Customer Reviews for

33 Valentines

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    33 Valentines is a well-written, nicely paced romantic story wit

    33 Valentines is a well-written, nicely paced romantic story with a lot of depth. There’s a compelling element of mystery to this story, too, with questions posed from the very beginning: why does Sophie hate February, and particularly Valentine’s Day, so much? How did her life get so off-track?

    Stephanie Monahan has a knack for giving us little morsels of information at just the right time, filling us in on bits of the characters’ pasts that help us see where they’re coming from. I ended up liking the characters even more as the book went on. There are a lot of funny moments in the book, but it also gets more serious at times, and I did find myself getting teary during at least one part. The characters seemed like they could be real people, and for me, this is important. I love it when I honestly feel like I’m rooting for a well-earned happy ending, and by the end of this novel, I was grinning like a fool.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Wow!

    I couldn't put the book down. Worth every penny plus some. I promise you won't be disapointed with 33 Valentines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Saying that Sophie doesn't care for February is a bit like sayin

    Saying that Sophie doesn't care for February is a bit like saying that it can get a little hot in Texas over the summer. If Sophie had her way, February would be removed from the calendar, and January would fade directly into March.




    Her 33rd February gets off to a triumphantly grim start when she finds herself in the emergency room and is followed by other less than spectacular revelations as the month progresses. Her grim month becomes even more dismal when her best friend, Sam, gets a girlfriend...just in time for Sophie to realize he's more than a friend to her.




    But Sophie has good reason to dislike the month of February. As the story progresses, flashbacks reveal the reason Sophie hates the month...and also why she's following a path for her life she never planned.




    Definitely not your average romance, 33 Valentines has lovely balance of lighthearted moments combined with a real emotional depth as Sophie struggles to reconcile her past with her present.




    I'm definitely looking forward to reading Ms. Monahan's next work!




    I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. I received no compensation for my review. (And...I loved it so much, I bought my mother a copy as soon as the book became available for sale.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    A wonderful lighthearted and witty book. I truly enjoyed it !

    A wonderful lighthearted and witty book. I truly enjoyed it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    A very sweet and at times funny love story. Wonderful read.

    A very sweet and at times funny love story. Wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    excellent book--5 stars.

    excellent book--5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    "33 Valentines" starts out with a painful event for So

    "33 Valentines" starts out with a painful event for Sophie - she trips getting off of the bus and breaks her arm. But as the story progresses, you find out that she's equally as wounded that her best friend Sam - who she's realized she's in love with - has found his dream girl. She's convinced that the curse of February has struck again. We follow her through the shortest month of the year as she catalogs the memories of past Februaries in her mind to try to figure out what her problem is, and eventually we find out which February past event was so traumatic that it's spilled over into every month in her life and left her stagnant. But this is the February when she struggles to move past her fears to pursue her forgotten dreams.

    Monahan's given us a smart, funny contemporary novel that offers more than the usual girl pursues boy. We get to watch Sophie grow as a character. And she's already likeable and relatable enough from the beginning that she's an easy person to root for. It's a well-balanced read with realistic characters that combines the right notes of emotional backstory and romance. I look forward to seeing more from this author in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    I received an advance copy of 33 Valentines and as soon as I beg

    I received an advance copy of 33 Valentines and as soon as I began to read it I was hooked! It's a great debut novel.

    33 Valentines is a fun, smart story set in Boston during the gloomy month of February. Sophie hates February and Valentine's Day, but not for the usual reasons a person might dislike a winter month or sappy holiday. When she finds out Sam, her boyfriend and dream guy, has a date on Valentine's Day with someone he describes as his dream girl, she thinks can't worse. Any good reader knows that as soon as it seems like things can't get worse, they do.

    Sophie is a charming character. She's witty and easy to relate to. In some ways she reminds me of Bridget Jones, funny, sweet, and not quite ready to be a grown up--even though she's 33 years old. I was rooting for her even when some of her actions made me want to talk some sense into her.

    The best part of 33 Valentines is how genuine it feels. Monahan portrays her characters with so much heart that they feel like real people, the kind of people you want to grab a cup of coffee with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1