Customer Reviews for

365 Thank Yous: The Year a Simple Act of Daily Gratitude Changed My Life

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    A look at how a change in attitude can change your life

    John Kralik was "that" friend - you know the one you ask, "Hey! How's it goin'?" and they launch into a litany of everything that is going wrong in their lives? Yeah; that was who and how he was. He WAS going through a lot at the beginning of this book: on the verge of losing his business due to non-paying clients; losing his lease; going through his second divorce; living in a cruddy apartment while paying the mortgages on both his first and second wives' houses; and his girlfriend had just broken up with him.<br> But in his introspection and growth throughout this book, we see how he realizes that even when things were going ostensibly well, he focused on the negative. At this lowest point in his life, he decides to make a conscious effort to utilize the office stationery (no longer good, since the office is moving and he doesn't yet know where) to write thank you notes and express gratitude for what he DOES have. He calls his older son to get his mailing address so he can send him a thank you for his recent Christmas present; as a result of the call, they make a lunch appointment together, and his son unexpectedly pays back a loan.<br> This is a real-life story, so obviously just sending thank you notes didn't make EVERYthing all better, but it DID have a snowball effect in a lot of ways, and caused the author to learn and grow. An illustration of how simple acts of gratitude can lead to better things.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    I loved this book and wish I had it in hard copy so I could pass it around to all of my friends. I think it is inspiration and teaches us to be grateful for what we have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    More greed than gratitude

    I was excited to read 365 Thank Yous. I expected to be inspired by John Kralik's gratitude; instead, I found Kralik to be selfish. He is a lot like the title character from the television sitcom "My Name is Earl." Like Earl who tries to make peace with Karma, not for the good of others, but, to make things better for himself, Kralik expresses gratitude in hopes of getting something back. Kralik's grandfather taught him this lesson by rewarding a thank you note for a silver dollar with another silver dollar. Kralik has to search for reasons to be thankful and then he writes about the reward that came from his "gratitude."

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    An Amazing Little Book! A Must Read!

    I wasn't sure what to expect after I saw John Kralik on Good Morning America in December as he promoted his book. He appeared to be somewhat nervous during the interview. I threw caution to the wind and decided to order the book since I'm working on my own gratitude thing. After reading the book, I now more than understand his nervousness. Keep on reading... "...I discovered that I had been misspelling the word grateful - as greatful - for my entire life. Because I had used the word so infrequently, no one had ever pointed this out." All I can say now is boy am I grateful I purchased this little book!! It is not at all what I had envisioned. I had envisioned a book with 365 thank you notes with an anecdote to follow. What I received instead was John Kralik's personal story of how he was once an angry, 50-something curmudgeon who thought life was handing him one bad thing after another. Woe is me. Kralik finally stopped long enough to hear his inner voice and listen to his heart. As I read this book I would occasionally cringe as Mr. Kralik would note how he had not been grateful in the past, thereby reminding me of times in my past when I should have been more grateful and gone out of my way to thank that person in my life. Thank you for the reminder, John Kralik. I will certainly do better in the future. "Originally, I viewed this difficulty as arising out of the difficulties of my life. Anyone, I had thought, would have found the exercise a challenge if they had had my problems. Yet three hundred notes disproved this premise. The difficulty of the exercise had been caused not only by external problems but by my own ungrateful focus, my materialistic envy and resentment....With the help of my three hundred thank-you notes, I had examined the life I had viewed as perfectly awful and found that it was a lot better than I had been willing to acknowledge. Maybe I was not such as bad person after all." Kralik takes his readers on his personal journey as he finds gratitude and grace in his life. Maybe it was his mid-life crisis? Albeit, this was not your typical 'let me get a sports car and have some fun' kind of mid-life crisis, but a deep and personal crisis. As the story begins almost everything is lost to Kralik, his business is in the tank, he has alienated his two older children, and he has been twice divorced and is living in a temperamental, crappy little apartment (you have to read the book) with his young daughter. "To me, it seemed that Scott and I had forged a tiny bit of human warmth in this eroding wasteland." During a nature hike on New Year's Day, Kralik finally takes the time to listen to his inner voice, and then begins the task of writing a thank-you note every day for the next 365 days. As he writes his notes to his children, old friends, doctors, ex-spouses, employees, service people, landlord, the Starbucks guy, etc. he begins to notice a change. He notices that he is suddenly being rewarded with the unexpected; Kralik is being rewarded with kindness, love, respect, and even repayment on outstanding loans. His note writing builds a bridge back to the man John Kralik always wanted to be, not the bitter middle-aged man who tended to place blame on everyone else for the course his life had taken. "This teacher looked at me differently after that. First of all, she remembered me. Whether she had ever looked at me with a skeptical or adverse judgement

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Wonderful

    I found this book to be very inspirational. It was an easy and quick read and very uplifting. A story of remembering to appreciate the people and things you have in you life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    As I'm big on writing thank you notes, I fully agree with the author that it does make you feel good to write them. I wish more people enjoyed writing thank you notes (or handwritten notes, in general), it is such a nice feeling to open the mailbox and see that someone took the time to take pen to paper for you. Mine are not nearly as eloquent as the ones the author wrote, but in my opinion, that doesn't matter, it is truly the thought that counts.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    No Thank You

    I rarely quit reading a book but I made an exception. As other reviews noted, this man appeared fixated on the money aspect of good will. Attorneys are as attorneys are

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    365 Reasons To Love This Book

    This book is a clever reminder that something as simple as a thank you note can change your life. I am thankful to the author. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score" which takes an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. It is one of those books that will amaze you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2