Customer Reviews for

3M Cloud Library

Average Rating 3
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(67)

1 Star

(73)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

Easy to use to find and check out books. Works on my phone and my Nook. If your library doesn't show up on the menu, that means that they do not offer the service and haven't purchased content for their customers to check out using 3M. It's a fairly new service, so th...
Easy to use to find and check out books. Works on my phone and my Nook. If your library doesn't show up on the menu, that means that they do not offer the service and haven't purchased content for their customers to check out using 3M. It's a fairly new service, so that may be the case for many libraries.

posted by 8060614 on October 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Overdrive app more user friendly for me

Today I found free apps for this, the 3m cloud library, and the overdrive library. I have a NY state library card, and they appear to support both libraries (as others mentioned a very limited number of libraries are using 3m at this point)

Even if NY had a fraction o...
Today I found free apps for this, the 3m cloud library, and the overdrive library. I have a NY state library card, and they appear to support both libraries (as others mentioned a very limited number of libraries are using 3m at this point)

Even if NY had a fraction of the books available on 3m as they have available for overdrive, after trying each I will use overdrive almost exclusively.

Overdrive is more intuitive. I knew what I was doing right away and when you search for titles, it is the same interface as the ebook website when using your nook's web browser.

With 3m I attempted to log in about 5 times before it recognized my card number (your "id" by the way). I thought the interface was strange and the pictures of book covers were chopped off in an odd way. In all honesty, I only spent about 20 minutes using the 3m app and another 20 minutes trying to find out more about it online.

I plan to keep an eye on this app to see if it improves and if the collection grows. I hope to see 3m grow and become more used by libraries. My understanding is that they sought to provide an answer to some of the negative business practices of overdrive - primarily overdrive's contracting with libraries. Libraries pay a huge annual fee to use overdrive (in addition to buying the ebooks) and if their contract ends they run the risk of losing access to their collection (see the case of the Kansas State Library).

posted by 15863261 on November 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    MY DADDY WORKS HERE!!!!!!!!!!!! :-D :-D :-D

    MY DADDY WORKS HERE!!!!!!!!!!!! :-D :-D :-D

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    very good content

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2014

    I would like to try it but it doesn't work for Nook Simple Touch

    I would like to try it but it doesn't work for Nook Simple Touch. I hope my library doesn't get rid of Overdrive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    i love it

    i like how you can check out books elecktronickly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Not worth the effort.

    I used it to check out a book from the NYPL, but it is very annoying, because I have to make a note of where I leave off before I turn it off or otherwise switch to another use of my Nook. That is because, when I again access the cloud library, it is nowhere near the same place where I left off when I last used it,.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    3M Cloud App

    This is no good. I cannot get it installed on my Nook Simple Touch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Forgets where I am

    There are a few things I find challenging about this program, but the one that bothers me the most is that it frequently forgets my place! I stop reading on page 94, leave the program to do something else, and when I come back it drops me on page 76. NOT HELPFUL. With no way to bookmark, I have to rely on my not-so-great memory to keep track of where I am in the book. VERY FRUSTRATING.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Does not work well on my nook, not worth the effort

    As others have stated, is very hard to use on my nook, very cumbersome. Much easier to side load from my pc for library books than to use this cloud app. Have tried several times, looses place in books, drains my battery, simply not worth the effort and I am deleting so will not be tempted to try using again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Stalls

    Loading loading loading loading come on!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Not so happy

    I love the idea of getting library books on Cloud, however I would like to be able to larger font. The Nook has very large font for books you buy, but cloud does not offer the very large font. I would also like to be renew the loan. If I don't finish the book on time its gone. I would also like to see a larger selection of books available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Not every selection I have looked for is available. Othewise I have enjoyed using the 3Mm library. I would recmmend it foranyone who enjoys boooks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Flawed App

    I purchased my Nook for the sole purpose of checking out eBooks from the 3M Library of which my library supports. I found the app to be cumbersome, and sloppy. I'm deleting it from my Nook Library. I'd rather purchase or find free books from Barnes & Noble, and check out hardcover or paperbacks from my library.

    What a shame this app doesn't live up to my specifications. Hopefully the developers will fix many of the problems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    It won't let me choose a library.

    I cannot get the drop down menu to choose a library to work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Wifi library

    Excellent app. You need a current local library card to use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    suzie

    This app is not user friendly. I am having a terrible time loading it. I give it one star....and that is being nice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    UGH

    I cannot really give this app a FAIR rating. The reason being 99.9% of the libraries in my state dont use it so it is practically worthless to me. I think 5 libraries in Alabama used it and none where I am. Its a shame because it looked to be a good app.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    great

    I have used this app several times now and highly recommend it as a useful tool to get access to newly released book titles. Be aware that your book borrowing time is limited so make sure you have time to read consistently and finish the borrowed book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great IF you have access to a participating library

    Using the 3M Cloud Library I have access to books through the Kansas State Library. The search feature is a little clunky but it will lead to available books. There are a limited number of titles as some publishers will not let libraries lend ebooks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Unable to use this app

    cannot even use this. Cannot even put our county or library in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 371 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19