BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

30 Days to Getting over the Dork You Used to Call Your Boyfriend: A Heartbreak Handbook

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Katie Hayes for TeensReadToo.com

A breakup can seem like the end of the world to a teenage girl. Clea Hantman, author of the new book 30 DAYS TO GETTING OVER THE DORK YOU USED TO CALL YOUR BOYFRIEND, realizes this and treats her readers with sensitivity. But along with offering some advice and perspect...
A breakup can seem like the end of the world to a teenage girl. Clea Hantman, author of the new book 30 DAYS TO GETTING OVER THE DORK YOU USED TO CALL YOUR BOYFRIEND, realizes this and treats her readers with sensitivity. But along with offering some advice and perspective, Hantman also offers a lot of fun.

When you're mourning the loss of a relationship, she writes, you go through the five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. The book is divided into parts based on these five stages, and for each of the thirty days, she offers an activity.

At first these activities include things like putting all reminders of ¿the dork¿ in a box and writing down all the things that were wrong with him, but eventually they move on to things like exercising, volunteering, even feng shui. Every day also has a song that's relevant to that day's activity and is, usually, pretty cool. (I made some additions to my iTunes after reading this book!)

The book is also sprinkled with pop culture references that teenagers can relate to and concludes with the lists, ¿Girls Who Have Dumped with Aplomb,¿ ¿Girls Who Have Been More Famously Dumped Than You (And Lived to Tell!),¿ ¿Movies About Being Dumped,¿ ¿More Break-Up Songs,¿ and ¿Books About the Ups, Downs, and In-Betweens of Relationships.¿

I don't know how effective this book would be for getting over a serious relationship that lasted for years, but I think it provides a lot of guidance and sympathy for most teenage girls dealing with breakups. For everyone else it will, at the very least, provide a smile.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

HELP ME

I NEED SEX HELP ME

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    TO LETICIA

    Theres this guy i met who seems cute and sweet but how can i tell if hes really a nice guy?i havent known him for long and i met him on my nook.is there a way i can tell if hes a good guy or something?its my first relationship and i dont know how to handle it.respond to Silvermoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Need advice?..?

    Ask away. My name is leticia and i can help u with your problems if u r a boy or girl you can still ask me thanx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    DAT GUY

    You just need to do it when none of ur friend r around. And say I want to ask you if you will be my girl friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Seriously?

    Seriously? Ugh, you people have problems. Like, how all you can talk about is nook sex and dating and who broke up with whom and all that sort of junk. What is wrong with you people? That brings me back to my piont. Just as a heads up, your life sucks. Oh wait, I forgot... you don't have a life. So get one! Stop talking to your nook girlfriend guys, for all you know, she could really be a him! Don't be sitting here, pretending to have a sorry excuse for what you call life; go out into thw world! Find a life and live it well!
    Yours truely,
    Crystal

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    To gabe

    Yes i do sooo much my name is macey and i am captain of the cheer squad and if u want more reply to me at sex res one thx ohh ps do u want to be my nook boyfriend?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Yes GABE

    How bout nook sexlets make love hottie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Opion wanted plzz

    I am in 8th grade
    This is the first time i have like liked a girl
    What can i say to start conversation without eirther of our friends saying "awwww how cute the couple is talking"
    Or "did u just ask her out?",or worst off "if you 2 make a baby they will be the smartest baby ever!" Let me say now i do now wish to'DO' her for a looooooong time at least 19 year old
    Im 13 plzzz help thxxxx respond to DAT GUY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Gabe

    Hi gabe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Hello?

    Um... does... anyone want 2 chat? - Roxas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    To Roxas

    Sure. What do you want to talk about? How old are you? I'm 11. From OMGitsR5! Thanks!
    -Lennon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Read this

    Please search crushes and flirts first result and look at the comment that says to anyone and the date says january 21 2014 -dylan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Alexander

    H-hi every one...l

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Wow

    All yall is dump because all u have to do is hold ur chin high pray to god and lean on him u dont need a bood to help u u just need god and gods word read the bible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Read

    Dont u knohow when the guy u like ends up goin out with ur friend... aand ur just like that thout

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Love is so confusing!!!!

    Some times i wish i could turn my feelings off,dont you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Gamergirl1

    Of course you should say yes! If you know hes the one, there shouldnt be ant second guessing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Anybody up to giving me advice?

    My boyfriend and I broke up in November and he has the two most retarted reasons for it too... he has a reputation for being innapropriate and he doesnt want to offend me and he likes me and another girl at the same time and he said, "I dont want to like you both at the same time". I absolutley hate him! I ignored him for 3 weeks and now I have no idea what to do! I seriously need help. Thank you so, SO very much whoever responds. Respond to Sunny12 as soon as possible! I am desperate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    To wakemeup

    Honestly you have two options.. hardish and hard the hardish is talk to him how you felt when he stood you up when you were suppose to go to the dance. Be firm and dont let him make excuses. Tell him that you demand respect and the only way that is if you have the desentcy not ditch me and make ne feel bad. Give him a chance
    Or
    Talk to him how he lost his chance gor standing you up and never talk to him again

    Airlyn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    HELPPPPPP

    Im twelve almost thirteen. I just had a breakup with my bf, and it sucked. He got a new gf the day after he broke up with me. A grl ive known since second grade!! I was devastated. I still like him! Idk if the grl knows i dated him, and i think her brother likes me! But i think one of my ok friends likes him!! Her brother is in the same grade as me, but i like a guy who lives across town. I know him from being in plays with him, and hes really nice and funny and i like him alot!!!!! Plus hes an actor. I dont even know the girls brother!!!!! My friends tell me im to good for my ex, but im not sure if they actually think that or if there just trying to make me feel better. And also i dont even know if ill ever get anither bf!!!! Even though my friends say i have boys lining up to date me. I dont think its true though. Ps my friend thats a guy keeps asking me out. I dont think he means it but one of my friends likes him. HELLPPPPPPPP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Omg wat the hell

    Wen is it going to be over damn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6