Customer Reviews for

3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 409 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I was completely heartbroken with this one. (those that have read it know why) I take my nook and read on my lunch break. I came back from lunch with tears in my eyes. Some don't understand how people get THAT into a book. But its just been that great of a read. This ha...
I was completely heartbroken with this one. (those that have read it know why) I take my nook and read on my lunch break. I came back from lunch with tears in my eyes. Some don't understand how people get THAT into a book. But its just been that great of a read. This has been a wonderful series thus far and I highly recommend these books. Can't wait to get further into the series, though it will never be the same.

posted by sdquick on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Crazy About This One Compared to the Others in the Series

This one lost me a bit. The plot was not as interesting as the others and what happened to one of the girls is very, very disheartening. I can't imagine how the series will recover from this one, it just won't be the same. (I guess I will see). In addition, Claire w...
This one lost me a bit. The plot was not as interesting as the others and what happened to one of the girls is very, very disheartening. I can't imagine how the series will recover from this one, it just won't be the same. (I guess I will see). In addition, Claire was markedly absent in this one. It didn't seem like the whole team was really a part of this one. I guess you would need to read this one in order for the following books to make sense, however, I didn't find it as enjoyable as the others.

posted by NurseKelley on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Crazy About This One Compared to the Others in the Series

    This one lost me a bit. The plot was not as interesting as the others and what happened to one of the girls is very, very disheartening. I can't imagine how the series will recover from this one, it just won't be the same. (I guess I will see). In addition, Claire was markedly absent in this one. It didn't seem like the whole team was really a part of this one. I guess you would need to read this one in order for the following books to make sense, however, I didn't find it as enjoyable as the others.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Recommend

    I am a big fan of James Patterson and love his books that keep you reading way past your bed time! I read 1, 2, and 3rd Degree Murder. I found them to be tamer than a lot of his other books. Don't get me wrong, they were not dull, just not as explosive as his other mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Only okay...

    I started reading the series after 'Women's Murder Club' (TV series) was canceled. I liked the first and second, but the this book, the third in the series, was poorly done. It had a different co-author who apparently was not well-versed in the developments made in the first two books. Besides a sentence or two connecting the last book with this one, and (obviously), the use of the main characters, this could have been a stand-alone or have been from an entirely different series all together. I was further disappointed in the plot and the character development. I know, when picking up a James Patterson paperback, I'm not getting the great American novel, but I expect something better than a 12th grader writes as his fiction assignment for English class. There were a number of holes in this story. My favorite character was killed off with little reason or remorse. The terrorist plot is tired. Lindsay Boxer came off as self-absorbed and whiny... certainly not characteristics I want to see in a 'strong female character.' When she wasn't whining, she was obsessing about a new man in her life. Overall, the story was only okay. I got through it because I knew who was dying and I wanted to see how the person exited the series. If you're looking for a great mystery/suspense read, look elsewhere. This is NOT it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Bringing the terror threat home

    This was a great read with plenty of action and suspense, but the reader really knows where it's going far too early in the book. In addition, brining the terror threat to our homeland isn't really fiction now is it? James usually does a great job but the plot seemed to get in the way on this book, leaving his main characters emotionally flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    A Quick Read But Disappointing

    The choppiness of the very many short chapters distracted from the story line. Plot development was weak for Patterson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Not his best

    I normally love Patterson, especially the Alex Cross series. I was disappointed with this book. It did not seem like a Patterson book to me. It does not flow well, the characters lack depth and it all wraps up too easily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Not his greatest work

    I found the book disappointing. I felt the ending was very rushed. Also the abuse by Jill's husband was skimmed over. This could have been used to set up a complete series in it's self. Another twist that is Patterson's style but was ignored.... Could you have seen the reaction if the leader of August Spies had turned out to be Steve!!!!!! The ending to me was to predictable and disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3