Customer Reviews for

The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Read the book to better you.

    The 360 Degree Leader by John Maxwell is a winner in my world. I have to say that this book is a learning experience. So many times it is easy for us to get stagnant working in the places where we are. I have to say, lets face it a lot of us are somewhere in the middle, in our jobs, churches and lives. This book makes it ok. Not only it is ok, this book makes it a great place to be. John Maxwell is a great encourager and teacher for where you are. You have more leading capabilities that you thought possible in those positions or where you are now. I love that he gives you a website to go to and take a test to help you read the book to better you. To know your very own style of leading. It truly helps you based you your own qualities. I like that he takes you through all the myths so you can not use them as an excuse or crutch. I love to quote John Maxwell he is just so good. I will give you a one that I found so true, simple and profound "Blessed are the flexible, for they will not be bent out of shape". I loved this book. I always feel smarter after having read anything by John Maxwell. My advice is get this book and learn about you. It will help you better yourself. It will help you have a different attitude for where you are and where you could be going. I give this book five stars. I rate the books I read on a scale of one to five one being the worst five being the best. I must also let you know that I got this book as a complimentary copy from Book Sneeze in exchange for my reading it and reviewing it. The reviews I have written are all my true opinions. It was a pleasure to read this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The 360 degree Leader starts with the 7 myths believed by many p

    The 360 degree Leader starts with the 7 myths believed by many people who lead from the middle of organizations, followed by the 7 challenges, the 9 principles to lead up, the 7 principles to lead across, and the 7 principles to lead down. The 360 degree Leader explains clearly that leadership is important for everyone at every level of an organization (i.e. lead up, lead across and lead down); leadership is about influence instead of position. Influence means to become a person whom people will want to follow. Besides, John C. Maxwell also shows the difference between developing versus equipping people. A workbook is also provided so that readers can immediately validate their understanding about the idea of the 360 degree leadership. A free of charge 360 Degree leadership assessment is provided to those have purchased the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Great guide to leading from anywhere!

    This book gave me the confidence and empowerment that I needed to be an all around leader. I was also able to share some of the things that I learned with my team to give them the same outlook on their positions and how they can lead each others and those above them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent Maxwell read on leadership

    John C. Maxwell has enough leadership books to fill up a library all by himself. While The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership is his masterpiece, and his new The 5 Levels of Leadership is getting most attention right now, I found The 360° Leader to be a fantastic read. Maxwell explains in detail the principles for a leader to lead not only their followers, but also their peers and their own leaders. For someone in middle of their organization, with some followers below them, many peers beside them, and a few leaders above them on the organization chart, The 360° Leader is a great addition to your bookshelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    The 360 Degree Leader by John C. Maxwell

    John Maxwell says, ¿90% of all leadership in most organizations takes place in the middle.¿ This being the case, a leader needs to be able to effectively lead people who are above them, across from them, and below them. While remembering the most important person they need to lead is themselves. The book begins by sharing 7 myths of leading from the middle of an organization. Some of those myths include, ¿The Position Myth, The Influence Myth, and The Potential Myth.¿ Then John Maxwell talks about some challenges a 360 degree leader faces which are, ¿The Ego Challenge, The Fulfillment Challenge, The Vision Challenge, and The Multi-Hat Challenge.¿ These first two sections build a foundation to each of the following sections that share principles about how to successfully lead, up, across, and down. I found this book full of great leadership principles and insights. I believe no matter your leadership position this book will help you become a better leader and influencer. The book also provides a free 360 degree self-assessment. This is helpful when it comes to understanding where you are at and applying the principles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    A tremendous book

    I am a senior executive who has to deal with bosses and employees with different temperaments, strategies and work habits. This book broadened my perspective. Showing your people how you care builds trust, and trust is essential for people and organizational success. I recommend this book for middle managers and senior executives in tandem with Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self, which I also recommend for employees.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    The 360° Leader – John C Maxwell Leading from any posi

    The 360° Leader – John C Maxwell
    Leading from any position in an organisation

    This book is so well written, its a delight to read with many insights that John C Maxwell has gained through a long career of mentoring leaders throughout organisations from top to bottom. Discover your leadership capabilities and realise the possibilities that are unleashed when you know how to lead those around you – even if you are not the head of a corporation or organisation.

    The idea that anybody can lead, their subordinates is an accepted standard, the idea that anybody can lead their peers, is generally accepted on proviso’s and the idea that anybody can lead their superior, well this hasn’t really been an understood standard to base one’s efforts in the workplace on. Maxwell puts forward really viable arguments that this is possible and backs them up with time proven examples. The effective leader impacts everybody around them – no matter what their title is.

    Written with clear examples of great leaders, the issues leaders face and the solutions to just about any leadership issue, I do highly recommend this book as a lifelong reference for anybody in the world of work – it inspired me, let it inspire you.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    A must for any team player!

    John Maxwell has done it again. In his latest offering, "The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization", he has addressed a question heard time and time again - how do I apply leadership principles if I'm not the boss? It is a valid question that John Maxwell answers in The 360 Degree Leader. He offers specific principles for Leading Down, Leading Up, and Leading Across; a nice change from so many of the books now on store shelves that deal with hypothetical and generic solutions. His book provides real solution to a real issue. if I had to pick my top 3 chapters, they would span 3 of the 6 sections. In section 1, The Myths of Leading from the Middle of an Organization - couldn't get enough of Myth #2 The Destination Myth: "When I get to the top, then I'll learn to lead.", and in section 3, The Principles 360-Degree Leaders Practice to Lead Up, couldn't stop reading Lead-Up Principle #4 Do More than Manage - Lead! and my final favourite was in section 7, The Value of 360-Degee Leaders, one section really resonated and that was Value #2 Leaders Are Needed at Every Level of the Organization. This book is great for those already in leadership positions, those aspiring to have leadership positions and anyone who wants to use really take full advantage of their talents. It can be personal or professional. This would be great for book clubs and to discuss at office meetings as well. Highly recommend this book (but get your own because this one is staying on my shelf for future reference). Well written, John Maxwell. You've done it again....an example of your own ideas of choosing to use your talents.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Words of wisdom

    This is a great book for anyone. Learn how to influence, motivate, and lead from any position. John Maxwell reminds us all that we do not need a specific title or position to be a leader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Organized explanation of leading from the top, middle and bottom

    Frequent author John C. Maxwell applies his career counseling formula to another aspect of leadership: how people in the middle of large organizations can add to their company¿s leadership equation. His popular books rely on long lists of myths, challenges, principles, rules or values. Each one is identified, numbered (Maxwell is a firm believer in the power of numerical orderliness) and accompanied by an example or uplifting story - often making it unclear whether the book is inspirational, instructional or both. In practice, will people refer to these lists, or simply draw from Maxwell¿s major concepts? Although leadership defies a static definition, we believe this book may come in handy for enlightened senior and middle managers, as well as for those who are involved in developing up-and-coming managers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2