus girl at a local restaurant. She's hoping to make friends with the older girls from the "in" crowd so she can start high school in the right group. But a fling with a mysterious boy threatens to change all of Jo's plans.

Polly is stuck at home babysitting until she gets the idea that she could be a model. She throws herself into the world of modeling camp and starts to lose herself - and only her friends can help bring her back.

One of Ann Brashares strengths is that she puts so much into her characters that readers can always find someone like them. The experiences the girls have never seem over the top or unrealistic, and their friendship will resonate with readers making the transition from middle school to high school.

Although reminiscent of THE SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS series, Polly, Ama, and Jo each bring something new to the story - and their stories are original. Fans will enjoy the appearances made by characters from the previous series, as well.

3 WILLOWS is a great pick for readers looking for a wonderful, charming book about the challenges of friendship and growing up.

posted by TeensReadToo on December 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Feelings

I do not think that this book was as good as the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, however, it was a fun read. It is about 3 friends who grow up in the same town. As they grow up, they change as people, which causes their friendship to also change. I think that it's a ...
I do not think that this book was as good as the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, however, it was a fun read. It is about 3 friends who grow up in the same town. As they grow up, they change as people, which causes their friendship to also change. I think that it's a great story about true friends, and I enjoyed the reference to the original sisterhood. I thought that the book was a litte slow starting out, but it got better and I found myself not wanting to put it down.

posted by mjbond on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very nice read - don't have to read the Traveling Pants to enjoy this!

    Ok, I will admit it. I have never read the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. I've seen the movie, and I guess I thought that if I read the book then I wouldn't enjoy it as much.

    So, when my friend lent me 3 Willows, the first question to come out of my mouth was "Do I have to read The Sisterhood to understand this?" And the answer is nope. You don't need to read the original Sisterhood to fall in love with Ann Brashares novel.

    3 Willows takes you into a slightly younger world, to three girls who are - no secrets - growing apart. However, they don't exactly want to face the facts. They still, somehow, want to stay close forever.

    Heartwarming novel, fast read, nice read. Hope you enjoy as much as I did.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great New Beginning reviewed by YABOOKNERD

    Polly, Jo, and Ama just graduated eight grade. Now with summer looming before them, they're not sure how far high school will separate them. They used to be best friends, before they each started going in different directions. But this summer, they are still tied to each other. Their bonds haven't been broken yet. Polly starts a modeling class with her babysitting money. She wants to become someone, someone that people notice. But is modeling for her, or is she walking down a dangerous path? Jo's spending the summer with her mother at the beach. Her parents are trying a separation and she's not sure what to think. It's not like her dad's been around much these past few years. She's got herself a job at a restaurant and soon she's hanging out with high school girls. Could they be her ticket to the in crowd next year? Ama's spending the summer in a scholarship program. She was hoping for an academic track, but instead, she's spending her days hiking through the wilderness. She's not an adventurous sort of girl and this summer is killing her. In their times of troubles, each girl reverts back to her old friendships and wonder how weak their bond has become. If one of them reaches out, will the other two catch her? <BR/><BR/>This new book by Ann Brashares takes place in the same town as the Sisterhood. These three girls don't know the Sisterhood, but they worship the girls just the same. The book has similar connections with the Sisterhood books, but it's completely different at the same time. They both center on friendship, but there's a different tone to the new book. The Sisterhood books took their friendship and made it stronger during the time apart. The 3 Willows found their way back to friendship after spending time apart. The new book is also younger and perfect for middle schoolers. I breezed through this book and am eager for the next one...there is going to be one I hope.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great book

    You should so read it. It is very intereting. Ann Brashards is very talented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    3 Willows was so good!

    Ann Brashares has done it again! I absolutely loved this book! The story follows the format of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, switching from each girl's point of view. I thought the scenarios she created were something refreshing and new. I also liked how she incorporated the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants into her story because I'm a huge fan of the series! Great book, five stars hands down! =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    Brashares did it again...

    3 Willows is a novel that consists of love and friendship. The three main characters are easy to relate to, and they deal with problems that many are familiar with. Ama is in a camping program, even though she hates the outdoors and tries her best to get out of it. Polly struggles to lose weight so that she can become a model. And Jo falls in love with an older guy, who happens to be the "boyfriend" of Effie, a jealous girl who will do anything to break them apart. I definitely recommend 3 Willows to anyone who is a fan of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Why the dashes?

    Really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Yup

    Sup heeeeeeeee :) turn the nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Five starrs

    This book is really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Great book :)

    This was an excellent book about a true friendship. It is a great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    This book was great

    I think this book inspire young readers to be the best they can be I beleve Ann has done it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    luv it!

    this is one of my all time favorite books i would recommend it to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Very very good

    i reallyy liked this book it was very good!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Read

    I really liked this book. It took me little time to read once i got about 90 pages in. It was a good story, set in the summer, telling about three friends who had drifted apart. During this summer, though, they come back together when they need each other most. Romance, family problems, and even some rock climbing adventure, this book has it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Book was good.

    I really liked this book, and it came in on time :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    A story of friendships

    This book is by the same author as "Traveling Pants" group and I liked those. I enjoyed the 3 different characters in "3 Willows". I bought the book for my teen granddaughter and she read it and said it was okay. It didn't have enough suspense for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!

    These girls are like any girl you could find in the world! They could be so real! I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    awesome

    this is a great series. this book is a knock out and shows truly how life is in this world. you are either in or out. you can not be both at once, and you need to choose your friends wisely not solely on their status.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!! My new FAVORITE series.

    When I picked up this book at my local BN I knew that it would be promising, the original sisterhood was sooooo good and I was sad when it ended. I was to young for her other books so I just read other books. 3 Willows was the best book EVER! I read it in a week and three days, which is unheard of for me even though I really am quite smart. I was so happy that I finished, but sad at the same time. Thank you for reading my review.

    My recommendations will mostly be unrelated to 3 Willows- except for 3 Willows, but I love these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This book was really good. If you read the Traveling Pants series, this book is of the same concept. This is one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2