×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

30 Lessons for Living: Tried and True Advice from the Wisest Americans
  • Alternative view 1 of 30 Lessons for Living: Tried and True Advice from the Wisest Americans
  • Alternative view 2 of 30 Lessons for Living: Tried and True Advice from the Wisest Americans
     

30 Lessons for Living: Tried and True Advice from the Wisest Americans

4.1 19
by Karl Pillemer
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Heartfelt and ever-endearing—equal parts information and inspiration. This is a book to keep by your bedside and return to often.”—Amy Dickinson, nationally syndicated advice columnist "Ask Amy"

More than one thousand extraordinary Americans share their stories and the wisdom they have gained on living, loving, and finding

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

30 Lessons for Living 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Janelle1940 More than 1 year ago
I am 71 years old and I needed to be reminded of how important each day is. I was reminded of how I can choose to live my life.
gutdoc More than 1 year ago
The author, a gerontologist interviews the "experts," people in their senior years about living a successful life. Most of these lessons are directed at younger adults who don't feel the pressure of how short time is. It is not likely however that many of these young adults will really be able to integrate that feeling into their daily lives; but for those few who can, this book is a good "how to" to make their lives more meaningful and worthwhile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an astounding collection of life lessons from those 70 and older. Pillemer brings it together in a very easy-to-read manner, making it easy to see why this is often called the "Greatest Generation." These people have been through much more than any of us (under 50) can imagine, making their knowledge, sense of humor, and suggestions very worthwhile. By categorizing them, Pillemer makes it easy to skip to sections that might be more significant for you. While some of the suggestions may garner an "easier said than done" cynicism, Pillemer was sure to ask his "experts" on tips for HOW to life a better life. This makes for simple yet effective suggestions on how to redirect your life before it's too late. Own it. Read it. Pass it on. It will change your life, and in the process, change the lives of everyone around you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed this book through out. The author has a nice easy and pleasant style. My favorite parts are the quotes from the older and wiser generation. They give us answers to questions I wish I had asked my grandparents and parents before I lost them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was walking around BN not looking for any book in particular, this book caught my eye. I grabbed it thinking - I'll read a page and put it back. Read 10 pages realized I had to buy, finished it that night! As a young adult who works with "experts" everyday it gave me a refreshing outlook on how much seniors can offer with their life experiences. I loved how the book is sectioned off, makes it easier to navigate and find "wisdom" in the area you need most. This book makes you realize that you must appreciate each and everyday you get, and to always be happy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I've read books of life stories from the elderly before, this one was different because it offered direct advice for living life well. I really appreciated the perspective the elders were willing to share, and plan to take their advice to heart. I'll read this again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Insightful and very well written. The book transcends all ages - what a great concept. A MUST read!
Anonymous 5 months ago
Thanks!! ('Advice') --kat
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SEEN THE AUTHOR ON PBS. SOUNDED LIKE SOME THING I WOULD LIKE TO READ. I DID'NT UNDERSTAND IT WAS IN DIGITAL FORM. I CAN NOT DOWN LOAD IT ON TO MY STANDARD PC. JUST FLUSHED $13:70 DOWN THE TOILET.I WISH I HAD PAID A FEW BUCKS MORE FOR THE HARD COVER VERSION.BEWARE.