Customer Reviews for

314

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book was fantastic, a real page turner. Very original story. The second book is equally as good. Can't wait for the 3rd!

posted by 8878782 on June 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Please tell me

I really want to read this book, I just want to know how badly it swears. I'm LDS and I won't read a booi with lots of swearing

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Great and Quick Read

    Really enjoyed the first part of this series. It was a quick read with some pretty interesting twists. Looking forward to second book!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    I was hesitant to read a free book but it was a great read. Not

    I was hesitant to read a free book but it was a great read. Not my usual type of mystery. I will definitely read the next book to see where this leads. 

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Wow, why is this book free?! I was a bit skeptical about reading

    Wow, why is this book free?! I was a bit skeptical about reading this as it's a free book sold by Smashwords, but I was hooked from the first page. It was delightfully creepy and A.R. Wise certainly is descriptive! I loved the back-and-forth storytelling, too. I felt as if the ending answered some of the more pressing questions, but not all of them, which is fine to me because this book is only part one of three. If you're a fan of horror, mystery, and overall creepiness, you have got to read this book! I am looking forward to learning more about the mysterious town of Widowsfield. Great job, A.R. Wise!

    Just a friendly warning: This book contains profanity, adult situations, and a good amount of gore.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Great Read!

    This book kept we wondering what was going to happen next! I was honestly disappointed when it ended even though I knew it was ending. I will definitely be getting the sequels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Liked this

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Creepy!

    Really good book! Creepy throughout, and kept me reading and wanting more. Continues into a second book, and I definitely will read that one! Fans of Koontz and early King will like this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Great book

    I reallyyyy enjoyed reading this book.....I was always anxious to read the next chapter and I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    I liked the book look forward to reading the second. I would rea

    I liked the book look forward to reading the second. I would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    314

    Awesome book keeps you on edge from start to finish. You don't want to put it down because you have to find out what happened in the town

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    A gripping read

    I loved the 1996 chapters. Very interesting and wonderfully horrific. The 2012 chapters not so much, i was bored a lot in those chapters and really just wanted to get back to the 1996 stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Great book

    I had written the review for 314 and afterwards realizied i may have mixed my reviews up as in order of one and two. It really didnt matter though because i have read both, and have the 3rd ready to read. Really different. Sometimes its alittle confusing to figure out.the story line is great though and i love that its different. I am glad that at the end of each book that u explain some things. That usually helps with my confusion. Keep up the good work !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Really good Book

    I just got done reading this book and it was just great
    At the beginning it was all right but as i read more of the book it just got better and better

    I started to get pulled into the book by overwhelming curiosity and anticipation The book was nicely written and i liked all the characters and their different personalities

    I liked how it gave enough details but not to much to bore me My favorite part of the book was in the middle But it was at the end that was a major shocker to me

    I hope that i read the second book soon

    I highly recommend this book to anyone if they want to have a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    "Alluring"

    Okay I looked up free books and this booked pop up. So wth I decide to give it a shot. I don't want to ruin the story but I will say it was a good read. Now I feel cursed...lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Addictive

    I love this book. I couldnt put it down. I cant wait to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    ENJOYABLY UNPREDICTIBLE

    Invest in the characters and it's easy to follow the back/forth dates. Eerie and different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    A.R. Wise descriped it as circles

    A.R. Wise admitted to using circles in the writing of this book. I definately felt it was going atound and around. Interesting plot, especially in the beginning. However as more characters were introduced from both 1996 and 2012 it became harder to figure out what these people had to do with the story.

    I really enjoyed the book and finished it in one day, but it probably will not appeal to everyone. I am still confused after finishing it and hope that the secind book reveals some majir plot issues. Like is this suppose to be a supernatural tale or government testing tale, combinatiin if the two??

    If you want something different with a good basic plot line AND don't mind some confusion then give the book a try. If you prefer a straight line and immediate understanding of what is going on then this book is probably not going to be one you will enjoy. Confused on whether or not to try it? Yeah- kind of what reading the book is like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    I wasn't too interested at the beginning but once passed that, I

    I wasn't too interested at the beginning but once passed that, I couldn't put it down.  There was too much back and forth in time in my opinion.  So much so that I would forget what character did what.  Hated that it ended without an end, but am interested in continuing the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Strange book but good read

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Looking forward to more

    This was a very good, creepy, spooky book. It was hard to put down once I started reading it because I wanted to see where it would lead. I loved all of the twists and even going back and forth between 1996 and 2012. It gave you peeks into what was going on and why. I started noticing as I went along how often 314 was popping up for me too. I was thinking about the book as I was leaving my mother's apt. the other day only to look up and realize... her apartment number is 314. Yes, it was creepy when I saw that.
    I am looking forward to the other 2 books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    a must read

    going to get book 2 now as i need to know the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2