Customer Reviews for

30 Seconds to Mars

Average Rating 5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST

    I love this band! i've been listening to them for awhile and have gotten all my friends into them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    Ultimate band. Oblivion, Capricorn and Buddha For Mary= best songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best band you've never heard of?

    My husband had a bunch of CDs sitting in our cabinet that he brought home from the radio station where he works. I was flipping through them and thought I would give it a listen. I have since been spreading the word to everyone I know about this band. They truly are original and their talent is boundless. If you haven't seen them live - GET OFF YOUR TUSH and buy yourself a ticket! Definitely add this to your collection, you will not regret it. (Favorite song - FALLEN - overlooked by many other fans)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    30stm are awesome!!!!!!!

    30 seconds to Mars is an amazing band. Jared Leto's voice is well...also amazing. If you've never heard of 30STM you're missing out. My favorite song is probably "Capricorn(A Brand New Name)". They're also an absoulutely amazing band live. Jared has just so much energy it's awesome! 30STM RULE!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible band

    My friend let me listen to one of their songs and thought it was interesting. So I picked up their album (for like 8 bucks) and was amazed. Excellent work overall and has such good atmosphere and vibe. I wasn't too impressed with their new album but this is one of those albums you can listen to all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Need great new music? Look no further.

    If you haven’t yet added 30 Seconds to Mars (or 30STM for short) to your list of “must listen to bands”, now is a great time to do so. The bands name may lead you to believe you’ll be listening to some spacey, Bowie-esque synth music. This is, however, not the case with 30STM, a rock band that various sites have compared to artists from Pink Floyd to Tool. This is a great CD for anyone who likes a degree of heaviness and dark melody to their music, without screaming or harsh vocals- their heavier tracks are on roughly the same level as Tool’s more melodic, softer pieces. br This is one heck of a CD. The songs are stories of personal struggle and emotions. To paraphrase Mr Leto, the singer/synths/guitar, the music uses otherworldly concepts and abstract ideas to illustrate personal situations. You won’t be disappointed with either the music or the vocals. 30 Seconds to Mars has a great singer, and one heck of a good drummer (his brother Shannon), along with a great guitarist (Tomo Milicevic) and bassist (Matt Wachter). The lyrics are beautiful and meaningful, however abstract they may be. Out of the twelve (excellent, superb, amazing, etc..) tracks, which has catchy songs like “Capricorn (A Brand New Name)” and “Edge of the Earth”, emotionally-charged, darkly melodic songs such as “Buddha for Mary” and “93 Million Miles” really stand out. Do your ears a favor and get this CD- you won’t regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    30 Seconds to Mars

    This CD is awesome! Jared Leto's voice, as well as himself are beautiful! If you haven't heard any of their songs you're missing out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thirty Seconds To Mars

    I know you were probably thinking when first introduced to the band,"Oh, great another band that wants to be Orgy." But Give this Cd a try. It is simply poetry in motion. From the screachind synth like riffs to Jared's voice making you cry for more. This album starts on a very high note with Capricorn(A Brand New Name) With echoing lyrics of "...i will disappear." And picks up right off from that energy with "Edge Of The Earth. It also has something rare for this kind of music, a vocalist who is not afraid to scream. Jared's voice is in full effect on this album and is showcased on songs such as "Buddha For Mary". But in summary THIS IS A MUST HAVE ALBUM!! You will not be disappointed. And as Jared would say "...Welcome to the universe" because this universe is there's now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stunning

    The atmosphere of the music is breath taking. I heard their music in 2000 on a demo cd for Immortal Records, and I waited a long time for this cd to come out. There is no question that this cd desirves 5 stars. Reading other reviews I see everyone agrees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must Have!

    Tired of copycat bands and looking for something new and cutting edge? If so, this is a must have cd. Instead of singing about how they hate their parents and are tired of their girlfriends, this band opts to send it's listeners on soulful, thought provoking journeys with music and lyrics that seem to reach into your mind, grab your attention, and demand that you listen intently. If you're still feeling skeptical, you can listen to the first single (Capricorn) and watch the video on the bands website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    30 Seconds to Mars

    30 Seconds to Mars is an EXTREAMLY TALENTED band! Because they follow their own path makes them unique. If the songs in this album don't get to you, the music/voice of Jerred Leto the lead singer, will. The name of the band (30 SEC. To Mars) even goes together with the music that they make, their music makes you feel like your out in space somewhere, without a care of what is happening on earth. Every song is written with great emotion, and the music is put together so wonderfully that you feel yourself fly out of your seat while listening to this album. IT'S THAT GOOD! PLUS the lyrics are fun to sing along to aswell!! ENJOY THIS GREAT ALBUM!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally a New Sound

    From the moment the album starts playing you are drawn in to the unique techno/rock sound of the new band. Since their incredible concert in Pasa Robles, Ca. I have been an avid fan of theirs. The album's best songs include Fallen, Capricorn, and Buddha for Mary. I would and have encouraged many people to go out and if not buy, at least listen to it. Its more than just music, it a revolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    30 Seconds to Mars soars above all odds to come out on top.

    From the first swell of synths in "Capricorn (A Brand New Name)" to the hidden end track reminicent of 80's synth-pop, 30 Seconds to Mars self titled debut places itself on the rock map with a completely original blend of textures and harmonies. From first glance many would pass Jared Leto as another actor turned musician only looking to try and attempt to score the benifits of both worlds. As one can tell from the first single, "Capricorn (A Brand New Name)", Leto can not only sing, but he can rock out with the best, as noted in the album credits, Leto played all the instruments except for drums. Leto's voice is almost a blend of Tool's Maynard James Keenan and the intensity of Soundgarden's Chris Cornell. The depth of the music on 30STM's CD was also heavily textured with a wall of guitars and programming. Every song had it's own set of emotional landscapes to take the listener to. This CD is a must for anyone looking to rock out to music with depth and meaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    30 Seconds to BLiss

    It takes less than 30 seconds before you find yourself caught up in an almost post-apocalyptic world described eloquently through a barrage of guitar rifts, wailing emotion-filled vocals, and electronically-induced undulations of bass and beats sure to take you over the rainbow, to mars, and far beyond the conventions of space and time the further in you go. There¿s something on this album for everyone. Older metal fans especially will like the level of skill displayed by 30STM, the younger listener will get off on the seamless interwoven magic of technology and imagination, and everyone can rock-out to the soulfully expressed anger that invites all who are privy to it¿s sound to join along in the Revolution. Be sure to check out ¿Edge of the Earth", "Buddha For Mary", and ¿the Echelon¿ any of which could earn a few minutes of playtime on the airwaves in the immediate future. As one of the most original bands to release an album this year, some may have a hard time getting into the slower edgier songs that appear later in the track listing. My advice is to lean back for these story-fueled melodies and let the harmonics of the idea drive you into another place only the band has ever seen but is kind enough to show us through mind-opening songs that coincidentally (or not?) rock pretty hard. Hard enough for Tool enthusiasts, Bush fans, and even Pink Floyd tributaries that thought they¿d seen the last of great tripadelic tunes. The power and beauty of these songs can no more be described than a fire caught in a field- worthy of respect, awe, and maybe a little fear (on the part of the other new bands emerging alongside these guys!). Doubtful, with lightning speed this album will propel 30STM far beyond the conventions of modern music and into the starry nights of fame and fortune. Considering the lead vocalist has already tasted such sweets via his acting career we can hope this band will remain unchanged despite the success. Like a talisman of the heavens 30STM brings a new frame of mind to the industry and to every person to fall under the spell of the sometimes spacey, atmospheric, and energy-pulsing tunes on this CD. Your ears are the guide my friend and the sky is certainly not the limit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth whatever you pay!

    As I was riding down the road in my Honda Civic, my sister's boyfriend, who rests at the comfortable age of 32, says to me "You have to hear this band. Its got Jared Leto in it from My So-Called Life. I never knew he could sing like this." Immediately I was hooked. From the opening crescendo in "Capricorn" to the technically superb druming in "Oblivion," 30 Seconds to Mars brings something previously unheard of before into the rock scene that always brings a smile and a healthy "hell yeah" from the crowd. Now ending its third-week straight as the only CD played in my vehicle, 30 Seconds to Mars continues to bring the only euphoric time I feel in the early morning hours. If there is an album that all of humanity should purchase this year, it would be this one. Buy it, enjoy it, support good, quality rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MARS ATTACKS! TEE HEE!

    A refreshing face in the state of music today. Among the clone bands, 30stm stands out with a strong debut. Immediately hit with a crescendo of bludgeoning synth in "Capricorn", peaking into a beautiful but stingingly aggresive track. From the stabbing guitar riffs of "Edge of the Earth" or "The End of the Beginning" to the moodiness of "Buddha for Mary". This Debut is definately a dynamic album. Vive la Mars Army!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    30STM - BUY THIS CD!

    WOW! If you are into just plain ol' down n' out rock n' roll, you need this CD. Songs like "Capricorn", "Buddha for Mary", and "Oblivion" will blow your doors off. The lyrics are smooth, the tunes even smoother. With this killer debut CD, there's no way you can go wrong. And the lead singer ain't too shabby either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome new band!!!

    This has got to be the best album I have listened to in a long time. 30 Seconds to Mars has an extremely unique sound. The vocals are powerful, and the lyrics are thought provoking. It's the kind of music that lets you travel in your mind. I highly recommend picking up a copy if you're sick of all the disposable music out there...come on, you know you want to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Astral Projection into the Minds of 30STM

    Thirty Seconds to Mars is a unique blend of hardcore elements with industrial and harmonic tones. The music gets you focused and gives out a sense of tranquility. The vocals of this album are melodic as well as hard. This album is one of a kind, never getting dull or dry, but making you yearn for more. One of the best traits of 30STM is that they are not a product of pop culture, but a self-made, new sound. Thirty Seconds to Mars definately deserves to be heard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    finally

    30 Seconds to Mars are exactly what the world of rock, if not music in general needs: a swift kick in the butt. guitars that scream of droning, creamy distortion and drums that'll shake your filling loose every time this cd is turned up on the volume dial can only be surpassed by the power, majesty and naked truth revealed by the vocals in each and every song on this album. the melodies range from a quite hush to heart-stopping screams in songs like "buddha for mary" and "capricorn[a brand new name'" whereas they reveal nothing but beauty in "93 million miles" and the depressingly beautiful "oblivion". 30 seconds to mars' self-titled debut is hauntingly magical and should not be dismissed for anything less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4