Customer Reviews for

314

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great and Quick Read

Really enjoyed the first part of this series. It was a quick read with some pretty interesting twists. Looking forward to second book!

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A little too much.

The gory parts made me want to become a vegetarian, it was horrifiying and way too creepy and depressing. I know its supposed to be but still. And the decent storyline was the only thing that kept me reading. It had a unique main idea. You will never think of the # 314 ...
The gory parts made me want to become a vegetarian, it was horrifiying and way too creepy and depressing. I know its supposed to be but still. And the decent storyline was the only thing that kept me reading. It had a unique main idea. You will never think of the # 314 in the same way again. Not recomended for kids due to language gore and innapropriate content. Take this into consideration.

posted by 17013655 on January 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Great and Quick Read

    Really enjoyed the first part of this series. It was a quick read with some pretty interesting twists. Looking forward to second book!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Awesome

    This book was fantastic, a real page turner. Very original story. The second book is equally as good. Can't wait for the 3rd!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    A little too much.

    The gory parts made me want to become a vegetarian, it was horrifiying and way too creepy and depressing. I know its supposed to be but still. And the decent storyline was the only thing that kept me reading. It had a unique main idea. You will never think of the # 314 in the same way again. Not recomended for kids due to language gore and innapropriate content. Take this into consideration.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    I was hesitant to read a free book but it was a great read. Not

    I was hesitant to read a free book but it was a great read. Not my usual type of mystery. I will definitely read the next book to see where this leads. 

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Please tell me

    I really want to read this book, I just want to know how badly it swears. I'm LDS and I won't read a booi with lots of swearing

    6 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Horrible simply horrible

    This free book is incredibly horrible. There are about 200 pages. So, I would give a minus 200 if I could. It actually made me gag in places and my favorite genre is murder mystery, so you know I have a strong stomach. The editing was pretty good. The cursing and taking God's name in vain was prolific. The author's favorite word is f%$k and he wears it out. I am going to write about the first few pages, so you can better decide if you want to read this or not. The story starts out with an eight year old boy and his friends cooking his father alive with boiling water in the bath tub, peeling his skin off him, then pouring some sort of chemical on him to increase his agony. This book gets even more violent and detailed from there. There are more murders, even worse than the first one, child abuse, animal abuse, rape, canablism and who knows what else. I had to quit reading. I was actually sickened. I do not think anyone should subject themself(ves) to this abombination. I like Stephen King and Dean Koontz books, but this author is just plain sick and disgusting. I do not recommend this book to anyone. It is worse than any horror movie, I have ever seen. I think this author might be some type of pervert or mental case and should get help before he does something terrible, unless he already has. It is that bad. For adults with a strong constituation only. One of top five worst books I have ever tried to read and I read a lot. I truely do not understand how readers can give this book a favorable rating of any sort.

    AD

    AD

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Wow, why is this book free?! I was a bit skeptical about reading

    Wow, why is this book free?! I was a bit skeptical about reading this as it's a free book sold by Smashwords, but I was hooked from the first page. It was delightfully creepy and A.R. Wise certainly is descriptive! I loved the back-and-forth storytelling, too. I felt as if the ending answered some of the more pressing questions, but not all of them, which is fine to me because this book is only part one of three. If you're a fan of horror, mystery, and overall creepiness, you have got to read this book! I am looking forward to learning more about the mysterious town of Widowsfield. Great job, A.R. Wise!

    Just a friendly warning: This book contains profanity, adult situations, and a good amount of gore.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    terrible

    really one of the worst books I have ever read. Avoid if at all possible.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Don't waste your time

    Seriously, one of the worst books I've read. The storyline is confusing and doesn't get resolved. I kept reading, hoping it would get better, but it was just a huge waste of my time.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    LIKE A BOSS!

    This book is outstanding! If only the book kept going. I am so dissapointed. This author did a good job keeping me drawed throughout the whole story. They made some parts that made me cringe with fear and some parts made me go wide-eyed with anticipation. It was truly worth my time and effort to get the book. The author should have most definately kept going with this book. It was great and my only complaint was that the author should have kept going.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Garbage. Sickening images. Circular plot. Sorry I wasted my time.

    The writing held some promise and I kept reading past the utterly disgusting opening chapter. In my defense, there were a few chapters that almost had a coherent plot. But, by the end of book one, I deleted the evidence as soon as possible. You couldn't pay me to read another one of this writer's abominations.
    Don't waste your time! Trust me on this. Gutter language, depravity, and shock value gore are all this piece of sh*t has to offer.
    Either the raving reviews are put up by shills or there are a lot more sick bastards here than I ever suspected.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Fell flat for me

    Though the idea behind the book was okay, the actual writing and plot really fell flat. I can understand why many readers didn't get past the introduction, it felt dragged out with the child character constantly repeating the same dialogue/threat well past the point where he probably should have acted on it. The gore filled writing was a little too much and reading through the scenes started feeling like the descriptions were over done in an effort to shock the reader. The scenes could have really been improved by actually letting the reader imagine some things instead of throwing the flesh rending at us. It also hit a pet peeve of mine where the first in the series just stops instead of having a real ending. Instead of making me want to read the second one, it turned me off from ever wanting to.

    In all, it had promise but didn't deliver. I'm glad that others enjoyed but I'm not going for the sequel and I'm quite glad that I didn't pay for this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    If you are a fan of the move Momento or Inception then you may b

    If you are a fan of the move Momento or Inception then you may be able to keep up with this book.  It is a page turner, but I can see how some people could get a bit confused from the constant movement between times.  Be warned, it is a cliff hanger, so you will be forced to read the next book to truly  feel any type of resolution.  It is free, so give it a read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Not bad

    I thought the story was good the only down side is i have to read the next one to see what happens next Worth reading if you like wierd things creepy stuff

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    If you like Stephen King, you have to read this book!

    Great story! Sometimes over explained ie... He told her about his sad tale to make her feel better. But that didn't take away from the story. I can't wait for the next book in this series! Congrats to you Aaron! You are a fantastic story teller!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Great Read!

    This book kept we wondering what was going to happen next! I was honestly disappointed when it ended even though I knew it was ending. I will definitely be getting the sequels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Wow!

    Stephen King, look out! A.R. Wise is gonna dethrone you! Can't wait to read the rest of these books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Not well described

    By half-way point I quit trying to read this and archived it to get it out of my sight!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Amazing

    It is the best book I have read so far maybe it is just how the first part turned to a whole other part and again many times

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Okay.

    Grammatical errors, overdone gore, and the villain could have been more developed. Not bad for free. Decent dialogue; interesting plot. Won't spend four bucks on the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8