BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

301 Smart Answers to Tough Interview Questions

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Want a Job? Interviewing Others? Read This Book!!

Over the past twelve months, I have both interviewed for jobs and interviewed over two dozen potential employees. Only after reading this book did I realize how much I had to learn, whether being interviewed or trying to ask the prying questions of those I had intervie...
Over the past twelve months, I have both interviewed for jobs and interviewed over two dozen potential employees. Only after reading this book did I realize how much I had to learn, whether being interviewed or trying to ask the prying questions of those I had interviewed. 301 Smart Answers is an easy read, but is filled with so many inciteful comments on how to effectively control the interview process, communicate your strengths and avoid the pitfalls. I am strongly recommending this book for anyone who plans to sit on either side of the desk.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Get the book for its questions, not its answers (3.5 stars)

Yes, there are 301 answers in Vicky Oliver's book. Actually, there are slightly more than that because a few of the 301 questions have more than one answer. Each of the book's 12 chapters contain an interviewer's questions and an interviewee's answers on issues or c...
Yes, there are 301 answers in Vicky Oliver's book. Actually, there are slightly more than that because a few of the 301 questions have more than one answer. Each of the book's 12 chapters contain an interviewer's questions and an interviewee's answers on issues or challenges that could emerge in a job interview. Two examples: Chapter 2 is 'Give Us One Reason Not to Hire You', and Chapter 5 is 'How to Ace the Personality Test'. Throughout the chapters are supporting graphics and discussion sidebars that are generally very good tips, instructions, etc. As examples, Chapter 1 has a sidebar 'How to Pack for Your Interviews' (i.e., what to take or not take with you to an interview), and Chapter 7 has one called 'Games Interviewers Play'. Each chapter ends with a discussion or summary called 'That's a Wrap'. The best aspect of the book is its list of questions. If a job interviewee studies, and is prepared for as many of these questions as possible, he or she should end up with a job offer. The book's weakest aspect is the hypothetical answers to those 301 questions. The reader will have to take many of Ms. Oliver's proposed answers with a large grain of salt, because so many of the answers just won't apply to most job candidates. Pages 77-78 provide the most glaring example. The hypothetical interviewee is a cum laude graduate who speaks 4 languages fluently and has a parent in the diplomatic corps. Not very many people fit this description, and those who do probably won't need this book. Which is unfortunate, because those people who aren't in such elite company are the ones who could benefit from this book's concept. Ms. Oliver also has a tendency to engage in hyperbole. Some examples: 'super busy', 'extremely diligent', 'absolutely brilliant', 'absolutely phenomenal', 'unbelievably thorough', and 'unbelievably dedicated'. Enthusiasm is one thing, but these descriptions tend to push credibility a little too hard, because they raise the possibility, for example, that an interviewee could be a mere 'somewhat phenomenal', or, even worse, just an ordinary run-of-the-mill 'phenomenal'. Ms. Oliver's use of the term 'dream job' is another form of hyperbole that could get an interviewee into trouble. A dream job is a goal that we should all be working towards. But the harsh reality is that, for most people most of the time, the job they're applying for falls somewhere short of that ideal. So, if they use the term dream job in an interview, they'll need to be able to prove such a statement if they're serious about getting the job. For most of us, the honest statement we can, and should make is that we'd genuinely like to have the job we're applying for. On a few occasions, Ms. Oliver proposes offering to work as a free-lance in a sort of probationary or trial period. In many industries, this isn't a common practice and is probably non-existent in some. But the idea might be worth a try in the right circumstances. (Be sure it's only short-term and that you don't price yourself too low. Assume that, as an independent contractor, fully half of your gross income will go for taxes, expenses, etc.) The book has an odd mistake. On page 326, the sentence says, 'Even interviewing proteges have occasionally flubbed a particularly tough question.' Apparently, the author was trying to say 'interviewing prodigies'. Conclusion: For most readers, the book's questions will be much more useful than its proposed answers to those questions. But that's probably the way it should be, because each reader/interviewee will ultimately have to devise his or her own set of answers, anyway. Buy the book for its questions, not its answers.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    Get the book for its questions, not its answers (3.5 stars)

    Yes, there are 301 answers in Vicky Oliver's book. Actually, there are slightly more than that because a few of the 301 questions have more than one answer. Each of the book's 12 chapters contain an interviewer's questions and an interviewee's answers on issues or challenges that could emerge in a job interview. Two examples: Chapter 2 is 'Give Us One Reason Not to Hire You', and Chapter 5 is 'How to Ace the Personality Test'. Throughout the chapters are supporting graphics and discussion sidebars that are generally very good tips, instructions, etc. As examples, Chapter 1 has a sidebar 'How to Pack for Your Interviews' (i.e., what to take or not take with you to an interview), and Chapter 7 has one called 'Games Interviewers Play'. Each chapter ends with a discussion or summary called 'That's a Wrap'. The best aspect of the book is its list of questions. If a job interviewee studies, and is prepared for as many of these questions as possible, he or she should end up with a job offer. The book's weakest aspect is the hypothetical answers to those 301 questions. The reader will have to take many of Ms. Oliver's proposed answers with a large grain of salt, because so many of the answers just won't apply to most job candidates. Pages 77-78 provide the most glaring example. The hypothetical interviewee is a cum laude graduate who speaks 4 languages fluently and has a parent in the diplomatic corps. Not very many people fit this description, and those who do probably won't need this book. Which is unfortunate, because those people who aren't in such elite company are the ones who could benefit from this book's concept. Ms. Oliver also has a tendency to engage in hyperbole. Some examples: 'super busy', 'extremely diligent', 'absolutely brilliant', 'absolutely phenomenal', 'unbelievably thorough', and 'unbelievably dedicated'. Enthusiasm is one thing, but these descriptions tend to push credibility a little too hard, because they raise the possibility, for example, that an interviewee could be a mere 'somewhat phenomenal', or, even worse, just an ordinary run-of-the-mill 'phenomenal'. Ms. Oliver's use of the term 'dream job' is another form of hyperbole that could get an interviewee into trouble. A dream job is a goal that we should all be working towards. But the harsh reality is that, for most people most of the time, the job they're applying for falls somewhere short of that ideal. So, if they use the term dream job in an interview, they'll need to be able to prove such a statement if they're serious about getting the job. For most of us, the honest statement we can, and should make is that we'd genuinely like to have the job we're applying for. On a few occasions, Ms. Oliver proposes offering to work as a free-lance in a sort of probationary or trial period. In many industries, this isn't a common practice and is probably non-existent in some. But the idea might be worth a try in the right circumstances. (Be sure it's only short-term and that you don't price yourself too low. Assume that, as an independent contractor, fully half of your gross income will go for taxes, expenses, etc.) The book has an odd mistake. On page 326, the sentence says, 'Even interviewing proteges have occasionally flubbed a particularly tough question.' Apparently, the author was trying to say 'interviewing prodigies'. Conclusion: For most readers, the book's questions will be much more useful than its proposed answers to those questions. But that's probably the way it should be, because each reader/interviewee will ultimately have to devise his or her own set of answers, anyway. Buy the book for its questions, not its answers.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Not Too Helpful for Lower Level Jobs

    I have mixed feelings about this book because on one hand it addressed a lot of common interview questions but on the other hand I felt the audience for this book is the higher paying jobs and management positions. I thought some of the recommended responses were too phony and too pushy. It is one of those books that you should pick and choose which ideas are suitable for you and which ones sound too unrealistic. The book did not give information geared to the more common problems that lower paid employees encounter when trying to find a job. I have read better articles on the internet for job interviewing advice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Great book - Personal trainer for the job hunter

    Ms. Oliver is like a personal trainer for the marathon called job hunting. By guiding you through many questions, answers, and ¿what if¿ scenarios, she builds you up to feel prepared and confident, having the best shot at winning over the interviewer. Sophisticated as well as humorous, her advise is both classic and current. A very valuable book for both the seasoned interviewer, as well as a recent college grad... I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    Best New Job Hunters Guide!

    This is the best new job hunters resource to come around in years! Vicky Oliver is smart and funny in the answers she gives you and has every possible situation a job hunter can expect in mind. Every college graduate should be issued this book with their diploma!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    Want a Job? Interviewing Others? Read This Book!!

    Over the past twelve months, I have both interviewed for jobs and interviewed over two dozen potential employees. Only after reading this book did I realize how much I had to learn, whether being interviewed or trying to ask the prying questions of those I had interviewed. 301 Smart Answers is an easy read, but is filled with so many inciteful comments on how to effectively control the interview process, communicate your strengths and avoid the pitfalls. I am strongly recommending this book for anyone who plans to sit on either side of the desk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Well worth it!

    Great book! I loved the easy to read layout, the logical and clear organization and all the excellent tips along the way - and the interview responses were often as interesting as the questions. Great job!! I will recommend it to all my dissatisfied/out-of-work friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    An Essential Interview Tool For Everyone

    Bravo to Vicky Oliver for explaining the inside scoop on mastering the art of the interview. She does so in an intelligent and entertaining fashion. I found her recommendations to be witty, insightful and a valuable asset to anybody who needs to be able to persuade an audience, be it for a job interview or for that matter, anything else. Abbe R. Krieger, AbbeRose Marketing and Public Relations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    HOMEWORK FOR THE UNEMPLOYED

    Hey if you have to prep for a job interview, why not raed this book? It made me feel better prepared and confident before going on my interview!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    How To Get Out of What Your Parents Wanted for You and Get What You Want

    I am a former actress/writer/performer turned attorney....now transitioning out of law and back into the arts. Not an easy task in the middle of my life. How good are Vicky's book and clinic? How 'bout this: I GOT THE JOB!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    How To Get Out of What Your Parents Wanted (for You)

    I am a second career attorney that is looking to transition out of law and back into a pre-law interest. Needless to say, despite my talent, I haven't interviewed in some time. Vicky's book and seminar enabled me to hone in on producing a better resume, turn supposed 'weaknesses' into strengths, and answer difficult interview questions. She helps you nail the job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    Need a Job ? You need this book first.

    Simply put: this is a great book. It will help you negotiate the traps and pitfalls of difficult interviews. It provides insightful, practical advice on how to answer your way to the job you want. Reading it will certainly challenge and change your mind-set prior to an interview and help ensure you get your positive points across in a clear, coherent manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    Phenomenal

    Ms. Oliver has written a genuinely insightful and helpful guide for job seekers everywhere. Her approach is to arm candidates with the responses they can give interviewers that will lead to call-back appointments and live offers. Beyond that, her book is actually a lively and engaging read. She's truly a job hunter's friend in need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Essential Reading for the Sophisticated Job Hunter

    This book is an invaluable tool for preparing yourself for those really tough job interviews. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    Entertaining and informative.

    Entertaining and informative...Chapter 9 alone is worth the price of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    Smooth Sailing

    An essential resource for anyone on the job hunt. It's funny and insightful and will put you at ease for the most difficult interviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Best Interview Book Ever!!!

    Anyone thinking of going on an interview (or conducting one for that matter) must read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Practical, thoughtful, thorough -- and fun!

    Facing a tough interview? Been out of the job market for a while? Vicky Oliver has 301 smart answers for you. Vicky Oliver has produced the job seeker's equivalent of MAPQUEST. Better: it's like an SAT prep course for interviewees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Great book

    This book is really clever, punchy and accessible with great advice and should be very valuable for job hunters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2005

    Great Resource -- 301 Tough Interview Questions, in 1 Book!

    Wow! What a terrific resource. If you've ever been in an interview and been tongue-tied, struggling to formulate a clever response to a question intended to trip you up, you should definitely buy this book. 301 Smart Answers to Tough Interview Questions has lots of practical advice and great examples to reduce anxiety for interviewees. It's a wonderfully witty read too. This is a can't miss graduation gift idea...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    A Must Read

    If only I had read this book when I first got out of college! This is a Must Read for anyone looking for a (new) job. It's insightful, witty and very, very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2