Customer Reviews for

30 Days of Night

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Bloody and Brilliant

    Gore soaked, and lit in shadows, 30 Days of Night is one of the best vampire based comic books ever offered. Forget Joss Wheaton¿s lovable camp, or Morbius¿s dark brooding in the pages of Spider-Man. No, the vampires here are remorseless, brutal, and above all else cunning. They stop at nothing, and want only death. They are not harmed by wooden crosses, holy water, or stakes, nor are they stopped by running water. The only thing that can stop them is the sun. Unfortunately for the residents of Barrow, Alaska, the sun has just set and will not rise for 30 days, and the vampires have arrived in mass, to kill, too feed. Though I will not offer spoilers I will say the ending is surprisingly touching, leaving a sweet, melancholy note to the entire affair. Steve Niles¿s script is very good, better than most on the market, and Ben Templesmith reminds me very much of Bill Sienkiewicz, who¿s better known work includes Eletrka Assassin. Eclectic and energetic, the art is interesting and visually captivating. Over all, this isn¿t the run of the mill graphic novel, and it has a very underground feel to it. It edgy and fun in a very dark way, and recommended to underground comic fans especially. This graphic collects 30 Days of Night #1-3 and has the script for issue #1.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Great!

    Im sure like many others, that you read this after seeing the movie. I was expecting for the movie to be rubbish compared to the book. But suprisingly it almost followed the same thred line. Yeah one or two things were chanced. The book is great. The art is in violent splashes, which may not be for everyone. The story wont let you put it down. Recommened to anyone with a love for REAL vampires (not the cookie cutter vampires like twilight), horror, or just plain violence and blood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Worst possible book

    The worst posible comic i ever read. Dont spend money on this book only if you can read very tiny righting. I will never spend money on this author agian.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    this is a comic book my bad

    this to me is a joke i understand that there are many people who still need illustrations because of no imagiation maybe dont know comic strips belong in in the papers and horror stories belong in printed books not in a childs publication.... now the movie novelization by tim lebbon is the real deal and is better than the movie. i own the movie and seen several times this publication sadly is for chidlren which is beyond my comprehension like kids today aren't messed up enough. just another perfect example of BAD PARENTING and people ask "whats wrong with the kids today" DUH !

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Comic book

    It was alright. The art was pretty bad because its water paint. Super short. The words were kinda small and when you blew it up its blocky. Only buy it if you plan to buy more of the comic books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    this book was great

    This book was realy great. It was one of the best books i have ever read.I liked the part that this book was in a comic book format.Also i liked this book because its full of suspence and action.I would recomend this book to peaple who like to read books that are full of suspence and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    This book was tight

    30 Days of Night the first one was the best comic book I ever read. Every single strip was full of action and suspense. I would really recommend this book to people who like vampires, death, and full of carnage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    this book was great.

    This book was great.I think that this book has been the only horror I`ve read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Great concept, so-so execution.

    Niles gives us a very clever idea, and I found the writing sound, but the art by Templesmith is a little too sketchy and atmospheric for its' own good in a few places, when it's hard to discern the action being depicted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Fantastic setting, mediocre story

    I was a bit surprised by this book. I had such high hopes for the story. There are so many possibilities that could have manifested with the plot of this book and instead of exploiting any number of those possibilities to strike terror into anyone who has ever been afraid of the dark, Steve Niles goes with the route that any number of the writers of the 'spandex superhero' ilk would have taken. Ben Templesmith's artwork is extraordinary because it looks like as if a child drew some of the panels. Some of the art is displayed in a somewhat scribbled fashion and it provides the effect that whoever drew the piece is scared of the vampires, just as a child may scribble out a portrait of the bogeyman who haunts them at night. That is not to say that Templesmith does not have talent. Most of the art is gorgeous and the texture and lack of contrast between the characters and the surrounding environment provide a handle for the reader to grip so that they are submerged in the bleak winter of Barrow. I would definitely include this on a list as a must-read. The story is gripping in parts and most of dialogue is spot-on (save for a few moments of horror cheesiness) and as noted earlier, the artwork is fantastic. If Niles writing on the next run of this project 'Dark Days' provides more of punch it will certainly redeem some of the cliche'd moments of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    So logical...

    It makes so much sense to set a vampire novel in the arctic where nights go on forever that I can't believe no one thought of it before. A very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    Great concept, ordinary execution

    This title takes a GREAT concept (vampires taking over a town where the sun doesn't rise for thirty days) and turns it into... nothing much. Templesmith's art is appropriately spooky (though a bit hard to decipher in places), but the story itself seems routine. The ending almost redeems the fairly pedestrian story. I hope the movie can build on the suspense of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2